We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #87 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We booked this room on a very last minute basis. We were lucky to have gotten it for a good price on a local budget website. The exterior of the building does look a little dated and you will wonder how the rooms is going to look like. Upon checking in, I asked for the newer rooms and managed to get an upgrade to club room. The rooms is BEAUTIFUL, the king size bed was amazing, well equipped, with ironing board to full toiletries. The location is really strategic, with arab st around the corner and bugis less than 1km away. I would definitely come back and stay and will recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dneezjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear dneezjf,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our recently revamp Club product has received numerous compliments from our guests. This includes the renovated Club Room and our revamped Club Lounge. This has enabled us to convince our guests to upgrade to Club, which is value for money.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,704 - 2,710 of 3,563 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you are using the Singapore Stopover programme I suggest you book for one night only. The first night is where the incentive is, subsequent nights are where they make their money. Unfortunately we booked for three, this was our first mistake as by the morning of day two we were ready to check out. Now I will point out that we expected a "basic room" and that is exactly what we got, the bathroom was very small infact I think it may have been a cupboard before the renovation. If your backside was larger that an Aussie size 10 you would have got it wedged between the shower screen and the toilet. However that aside most of our issues stemmed from things not working, rockhard beds that slid across the laminate floor when you sat up, either no towels, or one towel between two, no face washers, no drinking glasses and then extroadinarily long waiting times for house keeping to rectify. Calling Reception actually turned out to be like dealing with Telstra, we resorted to placing the phone on "speaker" as it rang so many times we thought it would ring out. The lifts were another big issue, on the day we checked out we waited 10 minutes for a lift to get down to the foyer. The foyers were "smelly" and the pool area was tired and full of men hanging around with their mouths open (hence we did not stay or a swim). Wifi was either at low speed or off. Large buses pulled up out the front of the hotel for long periods of time blocking the entrance for taxis to enter, we waited an hour to get to the airport. The hotel was busy with mainly Indian & Chinese tourists on "budget holidays", very few Australians - perhaps they new something we didn't. My friend I travelled with had been to Singapore for work 12 times previously, albeit 10 years ago back then it was fair to say that there were no bad hotels in Singapore, but a lot has changed. In closing I would like to point out that although this hotel did not even manage to get the "basics" right, in defence to the staff I would suggest that they were run off their feet as there clearly was not enough of them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Julie M,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to provide us with valuable feedback on our products and services. We sincerely apologise for any inconveniences that you have encountered during your recent stay with us.

We would like to assure you that this is certainly not our usual standards as we are confident we can do much better than this as many of our guests can attest. While we know we can do better, we definitely has not done enough for you. As such, we ask you for a chance to recover your confidence in us on your next visit to Singapore.

There are 3 rooms in the hotel that has a smaller bathroom compared to the rest of our 390 rooms. Although small, it is still sufficient for all neccesary activities.

On the housekeeping services, we should do much better than this. We have counselled the staff concerned and will closely monitor their performance. As for reception, we do constantly monitor the time calls get picked up and on average it gets pick up by 3 rings. However, there are certain odd period that calls get longer to answer as the call volume is unusually huge. We sincerely apologise for the wait.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope you would give us another chance to make your stay better.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel (specifically Landmark Village Hotel) is strategically located in the center of the city. It is just a short walking distance to the MRT station which is located near to a shopping center. There are also many shops and eateries around the hotel.

I was on a business trip and found that the experience staying in this hotel is very different from other hotels. From the outside, it doesn’t look grand. But the rooms had been refurbished and it presents a very contemporary and modern look and feel. The only odd thing is the hotel lobby is located on the second floor; which means guest will have to carry their bags up the elevator. Probably there is a lift; but I did not notice it.

The staffs are very friendly and very accommodating. Check-in process was fast though I was kept waiting in the line for almost half an hour due to some problems with some guests checking in prior to me. I had problem with the access card to access the lift and the room. The reception staff immediately attended to it.

The room cleanliness is of very high standard. The bed is super king size which is very comfortable and I fell asleep every night without any problem. The dressing table which can also be used as a working desk is long enough to place all the electronic gadgets. There is also an office chair to facilitate people on business trip to work comfortably in the hotel room. The LCD is big and many choices of TV channels with good reception. There is also an open wardrobe which provides clean and good quality hotel amenities. Complimentary drinking water and beverages are also provided. All the electrical appliances are well taken care and in good order.

The bathroom is a perfect place for a relaxing bath. Though there is no bathtub, the rain shower is sufficient to drain away the day’s work stress and tiredness.

The room stay also comes with a complimentary breakfast. The breakfast has a wide spread of variety and the food differs everyday. The food presentation is good and is also very scrumptious.

I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who opt for good deals and clean rooms. I will definitely return for a holiday in Singapore with my family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeeTham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear TeeTham,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our recently renovated Club and Deluxe rooms have received numerous compliments from our guests. The renovation not only update the design, but we have also take care of many small details to ensure guest comfort comes first.

While we renovate our rooms, we have also spend effort to enhance our products to improve the stay experience. This includes minor details like mattresses, pillows and duvets. We are glad that guests such as yourself are able to observe this. This encourages us to continue to look for continual improvements.

We will continually seek improvements and change in our breakfast so as to enhance the stay experience. Thank you for your kind words. They mean more than anything else and are what our staff strive to provide every day.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

we were greet by Mr. Ben.he is very friendly guy and well trained staff good customer service!...we booked 2 room...check in was fast and the room is quite big ,Very comfortable beds and nothing to complain about the stay. The hotel is near to kg glam, bugis street and walking distance to bugis mrt. ..thank you so much...highly recommended to stay at this hotel. and would definitely stay here again in the near future...thank you =D

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nursulhi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Nursulhi T,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Bugis is certainly one of the place to stay if you are in Singapore. Our hotel is just located beside the Bugis MRT Station (subway or metro). This provides our guests wth many convenience both in terms of food and transport.

We are glad Ben is of great help to you during your stay. We will pass on your compliment to him to spur him to continue with such great services.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Was greeted by Ms Yuki with her warm welcome and soothing smile, which uplifted me after a long day. Check in was fast and the receptionists at the counter were very friendly. Headed to the newly refurbished Deluxe room and was delighted to see the huge King Size bed. Dinner was easy to be sourced as there were numerous restaurants nearby and for a quick bite 7 Eleven was always open in front of the hotel. The bath was clean and nice. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good. To summarize, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishnuvarthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Vishnuvarthan,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Bugis is certainly one of the place to stay if you are in Singapore. Our hotel is just located beside the Bugis MRT Station (subway or metro). This provides our guests wth many convenience both in terms of food and transport.

Yuki is one of our service ambassadors who constantly receive compliments for our hospitality. We will pass on your compliment to her to spur her to continue to provide such great services.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is located very well, near Bugis street. The rooms are decent with a nice view. One of the hotels offering great sleep quality. Very comfortable beds and peaceful at night. Had nothing to complain about the stay. Breakfast was at the Indian restaurant, the food was average and mostly cold. The same food was repeated everyday. The restaurant also looks a bit shabby.

Overall highly recommended place to stay in Singapore.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Sharan S,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We have spend effort to enhance our products to improve the stay experience. This includes minor details like pillows and duvets. We are glad that guests such as yourself are able to observe this. This encourages us to continue to look for continual improvements.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business, booked directly on hotel web as there was a promotion for the period i stayed ($220 p.night). The concierge is on the ground floor, and to reach the lobby you have to take the elevator or escalator. Check in was prompt by Pushpa (i see that she has good reviews among tripadvisors) at 11am, and had a room despite the check-in time is 2pm. Need the room key for the elevator to go on room floors, good for security. Room is spacious and comfy, with minibar, lcd tv, free wifi. The floor is in laminated wood, so for those who are allergic, it can help. Room has a good view on pool, i did not use the pool nor the gym. Window in my room is quite small. Renovated bathroom with good lightings. Staff are helpful. Taxi in front of hotel. Bugis (metro, shopping mall, cinema, supermarket) is 2 blocks away. Raffles Hospital is next block. Check-out by Pushpa was prompt. No problem hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank HKYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear HKYong,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Pushpa is certainly one of the stars in our team. She has won numerous compliments over the years for our Village Hotels as this is the second Village Hotel that she is working for. We will pass on your compliment to her to spur her to continue with such great services.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#67 of 319 in Singapore
6,585 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 319 in Singapore
1,062 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#94 of 319 in Singapore
2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality

Address: 390 Victoria Street, Singapore 188061, Singapore (Formerly Landmark Village Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Singapore
#35 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#78 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $103 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Arab Street and Kampong Glam enclave, and a mere stone’s throw away from Bugis Village and Little India, Village Hotel Bugis is at the crossroads of Singapore’s Arab, Peranakan and Indian enclaves.These multicultural and multinational influences are seen in the Indian, Chinese and international cuisines at the hotel’s three dining options.Guests can explore the side streets of Kampong Glam, Bugis Village and Haji Lane, which have small boutique outlets stocked with fashion labels otherwise not found in the Singapore malls. They can also indulge in a shopping spree at the Bugis Junction and Bugis+ shopping centres. The Bugis MRT station, which is just a 5-minute walk away, connects guests to the Orchard shopping belt or the Central Business Districts of City Hall or Raffles City.Besides its location, Village Hotel Bugis' key selling point is its spacious rooms, which start from 32sqm for its entry level Superior Room to up to a generous 64sqm for its Executive Club Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Landmark Far East Hotel
Golden Landmark Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Bugis By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing