We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel!! :)”
Review of 30 Bencoolen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
30 Bencoolen
Ranked #174 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I booked this hotel for our honeymoon in November 2012 (las month).. We arrived at the hotel at 8am (early flight). They're check in is at 2pm (yes... TWO PM) and check out is at 12pm. When i told the floor manager (Mr. Johnson), that it was our first honeymoon, he was kind enough to let us check in at 8am he also upgraded our room :) (said he didnt want us to have a grumpy start! :p).. There is no wifi except in the Lobby. So if u plan on using ur computer u need to carry a LAN cable that you can connect to the internet socket given in all the rooms. YES! there was construction happening on the street, but it didnt really bother us, we were on the 9th floor and the construction happend from 9am to around 7-8 in the evening (you'de prolly be out in the city during that time). Its very close to MRT - Bras Basah about 1-2 min walk. The food is quite expensive at the hotel, BUT there is a really big food court about 15-20 feet from the hotel, which is open 24/7, if you are a non-vegetarial, then i STRONGLY recommend you try the ATOM SANDWICH and CHICKEN CARBONARA at the ISTANBUL KOFTA STALL (And yes it is 100% ISLAMICALLY HALAL). The room has a steam iron box (great for crushed packed cloths), a standard mini refrigrator, laundry service, medium size roof top swimming pool and all the other basic stuff you get at a decent hotel. The staff is quite cheerful and very friendly. We requested for a late check out and they agreed for 3pm instead of 12pm, any further extra time in check out constitutes of 100 SGD per day. The breakfast is not so good as what you might expect from a hotel of this standard.

The rooms are all no smoking... however you can steal a smoke in the bathroom.. ;)
better safe yet.. request for a smoking room.. (if you dont wanna be caught doing that!)

There is an extra door to the room (that looks like a closet..) but it was an opening that connects the next room... for kinda like when your staying with kids etc.. its because of this door that sound can pass through to the other room easily... Luckily.. we had a single traveller staying next to us.. (guess he was the one with "noisy neighbour" issues!) :p

But over all its a nice place to stay at a decent price, and is perfectly located in the center of the city... easy for exploring on your own!

(and oh ya!... THERE IS NO "BAY - VIEW"...)

Apparently...

"There was a bay that you could see from the top floor, but since all the buildings came up the view was lost... however.. the name carried on!" - Mr. Johnson :-)

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the top floor (helps reduce the noise from the construction).. any thing from 9t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank javed_fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at 30 Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for choosing Bayview Hotel Singapore for your honeymoon in Singapore. We are grateful for your taking the time to share your constructive feedback with us here on TripAdvisor..

Your positive feedback on our room, the hotel’s location and our staff are very much appreciated that had met your expectation.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back for a memorable hotel experience with us soon.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 746 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

It's noisy as a MRT station is being constructed before hotel gate. It would be finished in 2017. But the service is good. It's 5 minute walking to the MRT. The breakfast is not good for the price. If you go there, you can eat something outside the hotel beside the MRT.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huang2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at 30 Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s been our honour to have you as our guest. We are most delighted to learn that you are happy with our service and location despite some disruption causing inconvenience from the MRT construction.

The MRT construction is part of Singapore upgrading to provide more connectivity for the residence as well as overseas visitors in the future. This MRT line is directly connected to Singapore Expo and Changi Airport.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. We hope the experiences you have had does not deter you from staying with us at Bayivew Hotel Singapore where I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hotels in Singapore is very expensive and during exhibition, it's even worse. We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights via Booking.com and we paid about SGD200/room/night (incl. service charge and GST) which inclusive of breakfast.

The room is bigger than average hotel room at similar room rate. There's no view from the room, other than windows of the opposite buildings. There's no WiFi in the room, but I have no problem connecting to the free internet via LAN network cable. During booking, we requested rooms with twin bed and our request was fulfilled. Upon check in, we asked if we could have connecting room, and again we were given one. The room looks a little worn out, but it's clean. All towers were clean and odorless. Other reviewers had complained about the noise from the construction in front of the hotel, but since our rooms were at the behind, we were not bothered by the noise, in fact we hardly hear any noise, even when we were having breakfast in the restaurant.

Breakfast was good. Although there were not many choices, but the quality was acceptable. We didn't encountered any cold food (other than food that's supposed to be cold) as experienced by other reviewers.

The location is what I like most about this hotel. Bras Basah MRT is just 2 minutes walk away. And next to the hotel, there's a food court with many choices, a fast food restaurant - Wendy's and a 7-Eleven Convenient Store. This hotel even offers free parking since we were driving down from Malaysia. We were there to attend an exhibition in Marina Sand Bay, so location is very important to us. And during booking, we couldn't find any other hotels offering better rate than this hotel, at this location.

I'd recommend this hotel to budget conscious travelers and I would definitely stay here again, as long as the rate is competitive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's at the rear of the hotel, so it's far from the construction in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelvinyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at 30 Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s been our honour to have you as our guest. We are most delighted to learn that you are happy with our facilities and hotel’s surrounding despite some disruption causing inconvenience from the MRT construction. Your recognition and encouragement will certainly motivate us in the hospitality industry to constantly pursue service excellence.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Our upgrading programme is in the pipeline in line with the MRT completion.

The team at Bayview Hotel Singapore joins me in extending our gratitude for your appreciation towards our effort in creating memorable hotel experiences.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Singapore and this was by far the worst. I was only going to be staying here for a few hours and I'm lucky that was the case. I was working until 3am and when I got to the room if i wasn't so tired I would have been straight down to complain.
I decided to leave the hotel at 9am because I just didn't want to be there anymore.

Instead of a double bed I got 2 singles, the carpet was dirty, the view was of a building site. The towels were dirty, they shower was even worse. After I got to sleep I was woken by a bang in the bathroom. When I went into check what it was a part had fallen off the bath. I have attached pictures.

I was woken again at 8am by the noise outside and decided to go for breakfast. Breakfast was only average,

There is a lot of work needs to be done to this hotel but I am not going to find out if it ever improves because I will not go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNK883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at 30 Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

We thank you for taking time to write in which allow us to address the shortcomings. As our valued guest, we appreciate tremendously your feedback and apologized for the inconvenience caused. This was indeed an oversight on our side and had addressed the issue to the department concerned.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Our upgrading programme is in the pipeline in line with the MRT completion. We hope that the experience you have had does not deter you from staying with us at Bayview Hotel Singapore.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two nights. The room and bathroom are clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, I really love their mashed potatoes. I was a bit disappointed that they don't have WiFi in the room, I had to sit at the lobby whenever I need WiFi. Luckily they have sofas in the lobby and the connection's quite fast.
There's a 7/11 store and a Kopitiam (24 hours diner) right beside the hotel. It is also very close to the Bras Basah MRT station and a bus stop. It took only a couple of MRT stops to get to some tourism spots like Merlion Park or China Town.
Another one of my disappointments is that there's an MRT construction right in front of the building. It wasn't noisy, but because of that, that part of the Bencoolen street is closed and the view from my room was cranes and tractors.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessahanindya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at 30 Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s been our honour to have you as our guest. We are most delighted to learn that you are happy with our facilities and hotel’s surrounding despite some disruption causing inconvenience from the MRT construction. Your recognition and encouragement will certainly motivate us in the hospitality industry to constantly pursue service excellence.

All our guest rooms come with free internet access with LAN cable obtainable from reception counter and wifi at lobby, café, swimming pool and function rooms.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back to Bayview Hotel Singapore

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 3days. I hate rooms with dirty carpet...and might have spotted a few fleas during our stay...but if you don't care then its a decent hotel very in the middle of the city.
oops one other thing...Ben Coolen street is until 2017 a big construction area, a new metro station is being built and guess what comes with those building activities....noise, a lot of noise. But if you don't care then its a decent hotel in the middle of the city...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at 30 Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for choosing Bayview Hotel Singapore for your holiday in Singapore and we appreciate your sharing the experience with us here on TripAdvisor. We are saddened to hear of your encounters at Bayview Hotel Singapore and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

On the construction in front of the hotel, we are working closely with the Authority to minimize the inconveniences. The MRT construction is part of Singapore upgrading to provide more connectivity for the residence as well as overseas visitors in the future. This MRT line is directly connected to Singapore Expo and Changi Airport.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. We hope the experiences you have had does not deter you from staying with us at Bayivew Hotel Singapore where I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel was clean, room was spacious, bathroom was average though the tub was chipping and showed signs of wear and tear. The staff were friendly and easy to talk to. The breakfast choices was good and varies every day. The location was good for walking around, the only downside was that there were construction around the area which made it hard to get to for taxi cabs so you will have to walk to a corner or wait until one finds its way around the detours. Eating spots were scattered and easy to walk to, 711 just across the small alley. Over all, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingPinayMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at 30 Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

It’s been our honour to have you as our guest. We are grateful for your taking the time to share your constructive feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. Your positive feedback on our room, the hotel’s location and our staff are very much appreciated and met your expectation.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back for a memorable hotel experience with us soon.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Mi
Hotel Mi
#155 of 317 in Singapore
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel G Singapore
Hotel G Singapore
#70 of 317 in Singapore
1,360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#67 of 317 in Singapore
6,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
#147 of 317 in Singapore
483 reviews
0 mi away
V Hotel Bencoolen
V Hotel Bencoolen
#152 of 317 in Singapore
1,411 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 30 Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 30 Bencoolen

Address: 30 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189621, Singapore (Formerly Bayview Hotel Singapore)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $105 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 30 Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Bencoolen offers a cool, contemporary ambience in an ideal central location in the arts and cultural district. Relax in a warmly decorated room a short walk from top attractions in Singapore such as the landmark National Museum and Singapore Art Museum. Family rooms for up to 4 guests are available, and the hotel’s personalised service benefits from technology like complimentary handy® smartphones. Enjoy casual all-day dining in our hip restaurant and gourmet coffees or chilled wines in the lounge bar. After a busy day, head up to the rooftop to unwind in the outdoor pool and spa tub. The hotel is a short stroll from 3 MRT stations. Bras Basah offers direct connections to Marina Bay’s striking, waterfront Esplanade – Theatres on the Bay, Suntec City Convention Centre and the Gardens by the Bay parks. Dhoby Ghaut sits near Plaza Singapura shopping centre, one of a host of upmarket malls on the famous Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your 30 Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Bayview Hotel Singapore
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Singapore City Bayview Hotel
City Bayview Singapore
Bayview Singapore
30 Bencoolen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing