We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Ranked #193 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
cairns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel is right next to a noisy construction site and because of this taxis have trouble finding the hotel ( We had to call one twice before we were picked up) Our booking was also mixed up and my boyfriend and I firstly were given a room with 2 single beds. When we went downstairs to get the room changed the only option given was a king bed on a smelly smoking level floor. The rooms are very average and the sheets had some sort of stain on the side of them, the carpet is old, and the bathroom is dated. However the free wifi in the lobby is good and it is in a good location, a short walk to orchard road, MRT station and the raffles hotel, a 7/11 and 24 hr food court.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aimeejane21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We thank you for taking time to write in which allow us to address the shortcomings. As our valued guest, we appreciate tremendously your feedback and apologized for the inconvenience caused.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Our upgrading programme is in the pipeline in line with the MRT completion. We hope that the experience you have had does not deter you from staying with us at Bayview Hotel Singapore where we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    280
    227
    68
    38
See reviews for
141
227
66
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I booked this hotel for our honeymoon in November 2012 (las month).. We arrived at the hotel at 8am (early flight). They're check in is at 2pm (yes... TWO PM) and check out is at 12pm. When i told the floor manager (Mr. Johnson), that it was our first honeymoon, he was kind enough to let us check in at 8am he also upgraded our room :) (said he didnt want us to have a grumpy start! :p).. There is no wifi except in the Lobby. So if u plan on using ur computer u need to carry a LAN cable that you can connect to the internet socket given in all the rooms. YES! there was construction happening on the street, but it didnt really bother us, we were on the 9th floor and the construction happend from 9am to around 7-8 in the evening (you'de prolly be out in the city during that time). Its very close to MRT - Bras Basah about 1-2 min walk. The food is quite expensive at the hotel, BUT there is a really big food court about 15-20 feet from the hotel, which is open 24/7, if you are a non-vegetarial, then i STRONGLY recommend you try the ATOM SANDWICH and CHICKEN CARBONARA at the ISTANBUL KOFTA STALL (And yes it is 100% ISLAMICALLY HALAL). The room has a steam iron box (great for crushed packed cloths), a standard mini refrigrator, laundry service, medium size roof top swimming pool and all the other basic stuff you get at a decent hotel. The staff is quite cheerful and very friendly. We requested for a late check out and they agreed for 3pm instead of 12pm, any further extra time in check out constitutes of 100 SGD per day. The breakfast is not so good as what you might expect from a hotel of this standard.

The rooms are all no smoking... however you can steal a smoke in the bathroom.. ;)
better safe yet.. request for a smoking room.. (if you dont wanna be caught doing that!)

There is an extra door to the room (that looks like a closet..) but it was an opening that connects the next room... for kinda like when your staying with kids etc.. its because of this door that sound can pass through to the other room easily... Luckily.. we had a single traveller staying next to us.. (guess he was the one with "noisy neighbour" issues!) :p

But over all its a nice place to stay at a decent price, and is perfectly located in the center of the city... easy for exploring on your own!

(and oh ya!... THERE IS NO "BAY - VIEW"...)

Apparently...

"There was a bay that you could see from the top floor, but since all the buildings came up the view was lost... however.. the name carried on!" - Mr. Johnson :-)

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the top floor (helps reduce the noise from the construction).. any thing from 9t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank javed_fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing Bayview Hotel Singapore for your honeymoon in Singapore. We are grateful for your taking the time to share your constructive feedback with us here on TripAdvisor..

Your positive feedback on our room, the hotel’s location and our staff are very much appreciated that had met your expectation.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back for a memorable hotel experience with us soon.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

It's noisy as a MRT station is being constructed before hotel gate. It would be finished in 2017. But the service is good. It's 5 minute walking to the MRT. The breakfast is not good for the price. If you go there, you can eat something outside the hotel beside the MRT.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huang2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s been our honour to have you as our guest. We are most delighted to learn that you are happy with our service and location despite some disruption causing inconvenience from the MRT construction.

The MRT construction is part of Singapore upgrading to provide more connectivity for the residence as well as overseas visitors in the future. This MRT line is directly connected to Singapore Expo and Changi Airport.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. We hope the experiences you have had does not deter you from staying with us at Bayivew Hotel Singapore where I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Malaysia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hotels in Singapore is very expensive and during exhibition, it's even worse. We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights via Booking.com and we paid about SGD200/room/night (incl. service charge and GST) which inclusive of breakfast.

The room is bigger than average hotel room at similar room rate. There's no view from the room, other than windows of the opposite buildings. There's no WiFi in the room, but I have no problem connecting to the free internet via LAN network cable. During booking, we requested rooms with twin bed and our request was fulfilled. Upon check in, we asked if we could have connecting room, and again we were given one. The room looks a little worn out, but it's clean. All towers were clean and odorless. Other reviewers had complained about the noise from the construction in front of the hotel, but since our rooms were at the behind, we were not bothered by the noise, in fact we hardly hear any noise, even when we were having breakfast in the restaurant.

Breakfast was good. Although there were not many choices, but the quality was acceptable. We didn't encountered any cold food (other than food that's supposed to be cold) as experienced by other reviewers.

The location is what I like most about this hotel. Bras Basah MRT is just 2 minutes walk away. And next to the hotel, there's a food court with many choices, a fast food restaurant - Wendy's and a 7-Eleven Convenient Store. This hotel even offers free parking since we were driving down from Malaysia. We were there to attend an exhibition in Marina Sand Bay, so location is very important to us. And during booking, we couldn't find any other hotels offering better rate than this hotel, at this location.

I'd recommend this hotel to budget conscious travelers and I would definitely stay here again, as long as the rate is competitive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's at the rear of the hotel, so it's far from the construction in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelvinyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s been our honour to have you as our guest. We are most delighted to learn that you are happy with our facilities and hotel’s surrounding despite some disruption causing inconvenience from the MRT construction. Your recognition and encouragement will certainly motivate us in the hospitality industry to constantly pursue service excellence.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Our upgrading programme is in the pipeline in line with the MRT completion.

The team at Bayview Hotel Singapore joins me in extending our gratitude for your appreciation towards our effort in creating memorable hotel experiences.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Singapore and this was by far the worst. I was only going to be staying here for a few hours and I'm lucky that was the case. I was working until 3am and when I got to the room if i wasn't so tired I would have been straight down to complain.
I decided to leave the hotel at 9am because I just didn't want to be there anymore.

Instead of a double bed I got 2 singles, the carpet was dirty, the view was of a building site. The towels were dirty, they shower was even worse. After I got to sleep I was woken by a bang in the bathroom. When I went into check what it was a part had fallen off the bath. I have attached pictures.

I was woken again at 8am by the noise outside and decided to go for breakfast. Breakfast was only average,

There is a lot of work needs to be done to this hotel but I am not going to find out if it ever improves because I will not go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JNK883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We thank you for taking time to write in which allow us to address the shortcomings. As our valued guest, we appreciate tremendously your feedback and apologized for the inconvenience caused. This was indeed an oversight on our side and had addressed the issue to the department concerned.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Our upgrading programme is in the pipeline in line with the MRT completion. We hope that the experience you have had does not deter you from staying with us at Bayview Hotel Singapore.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two nights. The room and bathroom are clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, I really love their mashed potatoes. I was a bit disappointed that they don't have WiFi in the room, I had to sit at the lobby whenever I need WiFi. Luckily they have sofas in the lobby and the connection's quite fast.
There's a 7/11 store and a Kopitiam (24 hours diner) right beside the hotel. It is also very close to the Bras Basah MRT station and a bus stop. It took only a couple of MRT stops to get to some tourism spots like Merlion Park or China Town.
Another one of my disappointments is that there's an MRT construction right in front of the building. It wasn't noisy, but because of that, that part of the Bencoolen street is closed and the view from my room was cranes and tractors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessahanindya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s been our honour to have you as our guest. We are most delighted to learn that you are happy with our facilities and hotel’s surrounding despite some disruption causing inconvenience from the MRT construction. Your recognition and encouragement will certainly motivate us in the hospitality industry to constantly pursue service excellence.

All our guest rooms come with free internet access with LAN cable obtainable from reception counter and wifi at lobby, café, swimming pool and function rooms.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back to Bayview Hotel Singapore

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 3days. I hate rooms with dirty carpet...and might have spotted a few fleas during our stay...but if you don't care then its a decent hotel very in the middle of the city.
oops one other thing...Ben Coolen street is until 2017 a big construction area, a new metro station is being built and guess what comes with those building activities....noise, a lot of noise. But if you don't care then its a decent hotel in the middle of the city...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing Bayview Hotel Singapore for your holiday in Singapore and we appreciate your sharing the experience with us here on TripAdvisor. We are saddened to hear of your encounters at Bayview Hotel Singapore and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

On the construction in front of the hotel, we are working closely with the Authority to minimize the inconveniences. The MRT construction is part of Singapore upgrading to provide more connectivity for the residence as well as overseas visitors in the future. This MRT line is directly connected to Singapore Expo and Changi Airport.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. We hope the experiences you have had does not deter you from staying with us at Bayivew Hotel Singapore where I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Strand Hotel
#164 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Rochor
Hotel Bencoolen
Hotel Bencoolen
#179 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
V Hotel Bencoolen
#184 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#151 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Rochor
Summer View Hotel
Summer View Hotel
#103 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
BIG Hotel Singapore
#115 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Singapore

Property: Bayview Hotel Singapore
Address: 30 Bencoolen Street Bayview Inn, Singapore 189621, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Hotel Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Fifteen-story Hotel located 4 km from train station & 22 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Bayview Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Bayview Hotel Singapore
Singapore City Bayview Hotel
City Bayview Singapore
Bayview Singapore
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing