We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but I expected better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amara Singapore Hotel
Ranked #76 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good, but I expected better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed here on business trip for 3 nights. Had a great deal, and that might be the reason that the room was not that great. I guess that this was one of the rooms that had not been renovated as yet. I could clearly see the wear and tear, and it is about time my room got renovated. It all worked, but not a great experience. Beds were pretty hard (which I do not like).
Next time I will stay next door again at the Carlton City.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAO1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for the valuable feedback.

We would like to assure you that we take your feedback seriously and are constantly improving our rooms and facilities to meet our guests’ expectations.

We value your patronage and certainly hope that you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to Amara Singapore.

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    658
    242
    84
    62
See reviews for
234
320
122
679
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

In the past several months my guests Mr. Mark Newbold and Mr Mark Schiller and some of my other staff have been guests in the Amara Hotel
The service provided to me and my guests has been very much appreciated and of a very high standard and we all appreciate that

Room Tip: Higher floors have less Aircon noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonAnderson495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Greetings from Amara Singapore!

There is no greater satisfaction than to receive kind words from our valued guests.

The entire team is encouraged by your generous compliment and will endeavour to deliver the highest service standards.

Please visit us soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to Amara Singapore.

Best Regards,
The Management Team Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I had stayed at Amara Hotel twice before and it was great. The property had undergone much reno and upgrading and it is even better now. Some slight annoyance encountered during my recent stay at their deluxe room which didn't make my stay that great.

First, the bathroom necessities were not complete - small square face/hand towels and glass mugs for brushing were missing. There was also no drinking glasses in the mini bar cabinet I rang the housekeeping and a service staff came promptly to send 2 drinking glasses of different sizes, and then a housekeeper came along with the 2 square towels and 1 hand towel and I asked for the glass mugs for brushing and she said they are "out of stock"!!

I thanked her and told her these are standard items expected of a 4 or 5 -star property.

I must say the breakfast was great with a good spread of food. Among other food, I found the roti prata with vegetable curry was great. The place was overcrowded with people on a Sunday morning.

The adjacent shopping mall with the shops and eateries are worth checking out.

Great hotel to stay.

Room Tip: City view is better in my opinion. Try to avoid room with afternoon sun if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for the valuable feedback.

We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed the sumptuous buffet spread.

We would like to assure you that we take your feedback seriously and are constantly improving our rooms and facilities to meet our guests’ expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Amara Singapore soon!

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

They know your name. They know your beverage. They greet you as VIP and treat each customer with utmost respect. Access to first class fitness facility. Laundry service. Makes the trip away from home more pleasant and appreciated. Convenient location adjacent to shopping and food. Easy access. Ballet studio close (Reality Center) with drop in classes.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CashPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for choosing Amara Singapore as your preferred choice of accommodation.

The entire team is encouraged by your generous compliment and we endeavour to deliver the highest service standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Amara Singapore soon.

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed at the Club Floor at Amara Hotel Singapore recently. The service at the Club Floor was very warm, hospitable and personal. The room was rather spacious. The breakfast and evening cocktails were also very good. There was a wide selection and the food was rather nice. Location was important to us as it was located in the CBD and within a few minutes walk to the MRT station. There were ample restaurants within the Hotel and the surrounding area. A mall sits conveniently next to the Hotel. The real draw is the excellent service on the Club Floor! We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for your generous compliment.

Your compliment on the Club Floor is a great encouragement for the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Amara Singapore once again!

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I have stayed at the amara singapore in the club floor room. The room is very relaxing and personaly I love the bath tab in the room so that I could have a nice long relaxing time before I go bed. Moreover the club lunge offered breakfast and evening cocktail time with fantastic staff service. I really enjoyed their hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank june73k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for the generous compliment. It is our utmost pleasure to receive compliments from our valued guests like your goodself.

We are thrilled to know that you had a “bubbling good time” in our Club Room and our service staff was able to provide you with a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Amara Singapore soon!

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I recently stayed at the Amara Singapore in a Club Floor room and the experience was fantastic.The room was very spacious, the Club offered a great selection for breakfast & evening appetizers along with very personable service by the staff. The location of the hotel was another selling point with convenient walking distance to a variety of outside dining options and a mall next door.I would definitely recommend this hotel to other business travelers.

Room Tip: Club floor rooms are worth the extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for the generous compliment and recommendation.

We are delighted that your stay in our Club Room had been pleasant and you enjoyed the breakfast and evening canapés served in the Club Lounge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Amara Singapore soon!

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Carlton City Hotel Singapore
0.1 mi away
Oasia Hotel Downtown, Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.1 mi away
M Hotel Singapore
M Hotel Singapore
#88 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dorsett Singapore
Dorsett Singapore
#84 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Hotel
Orchid Hotel
#92 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Furama City Centre
Furama City Centre
#70 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Singapore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Singapore Hotel

Property: Amara Singapore Hotel
Address: 165 Tanjong Pagar Road Amara Singapore, Singapore 088539, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#48 Business Hotel in Singapore
#61 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#69 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Singapore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Singapore is conveniently located within a few minutes' walk to Tanjong Pagar MRT station, in the heart of Central Business District. This business hotel is a short stroll to the quaint historical Chinatown and just minutes away from Singapore's new integrated resorts at Marina Bay and Sentosa Island. Singapore's famed Orchard Road shopping district is easily accessible within 10 minutes. The hotel's 392 rooms are designed in a minimalist concept complemented by facilities to pamper both business and leisure guests. Our column-free Grand Ballroom with a 500 auditorium seating capacity as well as four function rooms can be customized for events of all scales, from banquets and corporate events to meetings and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Singapore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Amara Hotel
Amara Hotel Singapore
Amara Singapore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing