We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel with unique decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #77 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Albert Court Village Hotel is located in Singapore, very near Little India and Sim Lim Square. It's a boutique hotel with a colonial style decor. The rooms are of generous size (for Singapore) and clean, although the bed is a little soft for my liking. The location is convenient as there are restaurants and shopping areas within walking distance.

Breakfast has good variety that has some changes daily, although the breakfast area is pretty small and you tend to bump into other guests and waiters while getting your food. The staff are extremely courteous and helpful and make you feel welcome.

On my first night at the hotel, the room provided was on the 3rd floor, overlooking a main road junction. This did not help with my rest, so I requested for a change the next morning. They provided a room within a courtyard that was much quieter and I got my rest. There were also some small issues in the bathroom like the hot water not being warm enough, a sink whose stopper was stuck and a leaky bathroom ceiling.

Overall, for the facilities, location and helpful staff, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: When you check in, ask for a higher floor and ask if the room faces any main roads or junctions. Get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear SLChong,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our hotel is restored from pre-war shophouses that were more than 100 years old. The colonial designed facade is what many of our guests like. The design of our rooms also carries through the concept to retain the heritage of the building.

We are currently improving the sound proofing of our rooms and this will be completed by October 2012. This will certainly improve the stay experience greatly.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Albert Court Village Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,870 - 1,876 of 2,481 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Excellent experience at this hotel during my recent short stay in Singapore. Will be a repeat customer for the next Singapore visit.
Check in and check out was perfect with excellent staff on duty.
Location of this hotel is unique with Little India, Bugis and Sim Lim nearby, with good shopping !

Room Tip: I stayed on the 6th Floor and nice ambiance and quiet for a good nights sleep. Ceiling fan in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajayogam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Rajayogam,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us.

If you are into shopping, we have different shopping options around our hotel. The famous Orchard Road is just 10 minutes away. In addition, we have the 24-hour Mustafa Centre around the corner that sells almost everything. If you are looking for technological stuff, we have Sim Lim Square.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I and our 2 young children stayed here for 2 nights on our way back to Australia from London. It was the second time we have stayed there and it was as good this time as then.
The staff and very welcoming and friendly and great with the children. The hotel itself is located quite conviently to the MRT with only one or 2 stops to the centre - Orchard Road. It is situated in Little India and there is a variety of food available to suit all tastes.
The rooms are getting a little tired but are still very clean and comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarynW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear KarynW42,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are your family and yourself have enjoyed the stay with us.

We are glad to advise that we have finalised the design details with our Interior Design. We intend to commence the renovation in December 2012. During the renovation, we will put in place measures to ensure all our guests are not disturb or inconvenience by it. This will require a lot of detailed planning, but we are confident we will be up to the task.

While we wait for the rooms to be renovated, we promise the service will remain consistently high as this is what our guests have come to expect from Village. Together with the renovation, we are certain our guests will have a much better stay experience.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Albert Court Village Hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Albert court village with my family in June'12. This is an old style hotel. Rooms are neat and clean, very well maintained as well. Food is very good in the Sheesh Mahal Restaurant. Previously, I stayed in this hotel in 2007-08 several times on my business trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mukesh70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Mukesh70,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear that your family and yourself have enjoyed the stay with us.

We are a heritage hotel that is restored from pre-war shophouses. Our charm lies with the hotel facade and our guest rooms. Each guest room has its own character and truly reflect the heritage of our hotel.

Shish Mahal Restaurant serves one of the best Indian food in town. We are glad you like the food.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Albert Court Village Hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

A perfect location in Singapore to stay, with aesthetic lobby. The cleanliness was excellent and the central location makes your commuting very easy. Few shopping complexes are just walking distance. The breakfast variety was just too good. Definitely my future stopover in Singapore.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoodTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear SoodTravels,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

At Village, we aim to provide an excellent overall staying experience and we are glad we are able to do so. We will continue with our effort to ensure more guests will be able to feel the Village Experience.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Albert Court Village Hotel. We look forward to your next stay.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The location of the hotel is quite nice, tucked away in a corner but near to most destinations that I like (Sim Lim Square & Serangoon Road).

The hotel has a nice colonial feel to it, but the rooms are modern and very appealing. My room had free wifi which made it even better, and the morning's breakfast spread was adequate.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: For a more quiet experience, try to get rooms not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingrat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Kingrat11,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed over from 10 to 12 august. It was a lovely experience from meeting the staff and the environment.

The first sight was the friendly smile of women in the reception, named Mirah. But overall, the service was excellent. The service was fast and efficient as my luggage was carried in a hurry.

The Deluxe room that I had booked had a warm feeling like home. The space was comfortable and I felt completely relaxed after a day of shooting in Singapore. The room was in a good space and it was easy to get if I needed to get something.

The beds were very comfortable and cosy. The air-con was at a good level, unlike some other hotels where it can too strong or really weak. My room was always in good condition whenever I come back as the bed sheets were changed regularly too.

The noise level in the room was under control despite being near the street having its busy traffic. The room managed to remove most of the honking cars and road noise.

As I heard, the hotel will be going under renovations next year and will be having modern facilitates. But they will still be retaining its traditional feel. I feel the hotel is still in good shape even though it will be going renovations.

I highly recommend this hotel if you going to visit Singapore!

Room Tip: I stayed over at room, 309. It was near the elevator and had a nice view of the street at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard295424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Bernard295424,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your compliment to our Senior Guest Service Executive, Mirah. We will pass on your compliment to her to continue to provide such great services.

We have upgraded our air-conditioner equipment early this year and also replaced our mattresses and pillows. We hope to provide our guests with a good sleeping experience. In addition, we are also in the midst of sound proofing our rooms to further enhance the experience.

We will be starting our renovation at the end of this year and we will retain the heritage deisgn while adding modern facilities to the rooms. We want to stay loyal to the charm and character of our hotel, but improve on its stayability.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Albert Court Village Hotel. We look forwad to your next visit.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#66 of 317 in Singapore
6,618 reviews
Little India
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
#103 of 317 in Singapore
3,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Address: 180 Albert Street Village Hotel Albert Court, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Singapore
#43 Business Hotel in Singapore
#43 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#70 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $106 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing