We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for city trip tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Ranked #199 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed July 26, 2012

we went to singapore in the second part of our honeymoon after thiland, i was fascinated with this small country and people. we stayed in bayview hotel for 4 nights. my first impression was its a small old hotel, but after a while i really loved this hotel with it's friendly staff, all the singaporian people can speak english so the recieptionists helped us so much to tell us the directions of the attractions. the room was nice with a big glass window, the breakfast was good and the location is really nice and near of a bus station and a metro station, many shops, malls and super markets are around.
for a budget city trip nice hotel, viewbay is perfect for you :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Engy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
There are newer reviews for Bayview Hotel Singapore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 723 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

PROS:
My dad and I stayed here for 5 days and 4 nights. The location is excellent. It's near the Bras Basah station and bus stops. You can practically go anywhere. A 7-11 store and Kopitiam branch (food court) is right beside the hotel. These are open 24 hours.There is an ongoing MRT construction along Bencoolen Street which I think, makes the rates a lot cheaper compared to other hotels. The beds are super comfortable. The shower's awesome. My dad and I enjoyed the buffet breakfast. I only paid SGD753.28 for our entire stay which included buffet breakfast for 2 for 4 days, taxes and mastercard charge for SGD12.32.

The hotel's a walking distance to the following:
1. St. Peter's and Paul's cathedral
2. Cathedral of the Good sheperd
3. CHIJMES building
4. Fort Canning Park
5. Singapore Art Museum
6. Singapore National Museum
7. Singapore Management University (SMU) Park.
8. Bugis Village - a 20-30 minute walk. I actually just walked to get to this place. Just make sure you do it at night because it can get really hot and humid during the day.

CONS:
The bathroom door was busted. We can't close it. The receptionists should have additional training for customer service. When we checked out, I didn't even hear them say thank you or have a nice day considering that we stayed there for almost a week. They just handed my receipt and that's it.

TIPS:
If you arrive before the check in time (2pm), you can leave your luggage at the hotel. They will just issue a claim card. My dad and I also availed of the buffet dinner because we found it to be cheaper than dining outside. It just costs around SGD17-18.

Room Tip: When you make your reservation, make sure to indicate that you want a room that's away from the...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank RoxRocksYeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We spent 6 days in Singapore at the Bayview Hotel. The location is excellent as it's in easy walking distance to all downtown attractions (no more than 30 minutes) and if you're taking the MRT (subway system), the station is only a 3 minute walk. Fort Canning park and the art museum are two blocks away and the famous shopping Orchard Road is one block away also.

There is a buffet restaurant in the hotel (breakfast was included in our rate; dinner was 17SD). The breakfast buffet offered different kinds of eggs, bacon, breads, baked beans, chicken sausage, yogurt, fruit, salad, cereals, juices, rice or noodles, and a variety of Malay and Asian dishes. The coffee was very good and we found the breakfast sufficient until dinner. We did not have the dinner buffet. There is also a food court (Asian dishes) and a 7 Eleven next door.

They are building a subway station just beside the hotel and the construction begins at 9:00 AM and ends at 10:00 PM. We are light sleepers and thought the noise would be unbearable as we had room 804, facing the construction. Actually, we could hear the construction, but it never even interferred with watching TV. The loud people in the room next to ours were more bothersome!

The bed was comfortable with down pillows and comforter. The AC worked beautifully, especially in the Singapore summer heat. The bath shower had a strong stream and large head and enough room to put our toiletries. There was also another are that housed a mini fridge. That was very convenient for us to keep our own food and water cold.

The staff were very patient and helpful. We'd stay at Bayview again...even with the construction that isn't scheduled to finish until 2017.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MNtravelbugs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed at the Bayview hotel for a week in late May, construction was very heavy outside and would start early and end late.

Overall the location is excellent, 2 minutes from Bras Basah, beside a 7-Eleven, Kopitiam, Irish Pub, and Wendy's.

Service is average at best, they promised me an upgraded room when I checked in, but after 3 days of back and forth they 'clarified' that the upgraded room is just 2 floors up and has 2 smaller beds instead of 1 larger one...

When I left I had quite a bit of luggage and they ended up calling a cab for me that cost $50, which I later found it out is very expensive to go down the street in Singapore. I could have called two normal cabs instead and it would have cost $20-$25 max. in total.

Breakfast is OK, there is a decent selection with warm items but everything tastes like it has been reheated from a can.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel is OK for a short stay if you just need a room to sleep in Singapore. Location is quite good, although in June 2012 there were lot of construction works in the nearby streets. MRT Bras Basah is close (5 min walk). There is also good food center Kopitian close to the hotel. Room was very average, nothing special. We had to queye for the breakfast, and the breakfast was quite poor. Nothing good to say about the service in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaisa158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed for a week in this hotel due to us getting two joined rooms for 4 adults and 2 children. It offered the perfect comfort of the same and gave us benefit of being near to the Orchid road and two main metro stations i.e. Bras Basah, and Dhoby Guat. Food options are not that impressive but Kopitiam is a good facility offering variety of food 24 hr just outside the hotel. We all came happy with the stay.

Room Tip: Joined rooms best for families
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmritVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel is nicely located in the heart of the Singapore near Brassbaha station and nicely connected with city transport services.
Rooms are reasonable for the tariff, may be tariff is little higher for the facilities. Cleanliness of room and toilet was good but overall service was just average . May be good breakfast for Non veggies but truly a pathetic food for the vegetarians. Absolutely no options for he vegetarians.
Health club with pool is good to enjoy.
Overall it can be a good option if the tariff is slightly lower.
They have good option for connected rooms if you travelling with group.

Room Tip: Avoid taking rooms on road side due to construction of Metro station lot of sound pollution is there...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.0 mi away
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
#150 of 316 in Singapore
460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bencoolen - Bencoolen Street
0.0 mi away
V Hotel Bencoolen
V Hotel Bencoolen
#158 of 316 in Singapore
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Somerset Bencoolen
Somerset Bencoolen
#114 of 316 in Singapore
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.4 mi away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 316 in Singapore
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Singapore

Address: 30 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189621, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $147 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Hotel Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Hotel Singapore shall be closed for major renovation from 25 Sep 2016 till mid July 2017. Contemporary Fifteen-story Hotel located 4 km from train station & 22 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Bayview Hotel Singapore
Singapore City Bayview Hotel
City Bayview Singapore
Bayview Singapore
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing