We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel away from the tourist crowd” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amara Singapore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amara Singapore Hotel
Ranked #77 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good hotel away from the tourist crowd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed late January-Feb over Chinese New Year period. This was our second stay here and we will be back again no doubt.
We like the Amara for its location away from the main tourist hotels and in a nice area of Singapore - but only a short journey by MRT to everywhere one needs to go. It is also very easy to get a taxi and the streets are not crowded. Range of dining options in the area.
Our room was good sized and very comfortable for our week long stay. Staff are very good.
Restaurants are good but really only suited to one or two special meals, with rest being had in adjacent areas (including the adjoining mall which has a very good range of good value options). Good chnace to get out and live like a local. Fair Price supermarket and chemists etc in mall and good coffee/cafe outlets.
As this is more of a business hotel the pool area and amenities are often much quieter than the tourist hotels - and is one reason we highly recommend. Taxi from/to airport is very easy however you do need to be comfortable with the Singapore MRT to get to many locations. Tanjong Pagar station is a short walk. Chinatown is also within (bit longer) walking distance if not too hot (or else a short taxi or 2 stop MRT ride).

Room Tip: Most rooms are good sized. Higher level rooms above pool deck (6th floor) are best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlf_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    642
    235
    84
    62
See reviews for
226
309
119
660
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

It was a good hotel. good location, spacious rooms. Good selection of amenities, friendly staff. Except room lighting are a bit dark as no ceiling light above bedding area. like the arm chair and business table. Good for work and leisure.

Room Tip: high floors have a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cephasathrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

i stayed for nearly 5 days in this hotel. the breakfast was great and the front desk Hamid assisted us in ensuring that our stay was comfortable. the travel desk also assisted in putting together some tour for us. We both had a wonderful time and I have gone back twice to stay there and will be going back there again next month. I would urge the staff to continue and do your best and continue the good work.

Room Tip: I loved the higher floor for the quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Riya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for almost a week but did not even enjoy a day .Service quality needs to be improved alot. I just enjoyed the location as it is in the center of the city .The break fast was very average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pooja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I booked this room for my sis who were on their anniversary trip and their room was upgraded freely to executive king though I booked deluxe double room. Thanks !! The location is awesome and it's just 2 mins walk from MRT station. Food court in the same building.Shopping centre is just one step out of the room. I wrongly booked for weekender promotion first which was non refundable one but the reservation manager was so kind that she changed the promotion package for me :) as if it was not changed then we need to pay 80$ more for the surcharge. She saved me 80$. Thanks a lot. I'd recommend my firs who are going to sg to stay there :).

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, non smoking and city view room when u make booking :).....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huizhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I recently stayed at the Amara Singapore for 2 nights prior to a cruise.
I was looking for somewhere close to an MRT in order to see the sights and within walking distance to Chinatown at a reasonable price.
Hotels in Singapore, like many other big cities can be ridiculously expensive. I honestly don't see the point in paying huge prices when I'm hardly going to be there.
The Amara was a great find. Mid range price, nice rooms, very clean.
If I ever needed anything from housekeeping like a bucket of ice, they were always at the door within 10 mins.
Front desk was very fast and efficient, no waiting at all during check in and check out.
On a couple of occasions when I needed a taxi, the doorman had one there in a flash.
Nice pool area although I didn't use it.
Lots of food options and supermarkets within walking distance. I don't think I've ever seen a city with sooo many restaurants. I left thinking no one must eat at home in Singapore...how else could they all stay in business!
I usually ate at the Maxwell St food centre and the Chinatown Market as I always like a local's food experience. Both an easy walk.
The Amara may be in the business district, but as a tourist, it more than met my needs. As long as you are near an MRT station...you're near everything!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyndalhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

A business trip is never complete with a good stay and Amara ticks all the boxes. Efficient, friendly and personal, this is a hotel that I would highly recommend to travelers. With 100AM shopping mall right beside the hotel, its a location many can't match in Singapore. Well done Amara Group

Room Tip: Look for high floors and the Club level is splendid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCT722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Oasia Hotel Downtown, Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Carlton City Hotel Singapore
0.1 mi away
M Hotel Singapore
M Hotel Singapore
#88 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dorsett Singapore
Dorsett Singapore
#85 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.8 mi away
Furama City Centre
Furama City Centre
#45 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Hotel
Orchid Hotel
#90 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Singapore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Singapore Hotel

Property: Amara Singapore Hotel
Address: 165 Tanjong Pagar Road Amara Singapore, Singapore 088539, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#48 Business Hotel in Singapore
#61 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#70 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Singapore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Singapore is conveniently located within a few minutes' walk to Tanjong Pagar MRT station, in the heart of Central Business District. This business hotel is a short stroll to the quaint historical Chinatown and just minutes away from Singapore's new integrated resorts at Marina Bay and Sentosa Island. Singapore's famed Orchard Road shopping district is easily accessible within 10 minutes. The hotel's 392 rooms are designed in a minimalist concept complemented by facilities to pamper both business and leisure guests. Our column-free Grand Ballroom with a 500 auditorium seating capacity as well as four function rooms can be customized for events of all scales, from banquets and corporate events to meetings and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Amara Singapore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Amara Hotel
Amara Hotel Singapore
Amara Singapore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing