We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you Pay For!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #87 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was recently stranded in Singapore due to VISA problem. Was searching for a moderate hotel and found Village Bugis. When taxi driver drop me off, there was no one to welcome me. No signage to inform that checkin counter is on 2nd floor. Lobby is dark and has a smell... Not foul and neither pleasant.

The counter staff were very friendly and assisted me. A lady in black jacket saw that I was perspiring and handed me a box of tissues. It was a nice touch. The room was big and nice. No complaints there. Unfortunately, the breakfast is awful. The mgnt needs to take a closer look at the breakfast restaurant. The service is bad, cplates chipped and utensils has water marks on them. Very bad,,,,

Fortunately, all the staff I encounted were very helpful espedially Nasrin [I realised she was the manager of Rendezvous when I saw the namecard] who helped me with VISA problems with a call to her friend. Thank you all...

Room Tip: Book for Deluxe or Club. Never opt for Breakfast. Just eat outside as lots of good food and cheaper...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustTravelNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear JustTravelNow,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hospitality is one of our hallmark at Village Hotels. Our staff are trained and inculcated with the personalised service culture to ensure all our guests are well looked after. We take note of your compliment to Valen, Nazreen, Mark and Syed. We will pass on your compliments to them to spur them to continue with such great services.

We sincerely apologised for the lack of arrival welcome service and falling short of your expectations on our breakfast. We will review internally and will make improvements to them.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,430)
There are newer reviews for Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,502 - 2,508 of 3,430 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very neat and in a prime area. Simply superb maintaining the Rooms and can have a tasty food at River Walk Tandoori Restaurant. I was in this hotel for 5 days and had a very good stay. I felt only one issue - The TV channels are very limited. restricted to 20+. That too if they can increase Indian channels will be much more helpful.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are very good view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaluvadi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear chaluvadi s,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location is well liked by many of our guests and reason why many frequent guests stay with us. Village Hotels is about the buzz and interesting things to see and do in our precinct. Our guests are spoilt for choice in terms of attractions, food and shopping. Other than this, our location is convenient for transport in getting to anywhere in Singapore as you have correctly pointed out.

We also take note of your feedback on the TV channels. We will review and make improvement to it.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great location, just 3 minutes walk from Bugis MRT. Big room with big size clean and comfortable bed. clean bathroom. excellent Wifi. Warm and friendly staff, very helpfull and effecient form checked in to checked out hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiranaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Wiranaga,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location is well liked by many of our guests and reason why many frequent guests stay with us. Village Hotels is about the buzz and interesting things to see and do in our precinct. Our guests are spoilt for choice in terms of attractions, food and shopping. Other than this, our location is convenient for transport in getting to anywhere in Singapore as you have correctly pointed out.

Our rooms are also luxurious in terms of space, more so in Singapore. It ranges from 28 to 32 sqm. In addition, all rooms are equipped with wifi, which is complimentary.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

my son accidentally step a broken glass while in room the room.His leg was bleeding.housekeeping must be very careful when cleaning the room.toilet bowl was found to have stinky smell.
Your receptionists services to mentioned names like..mr vallen.ms.nazreen. mark. also mr syed..was very good n frendlies..keep up the good job guys.



  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with StayFarEast.com
Thank Mohamad Kamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Mohamad Kamin S,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We sincerely apologised for the oversight in the room cleanliness. We have reviewed internally and will ensure such incidents will not recur.

Hospitality is one of our hallmark at Village Hotels. Our staff are trained and inculcated with the personalised service culture to ensure all our guests are well looked after. We take note of your compliment to Valen, Nazreen, Mark and Syed. We will pass on your compliments to them to spur them to continue with such great services.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I am here now, till Friday, 3 days away.

I checked in on Saturday 12 October 2013 and the room had no hot water pressure. I left it a couple of days then on Monday, I mentioned it to reception. A maintenance guy came up and saw the fault and I was relocated to another room. Now, in this room, the safe does not open, so I cannot use it. The duty manager came up yesterday afternoon and verified that the safe is jammed shut and cannot be opened, and has arranged for me to be relocated, again, for the second time in 2 days.

THEN, in the first room, there was no laundry form to fill in, so I informed reception that I had some laundry to get washed. It was picked up within an hour and returned to the new room later the same day. A total of 17 items, 3 pairs of shorts, 4 pair of socks, 4 T shirts and 6 pair of underpants... And how much?? $110.04 (A$99). Yes, that is NOT a typo. I have stayed in MANY motels around the world and I have NEVER seen a laundry bill this huge. It would have been cheaper maybe to throw away the clothes and buy new ones.

Needless to say, I am NOT happy with my experience so far.

Jeff from Australia.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casper19766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Jeff,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to provide us with feedback.

We are sorry to hear that we have not been able to meet your expectations when you first came to stay with us. As per our conversation with you during your stay, this is not our usual standards and we certainly can do much better than this. With your satisfaction when you check out, we are glad to prove that we can do better than this.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us. And we look forward to welcome you back to Village Hotel Bugis.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with 9 year old daughter. The room was big, WiFi worked quickly all the time without any extra cost and beds were clean and comfortable. The best part is by far the location with easy walking distance to the Arab Quarter and wonderful restaurants and shops, the MRT station, markets and shopping at Bugis. The most disappointing part of our stay was the poolside restaurant was closed which we would have used everyday whilst swimming to cool down. The last night we had guests staying in the room next door and we realised how thin the walls were - luckily we did not experience this every night as it was quite disruptive. I would recommend this hotel for the cultural experience of being so close to the Arab Quarter and for the reasonable price.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Lisel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Lisel H,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location is well liked by many of our guests and reason why many frequent guests stay with us. Village Hotels is about the buzz and interesting things to see and do in our precinct. Our guests are spoilt for choice in terms of attractions, food and shopping. Other than this, our location is convenient for transport in getting to anywhere in Singapore as you have correctly pointed out.

Our rooms are also luxurious in terms of space, more so in Singapore. It ranges from 28 to 32 sqm. In addition, all rooms are equipped with wifi, which is complimentary.

We also take note of your feedback on the poolside bar. We are currently planning to revamp the bar. We apologise for the inconveniences while we upgrade the facility.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

It was a very comfortable stay. Indian Food was awesome. I never expected that I will get such a good Indian food at a hotel in Singapore. Service was good. Very good staff. Room was very comfortable with very good wifi service.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptPurnendu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear CaptPurnendu R,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Indian Restaurant is well known for its food, especially in the local Indian community. It serves authentic Indian cuisine and well liked by our Indian guests.

Hospitality is one of our hallmark at Village Hotels. Our staff are trained and inculcated with the personalised service culture to ensure all our guests are well looked after.

Since a year ago, we have upgraded our wifi services at a much faster speed and make it complimentary. We understand the importance of wifi for today's travellers. As such, we ensure the speed is fast and the costs is affordable.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#65 of 316 in Singapore
6,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 316 in Singapore
813 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#97 of 316 in Singapore
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality

Address: 390 Victoria Street, Singapore 188061, Singapore (Formerly Landmark Village Hotel )
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Singapore
#35 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#78 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $107 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Arab Street and Kampong Glam enclave, and a mere stone’s throw away from Bugis Village and Little India, Village Hotel Bugis is at the crossroads of Singapore’s Arab, Peranakan and Indian enclaves.These multicultural and multinational influences are seen in the Indian, Chinese and international cuisines at the hotel’s three dining options.Guests can explore the side streets of Kampong Glam, Bugis Village and Haji Lane, which have small boutique outlets stocked with fashion labels otherwise not found in the Singapore malls. They can also indulge in a shopping spree at the Bugis Junction and Bugis+ shopping centres. The Bugis MRT station, which is just a 5-minute walk away, connects guests to the Orchard shopping belt or the Central Business Districts of City Hall or Raffles City.Besides its location, Village Hotel Bugis' key selling point is its spacious rooms, which start from 32sqm for its entry level Superior Room to up to a generous 64sqm for its Executive Club Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Landmark Far East Hotel
Golden Landmark Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Bugis By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing