We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite hotel in Singapore” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amara Singapore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amara Singapore Hotel
Ranked #77 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“My Favourite hotel in Singapore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel since 2002 and i really enjoy the Hospitality and the personal service. i stay here bout 5to 10 times a year. It seems that many of the staff working at Amara you will find have been working there for many years- It is nice to arrive and be greeted personally by my name- i guess i am a regular. The staff seem to go out of there way to give you what you want. I like staying in the club lounge on the 17th floor. They have a great pool and Gym. Also handy that there is a supermarket next door and across the road- many eating places next door as well as the Amara Restaurants in the hotel. The MRT is just around the corner so handy to get to hotel. It is close to down town and does not have the overcrowded feel of Down Town. It is in the business district which i like and is convenient for me.

Room Tip: Club Rooms on 17th and 18th floor is good. I also like Level 6 which is close to the pool however ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Greetings from Amara Singapore!


Thank you for the compliment. It is with great pleasure to extend our warmest welcome to Amara Singapore each time.

We are also delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay and found our hotel’s location convenient for your travels.

Please do come back again and we look forward to creating more memorable experiences for you.

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    578
    220
    79
    61
See reviews for
184
273
107
615
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Staying at the Amara is a very rewarding experience. The staff in all areas pay attention to your every need and go out of there way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They become like an extended family, easy to talk to and share your experiences throughout the day. When I finally left to move into an apt. it was hard because I miss the interaction that I had with the staff at breakfast in the morning and at happy hour in the evening. They were all special people and look forward to seeing them again. I would recommend staying at the Amara to anyone wanting a good experience when visiting Singapore.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the staff on the higher rooms and there seems to be less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wm1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for the generous compliment and recommendation.

We are truly delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and our service team was able to make you feel right at home.

Please do come back again and we look forward to creating more memorable experiences for you.

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I had stayed 3 nights at Club Floor. The manager of Club Floor is very friendly and knows what hotel guests need. Serving breakfast at Club Floor was excellent for busy people, we could had enogh and satisfied meal in quick arrangement. It is worth to stay Club floor with little additional fee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sodapopdx812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your preferred accommodation.

We are glad that you have enjoyed staying with us. There are a couple of vegetarian restaurants around Tanjong Pagar. Let us know and we will be able to recommend them to you during your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great location from my perspective. Shopping mall connected and Access to all local banks across at Tanjong Pagar Plaza and barely 100 meters from Tanjong Pagar MRT makes it an ideal choice. Bathrooms in rooms need a bit of upgrade.
Menu of food on offer is very limited due to the fact I am Vegetarian.
Overall a comfortable place stay.

Room Tip: Book 14 days before you travel as rates are better. Try club room as they have offers on Fand B plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MohitMehrotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your preferred accommodation.

We are glad that you have enjoyed staying with us. There are a couple of vegetarian restaurants around Tanjong Pagar. Let us know and we will be able to recommend them to you during your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Amara Hotel, Tangong Pagar Road is a great hotel and perfectly placed to get to all places with the MRT close by and buses connecting to Vivo City and Sentosa. There are numerous restaurants and bars within the hotel to appeal to all tastes but also close to hawkers bazaars and shops.
The Club floor is great for business users with cocktails and canapés in evening and a more quieter place for breakfast. The Club staff go out of their way and personalise the experience.

It's position may put people off as it's not in the main tourist areas, but the access to the public transport is so easy that everything is close without the Orchard Road prices.

The gymnasium and pool are great for those who want to keep up their fitness too. A spa is also available but have not used.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for the generous compliment.

We are indeed delighted and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best Regards,
The Management Team Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have been staying at the Amara for over 21 years through all it's refurbishments. Hamid and his team on the Club Floor give a very efficient and personal service. Always remembers your name, and even the kind of eggs you like at breakfast! Pool is an oasis. Great location for business meetings.

I always feel a business is getting it right when I keep seeing the same core employees (Toni in Main Reception always helpful to get you a taxi at short notice!). Definitely a "family feel" to the place.

Room Tip: Try and get floor 17 for Club Lounge - closer to breakfast and "happy hour"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSmith112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation once again! It is with great pleasure to welcome you back at Amara Singapore.

We are delighted that Hamid and his team were able to extend a memorable “excellent personal service” to you, and Toni and his team for the “family feel”.

We look forward to creating more memorable experiences for you at Amara Singapore. Please do visit us again soon!

Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is my first visit to the Amara (stayed previously at M hotel next door), and I was positively surprised, particularly by the excellent service I recieved from the staff - whether in upgrading my room, helping with some technical issues or just making me feel welcome. In short, while the room might needed a bit of an update, the staff made up for some of the shortcomings. As a result, I might consider returning.

Room Tip: the higher up rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bjoern D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Manager at Amara Singapore Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for spending your weekend at Amara Singapore.

We would like to assure you that we take your feedback seriously and are constantly improving our rooms for our guests’ comfort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Amara Singapore soon!


Best Regards,
The Management Team, Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Carlton City Hotel Singapore
0.1 mi away
Oasia Hotel Downtown, Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.1 mi away
M Hotel Singapore
M Hotel Singapore
#90 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Furama City Centre
Furama City Centre
#47 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dorsett Singapore
Dorsett Singapore
#84 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Hotel
Orchid Hotel
#92 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Singapore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Singapore Hotel

Property: Amara Singapore Hotel
Address: 165 Tanjong Pagar Road Amara Singapore, Singapore 088539, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#48 Business Hotel in Singapore
#61 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#70 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Singapore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Singapore is conveniently located within a few minutes' walk to Tanjong Pagar MRT station, in the heart of Central Business District. This business hotel is a short stroll to the quaint historical Chinatown and just minutes away from Singapore's new integrated resorts at Marina Bay and Sentosa Island. Singapore's famed Orchard Road shopping district is easily accessible within 10 minutes. The hotel's 392 rooms are designed in a minimalist concept complemented by facilities to pamper both business and leisure guests. Our column-free Grand Ballroom with a 500 auditorium seating capacity as well as four function rooms can be customized for events of all scales, from banquets and corporate events to meetings and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Amara Singapore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Amara Hotel
Amara Hotel Singapore
Amara Singapore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing