We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a good hotel at Tanjong Pagar”
Review of Amara Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amara Singapore
Ranked #67 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Check-in: hassle-free; bonus - upon seeing my daughter, they offered to give an extra bed free of charge; another bonus - agreed to a late check-out, again, free of charge

Room: spacious, clean, and was clearly ready for us; the bathroom came with a decent tub but the separate shower cubicle was a bit small; drawback - no cable

Amenities: loved the feel of the pool; gym was so-so, not very well-thought out and did not have any trainers at all; i was itching to have a massage after a long and tiring day but the spa is only good until 8pm, which is quite too early

Staff: great front desk lady (who gave us the free bed); very attentive doormen - they are there even before the need arises; reliable housekeeping

Location: a stone throw away from the Tanjong Pagar MRT station, very accessible; the hotel is connected to a mall

Check-out: smooth as the check-in; no extra hidden charges

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManFromTheEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,652 - 1,658 of 1,946 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2009

I stay every month in this hotel, since it is close to my office. The hotel is clean, with a good pool and a small gym. .MRT line is a short walk away, and China town about a 10 min walk away. Staff are friendly, there are a number of good restaurants in the hotel, and a shopping mall next door. Wireless is available (for a cost, or free, depending on your room package). Only 2 minor negatives, 1 the air cond is sometimes too high (and when turned down, does not go down all the time), 2 no body cream in the amentities in the room (but you can get it if you ask reception).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

very good hotel
reasonably priced and convenient location
one can walk in ten minutes from here to china town and to shopping centres like funan etc
great breakfast very sumptuous with good omlettes that chef makes the way u want them too
large spread which indians will enjoy
they have anice restuarant as well in case one waNTS TO EAT IN THE HOTEL BUT WHEN IN SINGAPORE DPO EAT OUT AT THE CLARK OR RIVE QUOY OR AT SUNTEC CITY ETC

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nizocold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We stayed in the Amara several times during out 6 week tour of the Far East as we used Singapore as a base. Each time we were greeted well, and the rooms are great. Nice and roomy, bathroom had bathtub and separate shower unit. Free internet, including wireless in the bedrooms. We didn't eat there but plenty of cheap places just outside. Opposite the hotel and slightly to the right is a market. Upstairs are cheap hawkers. Breakfast there was great. Otherwise Maxwell Road Food Market just 5 minutes walk away has plenty of choice. Chinatown is walkable, though the bus will also take you there and into town. The MRT station is just 2 minutes walk away. Altogether a good and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenbeanpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We only had one night in Singapore on a layover from Malaysia to USA. We decided to treat ourselves to a 'nice' hotel since we generally stay in small guesthouses/hostels.

We arrived at 5pm and the room wasn't ready yet (even though we had made an advance reservation). When we were allowed in the room it reeked of cigarette smoke. We asked the front desk if we could change rooms as we are both non-smokers and they told us there were only single bed rooms available for non-smoking.

For the price we paid (around $215 US) it was an terrible waste of money because we couldn't even enjoy hanging out in the room. It literally smelled worse than most bars I've been too that allow smoking.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Amara a few years ago, and were a bit nervous that our expectations would be too high going back again. But we decided to end our holiday in Australia with a break in Singapore on the way back to the UK, and arranged another Singapore Stopover Holiday (from Singapore Airlines) here.

We were disappointed on arrival to find that we had been allocated a twin room, and were told that there was no double room available that night but we would be moved the next day. When we returned from dinner that night we were chatting to a friendly staff member in the foyer and mentioned that we were to be moved, and he said to wait a moment and he would see if he could arrange anything and upgraded us to a suite immediately. The shower was enormous!

The Balinese style swimming pool on the sixth floor is wonderful, especially for swimming at night. The gym is fine, and the spa is lovely (although not cheap).

The staff here are almost universally friendly and can't do enough to make your stay pleasant. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BelfastAussie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

The hotel is very close to a Tanjong Pagar MRT station, so we used the metro a lot. The hotel is modern and as far as I could tell no major signs of aging in the rooms or elsewhere. Rooms had great lighting, marble tile in bathroom (separate bath and shower was great!). The mattresses were very firm and a highlight of our stay. The AC worked well (not always the case in Singapore hotels!), and there was tasteful art on the walls. The rooftop pool was on the cooler side and was always very quiet, but our kids had fun swimming. Breakfast was adequate (included in our rate) but was the same every day, so by day 4 we were ready to go home and eat something different. This being said they did serve roti paratha for breakfast which is unusual. Other small areas of needing improvement: no TV channels for kids to watch, the fridge wasn't very cold, view not so good from 9th floor, and some of the linens were stained.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jogjacrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
M Hotel Singapore
#118 of 317 in Singapore
1,723 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 317 in Singapore
1,287 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#88 of 317 in Singapore
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Singapore

Address: 165 Tanjong Pagar Road Amara Singapore, Singapore 088539, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#48 Business Hotel in Singapore
#60 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $128 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Singapore is conveniently located within a few minutes' walk to Tanjong Pagar MRT station, in the heart of Central Business District. This business hotel is a short stroll to the quaint historical Chinatown and just minutes away from Singapore's new integrated resorts at Marina Bay and Sentosa Island. Singapore's famed Orchard Road shopping district is easily accessible within 10 minutes. The hotel's 392 rooms are designed in a minimalist concept complemented by facilities to pamper both business and leisure guests. Our column-free Grand Ballroom with a 500 auditorium seating capacity as well as four function rooms can be customized for events of all scales, from banquets and corporate events to meetings and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Amara Hotel
Amara Hotel Singapore
Amara Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing