We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn out hotel”
Review of Amara Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amara Singapore
Ranked #71 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I stayed for little more than a week at the Amara in week 27/28, travelling for work to Singapore. I choosed an "executive" room and got one on the 12th floor. The hotel was extremely conveniently located for me as I had to work at several places around Shenton way and could anywhere by walk. However, I have extremely dispointed of the hotel room compared their pricing. While rooms are of adequate size they seem not to have been renovated for decades. The ceiling of batroom was falling down and you could see at several places mushrooms on the painting. Everything was quite dirty (windows, doors, mirror, bath) and was not consistently cleaned during my stay. Plumber need to refurbishement also as the sink took ages to empty ... The desk was burned on several places. Restaurant with buffet is ok, but nothing compared to the ones at the Marriot for instance (at an equivalent price). In any case, I will not come back to this hotel up untill they undertake major renovations.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTheRoadAgainOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyroneBeironTay, Marketing Communication Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2009

Thank you for your comments; we are sorry you experienced what seemed like a "tired" interior. The hotel's executive suites you used were recently refurbished by internationally acclaimed hospitality design firm. Any guest who does feel as disappointed as you did should have sought assistance to allow us to rectify these perceptions, for the conditions you described are serious. We have physically checked the rooms at level 12 and found none of which you described. With respect to the international buffet at the cafe, while we respect your opinion, we need to point out that both cafes were running different buffet spreads featuring other choices and may not be "like" to "like". We love to hear from you and invite you to write me via this site to allow us to extend our regrets and ensure that your next visit with us will prove to be a significantly better experience. Safe travel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,554 - 1,560 of 1,846 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2009

Well kept hotel. Comfortable, quiet, and clean rooms. Close to transportation- subway and buses and close to shopping. They have a pool but I did not get to go in it because I was too busy exploring Singapore!! Very nice overall!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrich00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Amara is one of the best hotels i have stayed in singapore and its a business hotel and located in the CBD and also located near to the Tanjong pagar MRT. the night life around the hotel is very good and you can also get good western food around the area in some places as the hotel is located near the shopping complex and you will get some good food and wine. i stayed during the christmas season and they also provided a bottle of wine to the all customers during their stay :)

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank koolguysg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Check-in: hassle-free; bonus - upon seeing my daughter, they offered to give an extra bed free of charge; another bonus - agreed to a late check-out, again, free of charge

Room: spacious, clean, and was clearly ready for us; the bathroom came with a decent tub but the separate shower cubicle was a bit small; drawback - no cable

Amenities: loved the feel of the pool; gym was so-so, not very well-thought out and did not have any trainers at all; i was itching to have a massage after a long and tiring day but the spa is only good until 8pm, which is quite too early

Staff: great front desk lady (who gave us the free bed); very attentive doormen - they are there even before the need arises; reliable housekeeping

Location: a stone throw away from the Tanjong Pagar MRT station, very accessible; the hotel is connected to a mall

Check-out: smooth as the check-in; no extra hidden charges

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManFromTheEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

I stay every month in this hotel, since it is close to my office. The hotel is clean, with a good pool and a small gym. .MRT line is a short walk away, and China town about a 10 min walk away. Staff are friendly, there are a number of good restaurants in the hotel, and a shopping mall next door. Wireless is available (for a cost, or free, depending on your room package). Only 2 minor negatives, 1 the air cond is sometimes too high (and when turned down, does not go down all the time), 2 no body cream in the amentities in the room (but you can get it if you ask reception).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

very good hotel
reasonably priced and convenient location
one can walk in ten minutes from here to china town and to shopping centres like funan etc
great breakfast very sumptuous with good omlettes that chef makes the way u want them too
large spread which indians will enjoy
they have anice restuarant as well in case one waNTS TO EAT IN THE HOTEL BUT WHEN IN SINGAPORE DPO EAT OUT AT THE CLARK OR RIVE QUOY OR AT SUNTEC CITY ETC

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nizocold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We stayed in the Amara several times during out 6 week tour of the Far East as we used Singapore as a base. Each time we were greeted well, and the rooms are great. Nice and roomy, bathroom had bathtub and separate shower unit. Free internet, including wireless in the bedrooms. We didn't eat there but plenty of cheap places just outside. Opposite the hotel and slightly to the right is a market. Upstairs are cheap hawkers. Breakfast there was great. Otherwise Maxwell Road Food Market just 5 minutes walk away has plenty of choice. Chinatown is walkable, though the bus will also take you there and into town. The MRT station is just 2 minutes walk away. Altogether a good and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenbeanpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
M Hotel Singapore
#123 of 317 in Singapore
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsett Singapore
#89 of 317 in Singapore
951 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 317 in Singapore
1,262 reviews
Orchid Hotel
#93 of 317 in Singapore
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Singapore

Address: 165 Tanjong Pagar Road, Singapore 088539, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#48 Business Hotel in Singapore
#61 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#65 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $133 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Singapore is conveniently located within a few minutes' walk to Tanjong Pagar MRT station, in the heart of Central Business District. This business hotel is a short stroll to the quaint historical Chinatown and just minutes away from Singapore's new integrated resorts at Marina Bay and Sentosa Island. Singapore's famed Orchard Road shopping district is easily accessible within 10 minutes. The hotel's 392 rooms are designed in a minimalist concept complemented by facilities to pamper both business and leisure guests. Our column-free Grand Ballroom with a 500 auditorium seating capacity as well as four function rooms can be customized for events of all scales, from banquets and corporate events to meetings and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Amara Hotel
Amara Hotel Singapore
Amara Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing