We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow ,wow, wow”
Review of Amara Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amara Singapore
Ranked #79 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
phillip island australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Wow ,wow, wow”
Reviewed December 3, 2009

What a delight this hotel was.
Great service and lovely staff that were competent and efficient . The room were lovely and great comfy beds. Absolutely fabulous resturants, I think there were 5 each with a different cuisine. Great seafood smorgie available ,which was just exceptional value . The pool was really lovely and clean with a great garden around it. Our stay was truelly enjoyable and I cant wait to return. The business centre was very good and efficiently run for a small charge. The staff in the reception couldnt do enough for us and it also has an inexpensive shopping centre including nice resturants as part of the complex. This hotel was very affordable and good value

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillipislandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NgPeiLing, Marketing & Communications Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, December 11, 2009
Dear Sir/Madam from Phillip Island Australia,
Thank you for choosing Amara Singapore. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments will be conveyed to all our associates whom we are sure will be greatly motivated by your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to Amara Singapore upon your next visit.
Warmest regards
Ng Pei Ling (Ms)
Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    709
    262
    90
    71
See reviews for
269
352
133
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Wow, a nice hotel in a good location. Clean rooms with all the ncecessary facilities and the bathroom was big and nice. A nice swimming pool and a good lobby area. The service was great, because we had children the hotel allowed us to check in early and checkout really late the next day. The service was great and the location was easy access to all the areas. We even walked from the train station to the hotel. Thank you folks at the Amara...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyroneBeironTay, Marketing Communication Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, November 12, 2009
We are delighted to hear your comments and have shared these with our people. Travelling with children do require a little extra care and we are happy to show we understand. You did not mention about the excellent Korean and Thai restaurants we have, which may have brought you back memories of your travels there. Please let your Nepali friends know us too and we look forward to welcoming all of you here. Namaste!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Nice and expensive hotel :) with a swimming pool on the 6 floor the stuff is good clean rooms

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MonikaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyroneBeironTay, Marketing Communication Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, October 19, 2009
Thank you, MonikaJ for your review; we do hope you enjoyed your stay. If you meant "expensive" as in looks and cleanliness, we could not agree with you more! Our prices are more than competitive in Singapore - we really known for giving great value. We hope you will come by this way again and look forward to welcoming you back safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We booked this hotel via internet due to its convenient location and reputation. Yet, I am disappointed. Despite the great location (5 min. walk to MRT, 3 min. to shopping center and local market), we did not get a warm welcome from front desk staff. When room change was requested for non-smoking one, a bell boy came up only to exchange the new key room and escort us to the elevator door. He did not even bother offering helping out with our luggage which I had trouble handling them. I feel they did not have service mind at all. Is it because we got special rate through internet and so we receive inferior service to others?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula_Jeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyroneBeironTay, Marketing Communication Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, October 6, 2009
We can understand your disappointment based on the experience you described; we have shared your comments with the relevant executives and persons concerned. A hotel's pluses are certainly more than just its geographic convenience and we do take pride in our service standards; because of that, where do appear to fall short, it matters a great deal to us and your objective feedback is an invaluable tool to help us get back to that level of service we care so much about. We hope to welcome you back still, and if you are heading this way, you can be sure we've improved on these areas, too. Thank you, again, and travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 548 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I only stayed here for a night with someone as i needed to leave for Batam Island early next morning. Didn't get to enjoy the hotel facilities much but overall a comfortable stay i say. A nicely situated hotel near clubbing and dining areas.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank benakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyroneBeironTay, Marketing Communication Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, September 23, 2009
Thank you for posting your review on us; we are glad you found our location convenient, particularly if you are getting the ferry service from the southern marina or harbourfront. Hopefully, your next pitstop here will allow you to enjoy our facilities more. Travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Near to the financial hub at Tanjong Pagar. Good connectivity of teh MRT(trains) to Raffel and other areas. Not much Indian Food. But one can find that near to the place just ask the reception

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyroneBeironTay, Marketing Communication Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, September 21, 2009
Thank you for agreeing with us and many other guests we serve to place us as a good business hotel, which is very much our positioning, too. If you chance to return here, please try the handmade prata (flat bread) with curry at the cafe located by the lobby. This is one of several Indian dishes we have available and we will look into serving up more in due time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Forget breakfast it is 3 star, burnt greasy bacon, chicken nuggets labled as sausages, no pork sausages, despite having bacon ( so the no pork excuse does not fly) no yoghurts, and juice that tastes like water. Service is just as bad I asked for coffee 3 times, when it was eventually served it was typical burnt Kona coffee.
Vietnames restaurant had rats running around outside.( authentic??)
rooms very dated 90s style, old small TVs, no luggage racks, worn carpets, swimming pool has no atmosphere and the sound and smell of the hotel extract system does not add to it. Pool tiles cracked, towels thin, and worn out.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliverstaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyroneBeironTay, Marketing Communication Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, September 23, 2009
We are looking into your comments and have sent a personal message to you for more details while we investigate the matter. Please do reply to our message so that we can take any suitable positive action where your claims can be verified. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
M Hotel Singapore
#76 of 315 in Singapore
1,530 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#88 of 315 in Singapore
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 315 in Singapore
1,546 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Singapore

Property: Amara Singapore
Address: 165 Tanjong Pagar Road, Singapore 088539, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#48 Business Hotel in Singapore
#61 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#73 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Singapore is conveniently located within a few minutes' walk to Tanjong Pagar MRT station, in the heart of Central Business District. This business hotel is a short stroll to the quaint historical Chinatown and just minutes away from Singapore's new integrated resorts at Marina Bay and Sentosa Island. Singapore's famed Orchard Road shopping district is easily accessible within 10 minutes. The hotel's 392 rooms are designed in a minimalist concept complemented by facilities to pamper both business and leisure guests. Our column-free Grand Ballroom with a 500 auditorium seating capacity as well as four function rooms can be customized for events of all scales, from banquets and corporate events to meetings and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Amara Hotel
Amara Hotel Singapore
Amara Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing