We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near Little India & Kid friendly , Food is Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #85 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
dehradun
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Near Little India & Kid friendly , Food is Bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spend most wonderful days of my life in Singapore with my husband and my 2 years old daughter. It was our 5th wedding anniversary and for celebration we went to Singapore. We booked the hotel after reading the reviews of hotels on trip advisor. We booked landmark Village hotel for 5 days and 4 nights via a tour package taken from Goingsingapore.com – wholesale dealers for Singapore packages and got a good bargain with Flights included.

Hotel Landmark Village was very amazing. It is conveniently located at Bugis district. The hotel takes pleasure in an environment created by a mixture of the city’s new and old cultures. It was within the close range to public transport. It took us just few minutes to reach little India, Singapore’s main shopping street and number of major convention centers. Modern shopping centre is at a walking distance from the hotel, we had done lot of shopping for all our relatives.

Hotel hospitality and service was fabulous. They give special attention to all guests. Staff of the hotel was very polite and active. They were always very keen to help you. They also help to know about the places where we could get taxi on cheap rates.

Room features:

1. We stayed in the superior room which was located on 9th floor.

2. Room was facing the pool area of the hotel.

3. Décor of the room was very elegant and modern. It provides you the facility of 5 star hotel on the cost of 3 star hotel.

4. Internet access was also there in the room.

Pool at the hotel large and nice, it was quiet place for chill. Breakfast in the hotel was just OK.

We tried the Indian food in the hotel restaurant which was good but costlier. So it’s better to have food outside hotel as there were many good Indian restaurants just at the walking distance.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, it’s very good budgeted hotel with all the facilities and luxury.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kritikas_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMChew, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Kritikas_13,

Thank you for your compliments. It is heartening to hear that your stay at Landmark Village Hotel made your 5th wedding anniversary more memorable. Indeed you had highlighted our key selling points – great locality with a variety of shopping and food options, and a hospitable team at your service. You stayed on the 9th floor, our newly renovated floor and indeed the room had drawn much appreciation from many guests.

We look forward to having you back to LVH in the near future.
Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    1,249
    564
    165
    100
See reviews for
947
729
186
641
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Landmark Village hotel is one of my favourite hotels in Singapore. I have been staying in this hotel since many years for longer duration. The facilities & services at this hotel are very good. It has good Indian restaurant at next to swimming pool dining and also with room services and walkable distance to Little India.

It has very convenient for first time travellers to Singapore as the MRT & Bus stops is just right behind and has facilities of many travel agencies inside the premises.

It is very useful place for both visitors and business travellers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPRAJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMChew, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear RPRaju,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad you are treating us like your home away from home, and you are regularly returning to LVH. We had recently renovated some of our rooms and we hope you had the chance to book one of the new rooms. Do check out our StarFarEast website for pictures.

We look forward to welcoming you again to LVH.
Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

-Stayed here for 5 nights over new years eve. Considering how expensive Singapore hotels are already and the fact that it was new years, we felt that this hotel was decent value at $160AUD/night on average for a deluxe room (no breakfast).

-Made the booking through Otel.com and they explicitly stated that they couldn't guarantee us a double room with a king bed. When we arrived we were in fact given a twin room with two single beds. This room was quite dated and nothing special.
HOWEVER, the staff were wonderful and when we brought up that we wanted a double room during check-in they arranged for us to be moved to a new room by the second night without any hassle. And the new room was great. As other reviews have mentioned, the hotel is undergoing renovations and the room we moved to was clearly one of the newly renovated ones. We enjoyed our stay much more after this in this room. The pictures on the website are pretty close to the real thing. (Though we're not sure if we were upgraded to a better room than Deluxe, if we were, then thank you to the staff at Landmark).

Likes:
-Great friendly staff who were eager to help with any questions/requests we had
-New modern rooms
-Great Location (less than 5min walk to Bugis MRT, Bugis Junction and Bugis Street and Albert Court Hawker... 7eleven and plenty of indian and arab food in front of the hotel)
-Every taxi we took knew the exact location, which was helpful
-Nice pool

Dislikes:
-lifts were very small, slow and at times didn't even work properly
-the lobby had a strange smell

Overall, would gladly stay here again provided we get the same nice room.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room (we stayed on 8th or 9th level when they moved us).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMChew, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Anthony,

Thank you for your positive review. It is great to hear you had a memorable stay with us over New Year’s Eve. We hope you had a wonderful New Year celebration. Indeed, we are progressively upgrading our rooms and we are glad you enjoyed one of our newly renovated rooms. It is the appreciation from guests like you that further motivates our warm and friendly service colleagues. We are glad we exceeded your expectations.

The old slow lifts are a thing of the past. We had already upgraded the lift control panels and they are now working much better than before. My apologies you had endure some inconvenience during your stay.

We look forward to having you back to LVH soon.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I must say I would agree with the other travellers in some aspect but I will give it a 5 star for the service I received from the staff. If you are looking for luxury accomodation with lavish furnishing, you won't get it here - is basic accomodation with GREAT service. If you are looking for service, this is THE place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionSherk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMChew, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
hi Fion,

Thank you for the thumbs up. My team and I are encouraged with your short and sweet message. This strengthens our belief and aim to provide a 5-star service to all guests.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Attended a course at this hotel. Location is good near Beach road and Arab street so its great for people who love Shisha. However, if you don't, avoid this hotel and book Oasia Hotel instead.

Gotten torn towel in the room. Room smell of cigarette. Ants at the teabreak snack items etc etc.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel unless u like shisha.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMChew, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi Esther,

Please accept our apologies for the lapse in our services. Our Housekeeping team is replacing their linen with new stocks and we had reminded our room attendants to alert us of any cigarette smell on our non-smoking floors. We are sorry that we fell below your expectations, but would like that you give us another chance and return to LVH for a weekend stay.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

My family and I passed through Singapore on the 29th and 30th December 2012 as we were enroute to Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. My family is young so we broke up the journey from Brisbane to Dar. Initially I thought the lobby was a bit bizarre but the desk staff were friendly and responsive. We had booked two adjoining rooms that were connected via a doorway. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed and certainly were renovated recently. I paid $1400 for two rooms for 2 nights, I thought this was a little pricey but we were travelling during an international holiday period!

I have to agree with some of the other posts about the lifts, I certainly found them to be temperamental at times. The location of the hotel is very handy to the Bugis MRT which we utilised to go on a day trip to Universal Studios. There is a strong damp smell around the lobby area but I find this common in many hotels occupying the tropics.

Now, where the hotel excelled is in posting a very muched loved TeddyBear back to a distraught little boy. My son loves his raggedy bear and unfortunately Bear was forgotten in our scramble to get to Changi. My wife phoned the hotel from the airport and after one or two emails Bear was posted to Dar es Salaam. So thank you to the staff at Landmark, we appreciate the extra mile you went for us. We will certainly stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMChew, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are very happy that your son’s TeddyBear made it back to him soon after your return to Dar. He must be thrilled to receive his beloved TeddyBear. Our Service team puts in their best foot to delight our guests, as you had experienced firsthand.

Another good news is that our lift panels had been upgraded and is now functioning fuss-free.

We look forward to your return in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

my name is Selamat p. and we stayed during the busy christmas period, yet the service was still excellent. We were given a room that was renovated, and it was so easy on the eyes. Room looked posh, and the beds were comfy as!

The concierge were helpful as were the front desk. We got the view facing the mosque and the eastern part of Singapore. We have always stayed at Landmark Village when we return to Singapore, because of the creature comforts in the large rooms, and the close proximity to a lot of amenities.

The gym was well equipped and spacious. We loved the fact that we could just grab breakfast across the road at one of the local Indian eateries. Across the other end, we could just stroll to Bugis Junction and have lots more varieties of food glorious food.

So why do we frequent Breakfast out of the hotel? It was due to the lack of variety in their tandoor restaurant menu for breakfast. Since we only eat halal, we had to join in for the South Indian brekky. And everyday the breakfast spread change so slightly, you would think that it did not change at all! I guess an option for guests would be good, as not all the guest who eat halal food are from India.

We would be please to be offered other Halal food for breakfast apart from Indian food. Perhaps the hotel and its management could look into providing their other guests who were not Indian with different food varieties, or even a section in the same restaurant for Halal and non- Indian food. Western or Malay or even Chinese are the preference.

Our previous stay when we swam at the pool, my daughter had develop some rashes after the swim, normally due to some stuffs she was exposed to. The allergic reaction was quite prominent, so we seek the advise of the local doctor. It was thought to be the pool that was exposed to the busy roadside surroundings, and after a slight rain, the pool was tainted with fumes chemicals from the cars.

Perhaps the pool could be cleaned regularly so that hazards like this would not occur again.


All in all we enjoyed our stay everytime we drop by the hotel in Singapore. We would definitely stay in this hotel again, for sure!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank selamatp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMChew, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Selamat p,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are happy that you and your family had an enjoyable and memorable time with us. It is good that our concierge chaps were friendly and helpful in recommending you our local sights. Indeed we are surrounding by a variety of makan places and shopping. As for your comments on our choice of breakfast, perhaps we should have offered you a preference of Riverwalk or Mooi Chin. We will look into this. Our Maintenance crew confirms that our swimming pool contractors clean and check the pool water pH and chlorine levels thrice a week. We will conduct a inspection with the contractor again.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family to LVH in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Furama City Centre
#70 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#61 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,270 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#111 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality

Property: Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Address: 390 Victoria Street, Singapore 188061, Singapore (Formerly Landmark Village Hotel )
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Singapore
#35 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#75 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Arab Street and Kampong Glam enclave, and a mere stone’s throw away from Bugis Village and Little India, Village Hotel Bugis is at the crossroads of Singapore’s Arab, Peranakan and Indian enclaves.These multicultural and multinational influences are seen in the Indian, Chinese and international cuisines at the hotel’s three dining options.Guests can explore the side streets of Kampong Glam, Bugis Village and Haji Lane, which have small boutique outlets stocked with fashion labels otherwise not found in the Singapore malls. They can also indulge in a shopping spree at the Bugis Junction and Bugis+ shopping centres. The Bugis MRT station, which is just a 5-minute walk away, connects guests to the Orchard shopping belt or the Central Business Districts of City Hall or Raffles City.Besides its location, Village Hotel Bugis' key selling point is its spacious rooms, which start from 32sqm for its entry level Superior Room to up to a generous 64sqm for its Executive Club Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Landmark Far East Hotel
Golden Landmark Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Bugis By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing