We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refrigerator is not working” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchard Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Ranked #66 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Refrigerator is not working”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2013. This hotel is located at the end of Orchard Road, but it's still not too far from Orchard MRT station (about 10 minutes walk) and Takashimaya. Overall the hotel is good and the room is clean.
But main problem is that the fridge is not working at all. We have 11-month-old baby and we brought home-made baby food (porridge) from home. Actually we hoped that there would be a freezer in the fridge. Well, there is no freezer in the fridge, but we kind of expected this (because we're not sure if most hotels have freezer or not). The major problem is that the fridge is not cold at all. When we asked about this, the hotel staff came to the room and unplug the light on top of the fridge. He said that this would make the refrigerator cool (he said that it won't be as good as fridge in your home, it can only cool around 7-8 degrees Celsius).
But that did not help anything, the fridge still not working at all. It's no different whether you put food/drink inside the fridge or outside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, Manager at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Steven500
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay with us.
As our valued guest, it is important for us to listen to what is important to you and investigate the concerns that you have highlighted.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again as it is our priority to ensure that your future stay with us will be a rewarding one.
Please do not hesitate to contact me at ohs.gsm@millenniumhotels.com

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    1,259
    516
    124
    63
See reviews for
553
940
184
986
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our stay at this hotel has been great from the start. The staff (especially Kashim, Daisy and one other (but i can't remember her name!) in the 17th floor dining room) were all very attentive, professional and friendly. But the big stand out for me in this hotel is the Noodles restaurant on the ground floor. It's a very unassuming area ... small and tucked away in the corner so be careful in case you miss it, but OH MY GOD!!!! Best noodles and broth i've ever eaten in my LIFE! I'm quite a foodie, so have eaten a lot of great food all around the world. But i've never had a bowl of food make me as happy as these noodles make me!!! I even went to bed holding my tummy and smiling because i was just so happy because of the noodles! Ok, now i sound like a nut ...

So far i've been here for 4 days and have visited this Noodle restaurant 3 times, each time having something different. Today i had the abalone noodles - SO GOOD! The Dan Dan noodles were also absolutely amazing! It's not that there's nowhere else to go for great food - but seriously, i cannot get enough of these noodles and i'm really worried about going home because then i won't be able to get them anymore! I'll be sadly stalking noodle restaurants in Sydney in the hope of finding anything even remotely similar.

It's a great hotel location wise as well. Very close to some nice shopping centres ... Ngee Ann City and Paragon and Wheelock all very good. And if you want a foot reflexology massage go to a little massage place in Lucky Plaza ... i think there's only one there .. on the ground floor. The guy there really knows what he's doing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, Manager at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Kimmy K
Thank you for your outstanding review.
We are thrilled to hear that our staff have provided you an elevated service that have created a lasting impression during your stay with us.
It is our commitment to ensure that we continuously delight our guests and to deliver an exceptional service that we strive to perfect for you.
We look forward for your return visit and for us to create many more unique experiences that are meaningful and enriching.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Although this hotel is a bit further to the shopping malls (ION, 313@Sommerset, Cineleisure, etc) along Orchard Road, it's location is quite good. I can walk around 2km away from Orchard to the Botanic Gardens and that's quite a lovely stretch to be jogging.

Stayed on business trip for 16 nights, and was given the corner room (away from the lifts as requested) on the top floors facing the Orchard Tower. It gets a bit noisy at nights as the night grows from the Orchard Tower. Interesting sights though :) The Premiere room is spacious with a 40" LED TV and guess what! Your name is displayed on the screen to greet you when you enter the room :) Nice touch.

The room comes with wi-fi (included in the corporate package) and a wired Internet connection. And I really appreciate that the shower stall is separated from the bath tub. It's always a relief to be standing under the rainforest shower head after a hard day at work.

After a few day's stay, the Guest Services Asst Manager, Ian, upgraded me and my colleague to the hotel's Signature Club room. The room is bigger than the Premier room and it's great for couples or as honeymoon suites.

Breakfast spread was quite extensive compared to the other hotels I stayed at in Singapore. There's no problem finding food as well as there are plenty of japanese, western, local etc restaurants just around the corner or within walking distance. The Noodles corner in the hotel serves great hand-made ramen and is very affordably priced.

Overall, the stay was a great experience, and I would certainly (have already done so!) recommend it to my colleagues or friends.

Room Tip: Choose away from the Orchard Tower for a real good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nervada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, Manager at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Nervada
Thank you for giving us full ratings.
We are thrilled that you had an entrancing and an unforgettable stay with us and our staff had played a vital part in providing an outstanding service that had heightened your stay with us on your recent trip.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at gsm.ohs@millenniumhotels.com as it is our pleasure to personally assist you for your future stay.
As part of the Millennium & Copthorne family, we thank you for your loyalty and we look forward in welcoming you to the Orchard Hotel Singapore.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuxi, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days in May 2013. From arrival to departure my experience of this hotel was excellent. Check in was very friendly, swift and efficient. Room was a very good size and very well equipped. Breakfast was busy with plenty of choices to suit all tastes. Did not have an opportunity to try the pool due to work commitments, but it looked excellent (my room had a pool view).

Location is right on Orchard road in the heart of Singapore. Only 5 minutes walk to the MRT and plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from. Hard Rock Cafe is across the road

I will be travelling to Singapore on a regular basis and will not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, Manager at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Pete D
Thank you for your wonderful compliments and outstanding review.
We are delighted that you had a fascinating and an unforgettable experience throughout your stay with us. Our prime focus is to continuously go above and beyond to ensure that we deliver the experience that is meaningful and rewarding to you.
As part of the Millennium & Copthorne family, we thank you for your loyalty and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Orchard Hotel Singapore.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel was good and so close to main shopping centres. The reception staff greeted us with courtesy and were friendly and welcoming. We were fortunate enough to purchase an upgrade for $50 each - and it was magical as it covered breakfast, morning and afternoon tea and drinks with nibbles all in an executive lounge plus free soft drinks and water from the mini bar. The breakfast was more than adequate and everything was fresh and delicious. The staff on duty in the breakfast room were exceptional and kept the food replenished continually. I can highly recommend this hotel for comfort, cleanliness, excellent staff and proximity to the shops, however other attractions are a little out of the way. We did notice that the wing we were in was more updated than one of the other wings we visited. Our room was spacious, light and airy and the floor was clean and fresh with god carpets unlike the other area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, Manager at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Jenny T
Thank you for your fabulous review.
We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed a remarkable stay with us and experienced a captivating environment created uniquely for you.
We strive to continuously delight our guests in delivering an exceptional service and to meet and exceed their service expectations.
We look forward in welcoming you back to the orchard Hotel Singapore.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very good hotel, excellent service, accommodation and location. We were booked into a delux room (by Kuoni who we had booked our holiday with). However, on arrival we were asked if we would like to upgrade to an executive room for an extra £40 per night. This we did and it was definitely worth while. We had a beautiful room. The upgrade meant we could have breakfast in the executive lounge and included complimentary newspapers and laundry. It also included complimentary afternoon tea and snacks each day and cocktails/wine with nibbles each evening before dinner. This saved us a fortune as we found eating out in Singaore extremely expensive. The hotel was in a great location for shops, sightseeing buses and botanical gardens.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magsCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, Manager at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear magsCambridge
It is wonderful to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.
We are delighted that you had an enthralling and unforgettable stay and that our services have created memories that are meaningful and enriching to you.
We look forward in welcoming you back and we thank you for your loyalty to the Millennium & Copthorne family.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Excellent service from the doorman,housekeeping and up to the front office executives. They couldn't do enough to ensure that my family and I had a pleasant stay.
The hotel is very convenient for those who love shopping and food around the orchard road areas. It's only 5 minutes from the MRT.
I always stay at this hotel when in Singapore or in transit to USA or Europe and I recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cpdesouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, Manager at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear CPD
Thank you for your wonderful review
We are privileged to hear that you have enjoyed an unforgettable stay and experienced a unique environment with us.
It is our commitment to ensure that we continue to deliver an exceptional service that we strive to perfect for you.
We look forward in anticipation for your return visit to the Orchard Hotel Singapore.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#72 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,222 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#20 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#44 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,166 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hotel Singapore

Property: Orchard Hotel Singapore
Address: 442 Orchard Road, Singapore 238879, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#32 Business Hotel in Singapore
#47 Family Hotel in Singapore
#60 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orchard Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 656
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style meets substance in the heart of Orchard Road - Singapore's premier shopping and entertainment district. Our award-winning city hotel offers 656 rooms and suites. Trendy and handy design elements exist in every room, crafted to suit your every need. It is the ideal escape for work, rest, and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Orchard Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Orchard Hotel
Orchard Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing