We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the MRT, simple rooms lots of building work outside till 2017”
Review of 30 Bencoolen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
30 Bencoolen
Ranked #204 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed for one night as a stop over to see universal, and the rooms do what they need. Clean beds. Nice staff good location. Although, if you get a room facing the front there is lots of building work going on till 2017 that sound as if they would be disruptive

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at 30 Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you very much for taking time to review your experience at Bayview Hotel Singapore. We are very happy to read that your bed was clean and enjoyed the good location and having nice staff. Whilst we do apologize for the inconvenience caused, unfortunately we have no ability to control the pubic work construction in front of the hotel to make way for the MRT Downtown Line 3 to provide more connectivity for the residence as well as overseas visitors. Upon the station’s completion in 2017, it will enhance rail connectivity between the eastern corridors, the Central Business District and developments in the Marina Bay area.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Singapore.

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel SIngapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 725 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

i stayed for 2 nights in this hotel, booked with "lots of hotels" through my office travel agency. near bras basah mtr station. on going construction for bencoolen mtr station operational by 2017. near a food center - frequented kopitiam stall known for the very singaporean coffee & toast, and very nice and quiet area. hotel staff helpful. free breakfast is ok for an asian like me. for a basic hotel this is acceptable, as long as you do not ask too much amenities and scrimp on expenses. my bed was soft enough. tried room service, it was quite fast, price was reasonable. i recommend this hotel for guests that are not finicky, and want only the basics! i wll come back to this hotel again next year. this is a "no smoking" hotel. but there is a smoking area along the alley to 7/11 or the driveway beside the hotel entrance. upon arrival, front desk gave me the username and password of the wifi. since i am visiting a friend we communicated through facebook messenger. wifi is free and working - fairly fast. check-out was fast, i requested assistance from front desk to get me a taxi to the airport, and the taxi was there in a blink.

1  Thank Sadik
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BHSingapore, General Manager at 30 Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We are delighted to learn that you have found our hotel staff helpful and services were promptly delivered. Taking your positive & constructive feedback on board, we will be sure to seek for improvement upon current facility and service. The team at Bayview Hotel Singapore looks forward to having another pleasure of welcoming you back for an Enriching Bayview experience in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed 4 days and 3 nights here. The location is perfect, so close to Orchard road yet at a fairly quiet part of the city. Accommodation included free breakfast which was really good. Maybe it's a cultural thing, but the staff isn't as courteous as the Filipinos (I'm not biased, being a Filipino and all. It's just an observation.). Overall the stay was satisfactory and I wouldn't mind staying here again if I go back to Singapore.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chumadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at 30 Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for choosing Bayview Hotel Singapore as your preferred choice. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel. are happy with our location and good breakfast.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times. Our upgrading programme is in the pipeline in line with the MRT completion.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Singapore.

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed in Bayview for 4 days; enjoyed the stay. Spacious room, courteous staff, nice breakfast, good locality.. got a good deal by booking online too. Also has self service laundry, iron box and ironing table, decent view.. Only negative is property is bit old..

Liked it more as another place we stayed in the same locality was too congested.. and without many advantages bayview has.

A Sunday worship service happening in second floor was a bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abygm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at 30 Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest on your recent visit to Singapore. We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in TripAdvisor.

It is such a delight to learn that you have found our staff courteous and the breakfast nice. We are also delighted to learn that you happy with our spacious room and good locality. Your positive review is certainly encouraging for us to move forward towards achieving service excellence!

On behalf of the Management and Staff of Bayview Hotel Singapore, we thank you once again for your patronage and look forward to your continuous support.

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in May 2014 on our way home to Australia from Europe. We wanted a quiet hotel so we could catch up on some sleep and also be close to transport. We were very close to Bras Basah train station which we used to get around the various tourist spots. There was a local eatery where we had most of our meals apart from breakfast which we had at the hotel and was good. Unfortunately the hotel has been barricaded behind timber walls as the new Bencoolen Metro Station is being built. It has been going on for a few years and will be finished around 2017. However we were not deterred by this and there was no noise. The rooms were clean and roomy and the service was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at 30 Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit.

While only on a short stay, we were glad to see that our team provided you with impecable service and that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel despite the MRT construction. Upon the station’s completion in 2017, it will enhance rail connectivity between the eastern corridors, the Central Business District and developments in the Marina Bay area.

The team at Bayview Hotel Singapore looks forward to having another pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable hotel experience with us in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Good value stayed June 2014 with family and friends group of nine with 5 rooms for a week. Close to MRT and eateries breakfast decent and suited all from 10 year old to 60 year old member of our party. Beds hard but by 3rd night we had adapted, air cond so good requested extra blanket. Pool nice if not deep and relaxing after long day. MRT being built on street in front but we were not aware of it from our rooms. Would stay here again

Room Tip: Away from front high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Optimus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at 30 Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for choosing Bayview Hotel Singapore for your holiday in Singapore and we appreciate your sharing the experience with us here on TripAdvisor. We will be sure to take your valuable feedback on board to seek for improvement whenever possible.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night last 26-27 May, 2014. The Staff is very courteous and polite. We we're given a high floor room (10th floor). Room is very spacious with a separate living room from the big bedroom with 2 toilets. We have also a two 32" LCD Tv and a separate work desk - one for the bedroom and one for the living room. It has a glass wall. We can hear the construction outside if we go near the glass. Not safe for the kids to lean over. Basic toiletries such as shampoo, soap and toothbrush is provided in the room.

They serve free buffet breakfast (but I didn't try - so I cannot comment on it). Wifi connection is also good (free).

The only negative with this Hotel is the aircon. Probably, because the room is too big. Eventhough, it has 2 aircons, it is still hot. We didn't complain anymore because we will be checking out next day.

As for the location, Hotel is located in Bencoleen - there is a 24/7 Kopitiam and 7-11 and my favorite Irish Pub is around the corner. It is just in the heart of everything - Museums, Shopping Malls, Tourist Attractions, etc. Just only a few bus stops away and you are there. However, getting a cab is not easy. But at least they have a drop off point unlike the Strand Hotel (check my review in Strand Hotel if you want to know more). If you know how to use the Public Transportation, getting around is easy. There is a nearby MRT Stations and a bus stop. The only thing that you need to take note is that --- this Hotel is infront of a huge construction site for the future Bencoleen MRT Station that will be finish in 2017.

Amenities:
Swimming Pool - is small but usable. Nobody's using it and it is on top of the Hotel building (rooftop).
Gym - is also small but it seems functional. Nobody's using it as well.
You can only go inside, if you have the access card. It is only for Hotel Guests.

Overall, we are happy with our stay. If we needed a place to stay again in Singapore. We will definitely choose this Hotel again. Hopefully, the management can fix the aircon problem and they won't increase their price. :P This Hotel is truly a gem in Singapore!

Room Tip: Request for a high floor room to avoid the construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iTextSpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at 30 Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you very much for taking time to review your experience at Bayview Hotel Singapore. We are most delighted to learn that our staff were courteous and polite and that you found our room spacious and also liked the hotel’s location.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Singapore.

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#67 of 319 in Singapore
6,587 reviews
Strand Hotel
#149 of 319 in Singapore
468 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#124 of 319 in Singapore
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 319 in Singapore
1,075 reviews
Somerset Bencoolen
#117 of 319 in Singapore
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 30 Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 30 Bencoolen

Address: 30 Bencoolen Street Bayview Inn, Singapore 189621, Singapore (Formerly Bayview Hotel Singapore)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $97 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 30 Bencoolen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Hotel Singapore shall be closed for major renovation from 25 Sep 2016 till mid July 2017. Contemporary Fifteen-story Hotel located 4 km from train station & 22 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 30 Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Bayview Hotel Singapore
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Singapore City Bayview Hotel
City Bayview Singapore
Bayview Singapore
30 Bencoolen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing