We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #72 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Before my very first visit to Singapore I spent hours researching the best hotel for my stay and I believe I made the right choice with Village Hotel Albert Court.
Not much to complain about here....great location close to the little India MRT, close to the Bugis area marketplace and mall, friendly and helpful staff, clean room, and a great breakfast with lots of variety and someone there cooking up omelets however you like them. .
My premier room was spacious by Singapore standards and had all that I needed. The staff was great with wake up calls and calling taxis for me and my friends. The hotel appearance is attractive and it has a courtyard right outside lined with restaurants. A great place to relax during the evening hours.
If I had one complaint, the noise from the courtyard carries well through the hotel walls. On Friday and Saturday nights, it will go well into the AM hours. In my case however, I was so jet lagged that I probably wasn't getting much sleep anyway.
This was a very enjoyable stay overall. A good and reasonably priced hotel in Singapore is not easy to find. If I return, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathaniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Nathaniel C,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologise for the disruption caused by noise from our courtyard. As part of the measures to reduce noise from our courtyard, we had already sealed our windows facing the courtyard. However, there is still some noise that manage to get to our rooms. We will step up our security patrol and enforce our noise policy strictly.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    1,022
    294
    99
    63
See reviews for
591
786
184
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Braughing, Ware United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
775 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Our first stay in Singapore and it won't be our last at this hotel. Centrally located for the local and tourist routes it is well appointed with comfortable AC rooms. The staff are both friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable and take the package which includes wonderful breakfast selections and cocktail hour which is a delight. Use the metro to get around it is easy, clean and cheap, better than using taxis all the time. And you can walk to so much from this location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChefCliveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear ChefCliveM,

We thank you for sharing your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We strive to provide value to our guest and are glad that you had enjoyed our breakfast and our club cocktail hour.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerang, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This lovely hotel is right in the heart of singapores different shopping areas, and is surrounded by some excellent and affordable local food outlets. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was generous and tasty, and on the night we decided to eat dinner at the rstaurant it was of high quality for a good price, and with more friendly service, the room was nicely appointed with all the little amenities. The only thing missing was an iron (which I didn't need but my mother did) but there was an ironing service available. Overall a really pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear ClareAus,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We apologise that the iron was missing from your room. We do have iron in every room and it is our room attendants responsibility to ensure that all amenities are availabel. We will step up our supervisory checks to ensure that it does not happen again.

We thank you for choosing to stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we look forward to welcoming you to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was just right for my stay for a weekend - great location. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I had a club room , although I didn't have breakfast or evening cocktails there - the club room where they serve this did seem very empty and lifeless. Room itself was clean, but the landing carpet needs to be replaced or cleaned - very stained.
The lift was interesting as it was hydraulic and took about one minute to go one floor up. Overall good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with StayFarEast.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Jacqueline D,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We apologise that the carpet at our lift lobby was not in good condition. We will be renovating our corridors in our club wing early next year and the carpet will be replaced.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in the hotel on 22nd Sept (Sunday) after our wedding banquet. Decided to stay there as the prices were reasonable for its location. Noting that it's our first night as a wedded couple, the hotel sweetened the deal for us by giving us a free upgrade to the Club rooms and a complimentary bottle of wine! There were a few cons about the hotel but we were generally satisfied with our experience. Thanks Albert Court!

Pros: Good location. Beautiful hotel exterior. Responsive reception staff.
Con: Narrow and dingy car park. Poor Wifi in our room. Did not improve even after calling the reception to get technical assistance. Spotted a few homeless people lazing around the hotel's outdoor seats after dark (around 1am). Small breakfast area.

Room Tip: Choose the club rooms - they have complimentary beverages and food at the ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanetiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear bryanetiq,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We apologise the weak wifi signal and would like to share with you that we have added two more access points in our Club area to enhance the signal last Saturday. We have also instructed our security team to enhance their patrol during the night to ensure the safety of our guest.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and was very happy with the room and the hotel in general. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Facility to keep bags here after check-out was a great help. Closely located to MRT

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear ShaunG82,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We strive to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible and if by helping our guest store their luggage we can make their day, we would be delighted to assist.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were here at Formula 1 time which we didn't know and made it way more expensive. Usually the rooms are around $150, we paid $250 and friends had to pay $500 for race night!

Anyway, that aside, we chose the club rooms as you get an hour each night of cocktails ( though only a limited choice that seemed quite weak) and some sandwiches/cakes. Wouldn't have bothered had we known the limitations. Room was comfortable, clean, well serviced.

Hotel location is good, about 10 min walk fro an MRT. Staff were generally very friendly and happy to help so a big tick for them.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over restaurants as they are very noisy. Travelling friends had to move twice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DcdpPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear DcdpPerth,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We apologise that our evening cocktail fail to meet your expectation. We will review our cocktail selection and try our best to present a better evening cocktail soon.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Little India
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
#95 of 312 in Singapore
2,835 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 312 in Singapore
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Property: Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
Address: 180 Albert Street Village Hotel Albert Court, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Singapore
#44 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#45 Family Hotel in Singapore
#66 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing