We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice colonial style, good location, but very small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #77 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We choose the Albert Court because of its location close to Bugis Village, the metro (MRT) and shopping even though the price was a bit high. We also really liked the renovated "Shophouse" look of the hotel with its colonial style out front (but not inside).
It is, in fact, a great location with lots of shopping options (Bugis Junction, Bugis Village, technology malls, Little India), great food courts, and it's close to the MRT (not one block like one previous poster said, but 5 blocks to Little India, 6 to Bugis -- still only 10 minutes).
But the price is high and the rooms are extremely small -- more like Hong Kong. We felt very claustrophobic in the room after some of the rooms we had in the rest of Asia for much less. Even the old New 7th Storey Hotel (now sadly gone) had bigger rooms.
Having said that, however, the room did have free wifi and a tub with a proper shower. The room was fairly quiet. There was very little street noise, but our AC unit was quite loud, even on the lowest setting, and the overhead fan looked like it was about to fall off the ceiling.
Staff were great, both at the front desk, the main door and in the restaurant.
The buffet breakfast was good with fresh fruit, cereal, Chinese offerings, and an option for freshly made omelettes. But it wasn't the best: the fruit selection was limited, the "yoghurt" turned out to be some kind of pudding, and the hash brown potatoes were the reconstituted kind. I also do not like seeing omelettes made from an egg mixture sitting in a bowl for who knows how long. Much better to order fried eggs that come from a freshly cracked egg. But this is a common practice at a lot of buffet breakfasts. The breakfast room is also very small for the number of rooms in the hotel and can be quite crowded.
While we were there, we checked out the higher-priced Superior and Executive rooms to see if we could get a larger room. It turns out that the Superior room is pretty much the same size as the Superior, and the Executive room, while slightly bigger, was on the dark and dreary inner courtyard. We chose not to upgrade.

Room Tip: We checked rooms on different floors, including an Executive room on the ground floor, and all seeme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliment for Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Heritage is certainly our main focus in terms of design and fittings of our hotel. We call this a timeless design as it will forever be in demand. While we maintain the heritage of the hotel, we also add modern conveniences to all our rooms to ensure it matches the expectations of our modern travellers.

Location is one of the main compliments from most of our guests. We are located near to many amenities and the main shopping belt of Singapore, i.e. Orchard Road. We are also located near to the Little India MRT (Merto, Subway). From February 2012, we will also be introducing a daily morning shuttle to fetch our guests from our hotel to the main MRT station, Cityhall Station. We hope our guests will be thrilled by this news.

We have recently improved our breakfast offerings and will constantly be doing so. We are glad to recieve such good feedback from you. We will certainly work on the areas that you have mentioned and review them with our chef.

As for the room sizes, our Club and Executive rooms averages about 28sqm (301sqft). As such, they are well liked by majority of our guests. Our rooms cater to the different guests with varying requirements. For guests who prefer to have bigger rooms, we usually recommend they reserve our Club and Executive rooms.

Once again, thank you for your suppor to Albert Court Village Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,057 - 2,063 of 2,571 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

had to transit through Singapore for a few hours it's one of my favorite place in asia to say the least. the hotel is well situated you are walking distance from Mustafa, Sim Lim Square, Bugis Junction and other hotels. getting there is the simplest thing ever taxi from changi airport and all the taxi driver will know the place. don't be afraid to ask the taxi driver for tips about places to go well if you get a good English speaking Singaporean. the place itself is average for a short stay but i don't recommend for a holiday unless you don't mind a few comfort amiss. i was primarily staying there because it was near Sim Lim Square one if the best IT Mall in Singapore. i did not explore any facility so wont be able to give you a feedback on it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertMaximeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on Albert Court Village Hotel. many of our guests have found our location great as we are near to many attractions of Singapore. You can take leisure walks to many shopping belts, Orchard Road, Sim Lim Square, Mustafa etc. There are also plenty of restaurants around our hotel and this makes food the least concern of all our guests.

We thank you for your compliment and look forward to welcoming you to Albert Court Village Hotel again.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We chose Albert Court Village Hotel based on location and our price point. This hotel was an excellent choice for us. It is located in the area of Little India, just about a block from the subway entrance which allows you to move around the Singapore area with great ease. If you leave the hotel through the back courtyard entrance, it is a pleasant and easy walk towards interesting shops and street markets. The Gentlemen at the Door are very friendly and eager to help you with directions and helpful hints for getting the most out of your stay in Singapore. We arrived late in the evening and because of our schedule, we had not had a proper meal the entire day. Rather than go out to find a restaurant, we decided to eat at The Albert Cafe' located on the second floor. The menu had a great selection of Indian food and it along with the service was excellent. On another evening, we chose to eat at the Shish Mahal North Indian & Napalese Restaurant located in the Courtyard. The food and the service was outstanding. It was also nice to sit outside and quietly enjoy our dinner in the evening air. Our room faced the major street on the front side of the hotel, and even though there was a major road construction project going on, we heard very little noise. Our room was small, but very efficient and well equipped. The only negative that we found was that although our room was very clean, the carpet in the common hallways seemed a bit aged and soiled. Despite this, we would choose to stay at the Albert Court Village a second time, if and when we visit Singapore again. Overall, we think this hotel is an excellent choice based upon it's convenient location, comfort, cleanliness, excellent hotel staff, great amenities, terrific food, and value for the dollar.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cadeauxetonnants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to compliment Albert Court Village Hotel and our staff. It is such gestures that will spur us in continuing to provide excellent service to all our guests.

Location is one of the main draw of Albert Court Village Hotel. We are very close to the shopping belts of Orchard and Bugis, along with several specialist shopping malls such as Mustafa and Sim Lim Square. The other major attraction is our heritage. Albert Court Village Hotel is restored from pre-war Shophouses and we have kept our heritage while added modern conveniences into our hotel. With regards to the corridor carpet, it is certainly one of the areas that we are working on with our interior designer. As we pointed out earlier, we are a heritage hotel and we would like to maintain this through every single details in the hotel, and this includes the corridor. As such, we are carefully selecting our design to ensure the right choice to match our hotel.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you to Albert Court Village Hotel again.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Hi - I was staying in this hotel with my family and it is a convenient Location for Indian Travellers with its proximity to Little India & Singapore Iconic Location MUSTAFA. So for those who have a typical Indian Pallet would find this hotel to their liking in terms of food & close to home.

The rooms are comfortable but feels a little bit outdated and old in terms of visual appeal and feel, but the room provided to us was very spacious. It would be good to ensure if you choose this hotel you should advise a higher floor as there are 6 or 7 floors to the building. As we were 3 families travelling, we weren’t provided rooms on the same floor but the staff was more than accommodating in helping us switch rooms, after a bit of a push.
The Breakfast is what you would expect in any hotel and not out of the extra-ordinary and all in all a comfortable stay, provided you don’t have too many expectations from the hotel.
A Few tips – There is a very good Punjabi Cuisine available just opp. to the hotel entrance and also a quick e-mart (Local Chain Called 7) which is a must stop to pick up juices, drinks, water and tid-bits for the journey, this is of-course for those who don’t want to end up spending a lot on expensive hotels as Singapore is very expensive.
Last but not the least all hotels have a very good facility to book cabs from the hotel front desk, be sure to select the yellow or blue cabs as all others are very heavy on the pocket and this hotel does not have bus stops in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaushikchatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you have found our location great.

With regards to your feedback on the rooms, we are currently working to do some soft refurbishment to the rooms to bring back the romance to staying at Albert Court Village Hotel. We are a heritage hotel and the design is meant to add in a touch of its heritage to resemblance the look of a pre-war shophouse. However, we do recognise that we need to upgrade some features in the room to ensure modern convenience to our guests and our soft refurbishment will target to focus on this.

We thank you for your feedback and support to Albert Court Village Hotel and we look foward to welcoming back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

This was our 16th stay at the Albert Court in the last 10 years. (Please see Andy's review after our last stay 12 days earlier.)
Most winters we take a two or three week trip to a far eastern country.
This hotel has always provided a pleasant, and relatively cheap, stopover on our journey to and from England.
Firstly, let me say that, as always, the staff were courteous and helpful.
Andy and I booked a "Courtyard Executive Double" online. It wasn't what we expected.
We found ourselves in a tired, dark & musty smelling, ground floor room, which was dominated by a great lump of ancient cathode ray TV, at the foot of the bed. (Please see the attached pictures which show some of the cigarette burns on the multi stained carpet of our "non smoking" room, and the top of the bedside table which sports an intricate pattern of rings left by hot cups etc.)
Mr Raphael Saw (Director of Hospitality Relations), if you're reading this... please visit the hotel. Pick up the key to room 105 and check it out. Would you be happy paying around 250 dollars a night for this?
Right, now put your swimming trunks on and venture out to the hotel's outdoor jacuzzi (a few steps from room 105).
Tucked away in a quiet corner, as it is, this used to be a tranquil little haven. A quiet area in which to chill out with a cool drink, whilst gazing upwards at the stars. Not any more. A flat, twin skinned, polycarbonate roof has been constructed above the jacuzzi. Water has become trapped between the skins, creating a perfect growing medium for the moulds etc that flourish there. This semitransparent sheeting is supported by a crude assembly of many small lengths of wood, nailed flimsily to a sturdier outer timber frame. I believe that my grandmother could've made a better job of it!
Sitting in the "tub" and looking heavenwards, the missing sky view was the least of our concerns.... surely, it's only a matter of time before a wallowing guest is "harpooned" by a falling roof spar? :-)
We checked out feeling both dispirited and robbed.
After our 15 previous happy visits to The Albert Court it saddens me to say that this will probably be our last. It's simply not what it used to be.
A great shame!

Room Tip: If you don't book a "Club" room or suite then you're taking a big gamble on the qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marcia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We are sorry to hear about your poor recent stay experience with us after so much support in the past. We would like to assure you that this is not the usual standard that we provide for our guests, and we certainly can do better than this.

With regards to your feedback on the room flooring. We are already in the process of changing the flooring of all affected rooms. Unfortunately, the process takes time and we can only finish changing the flooring by end of February 2012. However, we will put priority on Room 105.

We are also in the midst of changing all our CRT TVs to LCD TVs and the change will be completed by end February 2012.

As for the Jacuzzi ceiling, the ceiling was put in last year to ensure safety of all our guests that are using the Jacuzzi, as we view guest safety with paramount importance. In this instance, we had to sacrifice some views to ensure the safety. As for the condition of the ceiling, we sincerely do apologise for the poor condition of the ceiling, but would like to assure you of its safety. The poor condition only relates to the looks as we are unable to clean away the stains on the ceiling. We are currently working with our vendor to replace the ceiling as it is still under warranty.

Once again, we sincerely apologised for the poor stay experience and hope you would allow us another chance to recover your confidence in Albert Court Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

The best part about this hotel is that it is very close to Little India -> which is a very good place for all Indians where you will get Indian food! The rooms are good and maintained. The buffet breakfast is good. The hotel does not have a pool. The staff is not too friendly. What i dint like about Singapore is that their hotels dont offer free WIFI. This place is in the city and in conviniently located to tour the Singapore city.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rajarshi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments for Albert Court Village Hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to Albert Court Village Hotel again!

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This was our 15th stay at the Albert Court in the last ten years.
I booked our "Courtyard Executive Double" online.
After checking in we were escorted to a first floor double room overlooking the road. Certainly not what we'd expected! A few minutes spent with the ever courteous reception staff produced the desired result... we were relocated to a "Club" room in the newer building across the courtyard in front of the main hotel building.
Now, I'd always believed the rooms & suites in the newer building to be described as "Courtyard", when booking, but it seems I was wrong... they're called "Club" & there's a vast difference in the quality of what you'll get should you book one but find yourself in the other. (please see my next review of the hotel, written after we'd stayed there for one night, two weeks after this stay. I hope that makes sense? :-) )
Anyway, our Club room was tastefully furnished & there were copious amounts of hot water (always nice to find). Bath robes & slippers too. Nice!
The buffet breakfast was good. It always is. But a tip... try to book a room with breakfast included in the price, otherwise it will set you back an extortionate tenner or more per person!
We enjoyed our two night stay & when Marcia and I checked out, before flying on for a twelve day tour of Cambodia, we were already looking forward to returning to the Albert Court for a one night stopover on our way back to England.
(As already mentioned, please see my next review of The Albert Court, titled " What a difference twelve days make!")

Room Tip: Room descriptions at the Albert Court are confusing. What we had assumed were "Courtyard"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your loyal patronage over the years and we certainly are honoured to have you stay with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will continue to strive to do better to meet or exceed your expectations.

A lot of guests have complimented our Club Rooms as they gave a very relax and cosy environment for our guests to rest in. We are constantly upgrading our Club Rooms to ensure they are well maintained and remain relevant with times.

We look forward to welcoming you to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Hotel G Singapore
#73 of 319 in Singapore
1,489 reviews
Little India
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
#110 of 319 in Singapore
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#71 of 319 in Singapore
6,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Address: 180 Albert Street Village Hotel Albert Court, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Singapore
#43 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#43 Business Hotel in Singapore
#70 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $107 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing