We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well-located corporate hotel, mixed bag of good & bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amara Singapore Hotel
Ranked #78 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well-located corporate hotel, mixed bag of good & bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

I've stayed at the Amara a couple of times due to it's proximity to the central business district - it's a short walk to our local offices in Singapore.

Reception is efficient, and by & large the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms tends to be small but with everything required in a corporate sort of way, though the bathroom on my last visit was in need of a refit, with unpleasant gurgling from a drain every time someone in a neighbouring room used their bathroom - which was quite disturbing in the night. On my last visit I also had the misfortune of having a room by the lift shaft and ventilation shaft - the noise was extremely annoying at night, and I couldn't be relocated as the hotel was full. Take ear plugs!

The breakfast room is also chaotic when the hotel is full - there simply isn't enough space to fit everyone in, despite it having a good selection of food to choose from. Stand up to go to the buffet and you can come back to find your seat taken!

One good aspect to the hotel in the pool area, several floors up. It may be overlooked by nieghbouring blocks of flats, but it has enough atmosphere of it's own to really unwind in at the end of the working day.

There are some excellent restaurants within the hotel, though these are expensive, but offer plenty of choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTrevLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    654
    241
    84
    62
See reviews for
231
317
121
676
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed in Amara for 1 week, husband was there for conference.

The best of this hotel is the executive lounge, as we stayed in the executive level, we entitled to use the lounge. They serve breakfast here, same as on the ground floor, but less busier; they also serve cocktails between 6pm to 8pm, so if you get hungry, you can fill up here with simple snacks like bread roll, salad, soup, sushi etc, before went out for some chilly crabs.

The hotel is on walking distance to ChinaTown, and Maxwell food court. A few restaurants on the ground floor as well.
And there is a market just opposite, a lot of cheap stuffs, like children books, just 1 Singapore dollar. so ladies if you have lot of free time during the day like me, this is the place to kill time.

Downside of the hotel, as many people said, it's a bit age. But the most annoy thing has to be they do not provide hair conditioner. Because I bought tones of souvenirs start from the 1st day, I just don't have extra space(luggage allowance) for the big bottle of the conditioner. If I know it initially, I would brought the travel size toiletry with me from home.
We stayed in Orchard Road Hotel last year, they are old as well, but they provide everything.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiouskitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights at the Amara in end July and was upgraded to a suite, which was much appreciated. The Amara is a typical business hotel which is showing its age. The furniture in the rooms is clearly old, the bath rooms look 20 years old and the TVs are of the old tube-types. Service is good although the attendants at the coffee-shop for breakfast were not helpful at all. After being shown a table, they seated someone else at my table whilst I was at the buffet - upon returning and pointing this out to the staff, they asked me to relocate somewhere else....

If you are on business in the area, Amara and M International are equally good (or poor) and you should pick the hotel only if you wish to stay within walking distance of your office.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sambakongen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Dear Sambakongen

Greetings and thank you choosing Amara Singapore as your preferred choice of accommodation.

In our continual strive towards service excellence, please be assured that the Management takes a serious view with regards to all feedback and comments received as they help us continually monitor and upgrade the quality of our service.

We have noted your feedback pertaining to conditions of the hotel and service standards. Please be assured that your valuable comments on the said matters have been taken into consideration.

We hope that we will be given another opportunity to better serve you.

We look forward to your kind and continued support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

We booked Amara from the airport, knowing little about it and not having visited Singapore for some years. We found it to be good value for money, very close to the interesting areas of Chinatown and very comfortable, (without claiming to be luxurious). Most impressive was the excellent service, with the concierge able to recommend an "untouristy" restaurant and the manager allowing us to check out at 4.30 for no extra charge, which made our night flight home much more bearable. Nice pool area too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

It really is a good business hotel. Family or holiday makers, well, I'd probably stay away from this hotel as it is very geared towards business travelers (at least to me). The problem is the room isn't as nice. The ambience wasn't there... the lobby sure looks good but I think the rooms will need to be renovated at some point. There wasn't anything bad about it really but things just look very outdated. The bathrooms in particular need to be upgraded.

Location wise, it's just 10-min walk to Tanjong Pagar MRT station which will pretty much take you everywhere in Singapore. It's conveniently located next to a community mall as well.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infernalman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
153 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

The Amara is a bit of a gem. Considerably cheaper than the Orchard Road hotels but with almost the same facilities; its less-affluent location is the only thing I've rated lower. The staff are very friendly and service, particularly housekeeping, is fast. Breakfast is a little chaotic due to small room size, but the food is good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Location:
Location is great. Close to MRT, shopping and cheap dining. The hotel is in the same building as a shopping centre, making it very easy to buy take-away and other necessities. Across the street is a super-market, which we used to stock up on breakfast and drinks. There are several restaurants in the neighbourhood and at the hotel as well.

Rooms:
The hotel room has a good size. The 30 m2 they refer to on their webpage must be inclusive of the bathroom though. The bed is hard, but we slept very nicely in it. The pillows are great. The room is very silent – we couldn’t hear any noise from the hallway, the other rooms or from the outside.

Bathrooms:
The bathroom has both a tub and a shower, which we liked. The pressure on the water was fine. The bathroom in it self looked at bit tired. It was kept clean everyday; however, the glasses was not replaced only washed and left for drying in the room.

Business centre:
A major down side! We found it hard to understand, why this would be a preferred business hotel. Internet in the room is really expensive 29 dollar pr. 24 hours! Printing in the business centre is even more ex-pensive, charging 2 SG-dollar pr. printed copy. As I had to print 40 pages for a conference, with print on both sides, that was 40x2x2 dollar – 160 dollar for 40 prints!!! I complained to the manager and got a reduced price, yet still expensive, so printing at this hotel is not recommendable.

Room service:
We had room service a couple of times, prices were a bit high as one could expect, but noting extraordinary and the food was great! The minibar was very expensive and the items (usual coke, beer etc) was dusty and very dirty - it obviously hadn't been cleaned for some time.

Laundry:
There is a self-laundry on 8th floor where it is possible to wash and dry clothes. Though we didn’t use it, I appreciated the opportunity. We primarily used the self-laundry for ironing.

Staying with a toddler:
We stayed with a toddler and he was giving lots of smiles and ‘highfives’ from the staff. We felt welcome and had no trouble. The hotel is however not designed for children, but you can get by without problems. The hotel supplied us with a portable cot, where our son slept ‘like a baby’ for the 10 days we stayed there. The hotel restaurants have high chairs as well. One thing that might cause a problem to other families with kids is that the television does not show any kids channels.

In sum a fine hotel but nothing outstanding. If we found a great deal, we might stay there again, but otherwise we would probably look another more family and internet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedanishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Carlton City Hotel Singapore
0.1 mi away
Oasia Hotel Downtown, Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.1 mi away
M Hotel Singapore
M Hotel Singapore
#87 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dorsett Singapore
Dorsett Singapore
#82 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Hotel
Orchid Hotel
#91 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Furama City Centre
Furama City Centre
#69 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Singapore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Singapore Hotel

Property: Amara Singapore Hotel
Address: 165 Tanjong Pagar Road Amara Singapore, Singapore 088539, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#48 Business Hotel in Singapore
#61 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#71 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Singapore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Singapore is conveniently located within a few minutes' walk to Tanjong Pagar MRT station, in the heart of Central Business District. This business hotel is a short stroll to the quaint historical Chinatown and just minutes away from Singapore's new integrated resorts at Marina Bay and Sentosa Island. Singapore's famed Orchard Road shopping district is easily accessible within 10 minutes. The hotel's 392 rooms are designed in a minimalist concept complemented by facilities to pamper both business and leisure guests. Our column-free Grand Ballroom with a 500 auditorium seating capacity as well as four function rooms can be customized for events of all scales, from banquets and corporate events to meetings and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Singapore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Amara Hotel
Amara Hotel Singapore
Amara Singapore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing