We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Never again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayview Hotel Singapore - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayview Hotel Singapore - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #182 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Singapore and this was by far the worst. I was only going to be staying here for a few hours and I'm lucky that was the case. I was working until 3am and when I got to the room if i wasn't so tired I would have been straight down to complain.
I decided to leave the hotel at 9am because I just didn't want to be there anymore.

Instead of a double bed I got 2 singles, the carpet was dirty, the view was of a building site. The towels were dirty, they shower was even worse. After I got to sleep I was woken by a bang in the bathroom. When I went into check what it was a part had fallen off the bath. I have attached pictures.

I was woken again at 8am by the noise outside and decided to go for breakfast. Breakfast was only average,

There is a lot of work needs to be done to this hotel but I am not going to find out if it ever improves because I will not go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JNK883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We thank you for taking time to write in which allow us to address the shortcomings. As our valued guest, we appreciate tremendously your feedback and apologized for the inconvenience caused. This was indeed an oversight on our side and had addressed the issue to the department concerned.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Our upgrading programme is in the pipeline in line with the MRT completion. We hope that the experience you have had does not deter you from staying with us at Bayview Hotel Singapore.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    295
    242
    74
    42
See reviews for
159
240
71
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two nights. The room and bathroom are clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, I really love their mashed potatoes. I was a bit disappointed that they don't have WiFi in the room, I had to sit at the lobby whenever I need WiFi. Luckily they have sofas in the lobby and the connection's quite fast.
There's a 7/11 store and a Kopitiam (24 hours diner) right beside the hotel. It is also very close to the Bras Basah MRT station and a bus stop. It took only a couple of MRT stops to get to some tourism spots like Merlion Park or China Town.
Another one of my disappointments is that there's an MRT construction right in front of the building. It wasn't noisy, but because of that, that part of the Bencoolen street is closed and the view from my room was cranes and tractors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessahanindya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s been our honour to have you as our guest. We are most delighted to learn that you are happy with our facilities and hotel’s surrounding despite some disruption causing inconvenience from the MRT construction. Your recognition and encouragement will certainly motivate us in the hospitality industry to constantly pursue service excellence.

All our guest rooms come with free internet access with LAN cable obtainable from reception counter and wifi at lobby, café, swimming pool and function rooms.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back to Bayview Hotel Singapore

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 3days. I hate rooms with dirty carpet...and might have spotted a few fleas during our stay...but if you don't care then its a decent hotel very in the middle of the city.
oops one other thing...Ben Coolen street is until 2017 a big construction area, a new metro station is being built and guess what comes with those building activities....noise, a lot of noise. But if you don't care then its a decent hotel in the middle of the city...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing Bayview Hotel Singapore for your holiday in Singapore and we appreciate your sharing the experience with us here on TripAdvisor. We are saddened to hear of your encounters at Bayview Hotel Singapore and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

On the construction in front of the hotel, we are working closely with the Authority to minimize the inconveniences. The MRT construction is part of Singapore upgrading to provide more connectivity for the residence as well as overseas visitors in the future. This MRT line is directly connected to Singapore Expo and Changi Airport.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. We hope the experiences you have had does not deter you from staying with us at Bayivew Hotel Singapore where I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel was clean, room was spacious, bathroom was average though the tub was chipping and showed signs of wear and tear. The staff were friendly and easy to talk to. The breakfast choices was good and varies every day. The location was good for walking around, the only downside was that there were construction around the area which made it hard to get to for taxi cabs so you will have to walk to a corner or wait until one finds its way around the detours. Eating spots were scattered and easy to walk to, 711 just across the small alley. Over all, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingPinayMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
It’s been our honour to have you as our guest. We are grateful for your taking the time to share your constructive feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. Your positive feedback on our room, the hotel’s location and our staff are very much appreciated and met your expectation.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back for a memorable hotel experience with us soon.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is in a Good location. They have some MAJOR road works going on at the moment with the MRT being built in front of them. I requested a room with 2 single rooms be provided and when we arrived it was on the paperwork showing a 'twin' room so all was looking up. We get to the room and the Room is only 1 double bed. This was quickly fixed but not before the reception girl was heard laughing over the phone to the concierge. Once it was sorted and we were given the correct room we went to hook to the Wireless Internet only to find that WiFi only available in the reception area and NOT in your room. you can connect to Internet in your room only if your device has a ethernet slot (and you need to purchase a cable or BYO)

We were in a room over looking the MRT and we heard very little noise from them during our stay.

The Breakfast was included in our Room rate but be warned that the food is often cold (and we were there around 7am)

The receipt staff are VERY helpful however the room we were in was not the cleanest room you have seen. The shower door was broken and the corners were covered in scum

Overall The place is OK but it is WELL overpriced for what you get

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GOLDTOUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We thank you for taking time to write in which allow us to address the shortcomings. As our valued guest, we appreciate tremendously your feedback and apologized for the inconvenience caused. This was indeed an oversight on our side and had addressed the issue to the department concerned.

We take this service lapse seriously and the staff concerned had been counseled and disciplinary action had been taken against them to ensure such an incident will not recur in future. Spring cleaning is in progress.

All our guest rooms come with free internet access with LAN cable obtainable from reception counter and wifi at lobby, café, swimming pool and function rooms.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Our upgrading programme is in the pipeline in line with the MRT completion. We hope that the experience you have had does not deter you from staying with us at Bayview Hotel Singapore.

Once again, we thank you for your kind understanding in this matter and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This Hotel is an older style Hotel that is competing against the building of the MRT just outside its front door.I have to be honest and say that once inside the Hotel the construction work was never a problem for us.We did have one issue during our stay as our room was located next to some female students.I was young once and so we let them go at first but after the third night something had to be said.The young ladies at reception heard my concerns and offered several solutions,the end result was the students were packed up and moved with a warning.I was planning on complaining to the Hotel Manager but instead complimented his staff on how they handled the situation.Then there is Kumah and I hope I have remembered his name correctly,if not the young guy who likes Kit Kats.He is an asset to the Hotel,polite,quietly spoken and professional a real young gentleman.Overall a nice relaxed stay at this Hotel and sure its a little older in its style but it has lots of positive aspects as well like service,pool,breakfast,location and the guy who likes Kit Kits.

Room Tip: A room on the opposite side of MRT construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
It’s been our honour to have you as our guest. We are most delighted to note that our services and facilities met your expectation and that you have had a pleasant stay with us.

We will certainly share your kind compliments with our colleagues whom you have mentioned. Your recognition and encouragement will certainly motivate us in the hospitality industry to constantly pursue service excellence.

On behalf of the Management and Staff of Bayview Hotel Singapore, we thank you once again for your patronage and look forward to your continuous support.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Level Contributor
190 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Reception personnel were so good that they offered their top floor for me and my colleague who arrived on an early morning flight but room booked from the afternoon. Rooms are mediocre, food mediocre but in Singapore the rent seems to be moderate. Nearby shops offer products that could save u money.

Room Tip: Better be aware of the Bas Baarah MRT station , then u save a lot of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAS1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are most delighted to learn that you have had enjoyed the Bayview Experience with us and thank you for your sharing!

You may rest assured that the management will constantly look into areas of improvement to better serve our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a greater experience.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.0 mi away
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
#145 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
V Hotel Bencoolen
V Hotel Bencoolen
#171 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.2 mi away
BIG Hotel Singapore - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
0.2 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#107 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Singapore - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Singapore - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: Bayview Hotel Singapore - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: 30 Bencoolen Street Bayview Inn, Singapore 189621, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Hotel Singapore - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Fifteen-story Hotel located 4 km from train station & 22 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Bayview Hotel Singapore - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Bayview Hotel Singapore
Bayview Hotel Singapore - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Singapore City Bayview Hotel
City Bayview Singapore
Bayview Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing