We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overbooked” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #80 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overbooked”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I've booked this hotel together with 2 colleagues (triple room), but unfortunately shortly after we arrived the friendly lady from the reception told us that due to some issues there was no room available for us anymore. Not a problem, an alternative location was provided so there we went, back to the lower lobby waiting for a taxi. The lady took very good care of us, she gave us money for the taxi and informed us that the alternative location was very close to Orchard Road and that we would definitely enjoy ourselves their. Fair enough, these things happen when it's busy in the city, so off we went to Orchard Scott, serviced apartments by Far East Hospitality.
Unfortunately the new location was not as close to Orchard Road as they told us, it is not a hotel, so no bar, no restaurants and also breakfast was very limited, but the room we were assigned was beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJanssen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMChew, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Ms Janssen,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies that we had to transfer you and your friends to Orchard Scotts Residence (OSR), in view our overbooking at the hotel. OSR is one of our service residences. While the rooms and facilities are of top quality, you are right that a service residence ambience is quite different from one of a hotel.

I'm not sure if you are residing in Jakarta, which is just a short hop from Singapore. My colleague Mr Yasrid will be contacting you soon. We'd like to make your next stay with LVH a memorable one.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    1,209
    540
    160
    99
See reviews for
911
712
182
614
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the Landmark Village hotel in January 2012. We were in Singapore for our honeymoon and our tour operator had booked us into this hotel. We arrived well in advance unaware of the Check in times in Singapore. The staff was however understanding and said we could sit in the lounge but we should not doze off. After a stroll, we came back at around check in time and the staff tell us to wait another half an hour as they haven't finished cleaning. On registering our protests, they offered another smaller room with no tub for the same fare which we refused. Hence another wait of 45 mins. Though ours was a room for 2, the restuarant staff said only one of us was entitled to the complimentary breakfast. Hence we decided not have breakfast (or any other meal) at the hotel

Service apart, the room was decently furnished, clean and OK for stays where in you dont spend much time in the room. The location is advantageous. Little India, Burgis place etc is walking distance. Also there are cost effective eateries like Zam zam nearby serving delicious dishes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hafees M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMChew, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Assalam Mr Hafees,

Thanks for your comments. I guess you and your wife arrived to the hotel in the morning, before our check-in time of 1400hr and had to wait before the next available room. Unfortunately, this would be subject to any guests checking out earlier than expected, and our Housekeeping team getting the room cleaned and ready for your stay.

We hope you will make a visit to LVH in future.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

we got the room on the 17th floor, the view was fantastic. we being strict vegetarians the Indian restaurant on the 5th floor was a big relief. the buffet breakfast was very good. the rooms were spacious and kept very clean. proximity to Bugis MRT is a plus point.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on the higher floors, facing east and south give good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arunrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMChew, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
hi Mr Arun,

Thank you for your big thumbs up. It is good that Riverwalk Tandoor on the 5th floor floor was able to take care of your dietary needs. We look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel a couple of years ago (Golden Landmark), and really were satisfied. Tried a different hotel last year and were not too happy.
Coming again this Xmas and looking forward to the newly renovated accommodation and hopefully same great experience as last stay.
(Ignore last travel date. It was prior to Nov 2011)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank binnawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMChew, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
hi Binnawan,

We look forward to your return over Christmas. It is a great time to visit Singapore to soak in the festivities. For your next stay, do try out our newly renovated rooms. Check out our StayFarEast website for more details and offers.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in July 12 on business visit for 4 days and booked this hotel through agent on last minitue. Very average hotel and hotel rate is premium. Not at all worth for the price you pay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirish2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to provide your feedback to Landmark Village Hotel. We look forward to yor next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The room was nice and well maintained. THe floor manager Mr. Raju and his team was splendid in providing the service and well taken care. As an organiser we are very much happy with the service and hospitality given.

Only the room pa system positioning was little bit difficult as it is front corner of the room whereby have to cross the speaker to adjust the the volume or play any music.

Also the screen is in the middle and when we use our own projector it blocks the speaker from standing in centre to talk.

Room Tip: It is very much reasonable priced for a 100pax with a huge projector screen in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poubalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMChew, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Mr Poubalen,

Thank you for your positive feedback on our seminar services. I've conveyed your appreciation to Raju and his Banquet team. Feel free to let us know should you have future seminar requirements.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I agreed with most of the reviewers..this hotel is just an average hotel. Plus point, very near to the MRT station, within 5 mins walk and close to the Arab Street where you can indulge yourself with the Arab,Malay, Indonesian and Indian cuisine..

Minus point- the staff at the reception counter needs to go for a "customer service" course. The staff was unfriendly, unpleasant and trying very hard to be kind and polite, but honestly, it was so fake! The room was nicely decorated and I can smell the strong curry aroma while waiting for myself to be checked in at the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Venomlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMChew, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Venomlady,

Thank you for your feedback on our frontliners. We had reminded our associates on the finer points of customer services. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations this time. However, we would like to welcome you again in the near future, with an aim to show our improved service.

Yours sincerely,

Chew Yun Meng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Furama City Centre
#45 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#60 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality

Property: Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Address: 390 Victoria Street, Singapore 188061, Singapore (Formerly Landmark Village Hotel )
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Singapore
#35 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#72 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Arab Street and Kampong Glam enclave, and a mere stone’s throw away from Bugis Village and Little India, Village Hotel Bugis is at the crossroads of Singapore’s Arab, Peranakan and Indian enclaves.These multicultural and multinational influences are seen in the Indian, Chinese and international cuisines at the hotel’s three dining options.Guests can explore the side streets of Kampong Glam, Bugis Village and Haji Lane, which have small boutique outlets stocked with fashion labels otherwise not found in the Singapore malls. They can also indulge in a shopping spree at the Bugis Junction and Bugis+ shopping centres. The Bugis MRT station, which is just a 5-minute walk away, connects guests to the Orchard shopping belt or the Central Business Districts of City Hall or Raffles City.Besides its location, Village Hotel Bugis' key selling point is its spacious rooms, which start from 32sqm for its entry level Superior Room to up to a generous 64sqm for its Executive Club Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Landmark Far East Hotel
Golden Landmark Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Bugis By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing