We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough, but they need to work on breakfast”
Review of Amara Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amara Singapore
Ranked #79 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice enough, but they need to work on breakfast”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stay at Amara on business usually a couple times of year. The facilities are around average quality for a business hotel and do the trick; what I always find hugely disappointing is their on site breakfast. Options are always limited -only a few kinds of fruit, mediocre yogurt, omelettes always overcooked in oil - and quality definitely not up to standard for Asia. They are currently renovating the restaurant where breakfast is served so I hope they decide to give the menu an overhaul as well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KLJ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear KLJ82,

Thank you for choosing Amara Singapore as your preferred choice of accommodation within the city’s heart beat. We truly appreciate your loyalty and the time taken to share your invaluable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you find our services and facilities satisfactory, contributing to comfortable experiences during your stay with us. As part of our hotel’s commitment to providing our esteemed guests with a refreshed dining experience, Element Restaurant is undergoing a renovation during this time period.

Be sure to keep a lookout for new culinary creations in the menu upon the opening of our Element Restaurant soon!

We value your patronage and we certainly look forward to delighting you at Amara Singapore.


Yours sincerely,
The Management
Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    711
    262
    90
    71
See reviews for
270
352
133
729
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kajang, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We checked in after midnight and it was a breeze through the process. Was in the room in less than 5 minutes upon arrival.

Room and decor are modern and most importantly, clean. Bathroom drainage needs to be fixed and if you're big size, shower room is going to make you feel claustrophobic.

Quick fix for your stomach nearby the hotel - Food is never an issue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racheal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Racheal C,

Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback during your stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilities we offer and in particular the efficient services provided by our frontline associates during your check-in process. We are pleased to hear that you have found the cleanliness and comfort of our guest room satisfactory and the experience, pleasant and memorable. Your compliments have been duly conveyed to the various teams at Amara Singapore and these will motivate our associates to continue delivering high service standards at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here for a two-week business trip and was very underwhelmed. To be fair it delivered on basics like space, free wifi and the recent renovation. BUT -- and this is a big but -- hotel housekeeping leaves much to be desired. On my first night I climbed into bed to find the underside of my comforter had bloodstains on it (or something red at least). I was horrified and asked housekeeping to make sure to change the sheets.
The next morning I went down to the buffet breakfast. Food was awful and the auntie at the egg station couldn't be bothered to make omelets fresh. When i requested for scrambled eggs she stirred them around the griddle (no pan) where she was frying sunny-side eggs, then plopped the whole mess onto my plate. Never went back there again.
And throughout my stay whoever was making up the room would take the towels away, but not replace them all. I had to keep asking for a hand towel, or a missing bath towel, or a face towel. Or toilet paper. Surely they must have some check list to remember all this.
All told, you'd probably be ok for a couple of days. Longer stays not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revitalizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Revitalizer,

Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We regret to learn of your unpleasant experience during your stay with us and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. In our continual strive towards service excellence, please be assured that the Management takes a serious view with regards to all feedback received. We are reviewing our processes and have counseled our Housekeeping and Culinary associates to ensure that our guests have a warm and enjoyable stay with us.

We value your patronage and sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Amara Singapore in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Checking in to rest before a long international flight the last thing we wanted was loud construction noises reverberating through the room on this weekend day. A mention on the website of the true extent of the disruption (not just the closure of the restaurant) would have been nice. Soundproofing otherwise seems poor with outside and building / pipe noises also very noticeable.

The room itself was dirty, with long hairs in the bath, bathroom and on the bed and dirty walls. The furnishings look tired and beds extremely hard.

Hotel is Probably fine for business and a convenient location - set your expectation low and hopefully they'll be met

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear s76

Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback during your stay with us.

Whilst we are pleased to hear that you found convenience in the locale of our Hotel and the services we offer for business travellers, we regret to learn about the comfort of our guest room and the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. As part of our commitment to providing our esteemed guests with a refreshed dining experience, we are currently in the midst of carrying out renovation works at Element Restaurant. We have noted your feedback and will continuously review our processes and services to ensure greater efficiency and quality of our services.

Please be assured that our guests’ comfort and well-being remain our utmost priority at Amara Singapore.

We value your patronage and hope that you will allow us another chance to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at the Amara because of its proximity to company's offices in Singapore. My usual pros and cons:
Pros:
-Modern clean lines
-Adjacent to a mall, great for necessities
-Rooms were "newer"
-Service was responsive
-Nice size bathroom
-Hotel room was nice and quiet
Cons:
-Bathroom was in need of repair... bath tub was grey and needed a scrubbing with bleach; grout around sink was black and moldy; marble was cracked in many places
-Beds hard as a rock...
-Wifi was spotty
-Gym was tiny
My overall impression was that this hotel was newer, but needed some upkeep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinickyTiredTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear FinickyTiredTraveler,

Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback during your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to be able to offer much convenience and comfort during your stay with us as well as to deliver exceptional Asian hospitality to our esteemed guests.

We are continuously looking out for ways to improve our services and your feedback has been particularly useful.

We value your patronage and certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Yours sincerely,
The Management
Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for the first time in the hotel . Overall the room was great had a nice view from my room . The bed was comfortable . The bathroom is great .

The breakfast spread is not so great as other hotels . For me the most disappointing aspect of the hotel was the slow internet connection since I was there on business .

From a location perspective it's ideally located with a lot of pubs and restaurants at walking distance .

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank imswaminathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear imswaminathan,

Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback during your stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed the convenience that our location offers.

We have noted your valuable feedback on the internet connection and our daily breakfast spread. Please be assured that in our continual strive towards service excellence, the Management takes a serious view with regards to all feedback and are continuously reviewing our internal processes to ensure greater efficiency in our services.

We value your patronage and certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Yours sincerely,
The Management
Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a weeks holiday at this hotel. The room was large and the bed comfortable. The house keeping was` average. I used the roof swimming pool and the gym,very good. The room was clean. We did not have breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment on this aspect. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear John F,

Greetings from Amara Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review on TripAdvisor.

There is no greater pleasure than receiving positive feedback from our valued guests. We are especially encouraged to learn that our service standards have been satisfying. We have noted your feedback with regards to our housekeeping services and are taking immediate action to ensure that only service of the highest standards are offered to our guests.

We appreciate your continuous support and truly look forward to welcoming you back to Amara Singapore in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
The Management
Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
M Hotel Singapore
#76 of 315 in Singapore
1,531 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#88 of 315 in Singapore
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#54 of 315 in Singapore
1,546 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Singapore

Property: Amara Singapore
Address: 165 Tanjong Pagar Road, Singapore 088539, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#48 Business Hotel in Singapore
#61 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#73 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Singapore is conveniently located within a few minutes' walk to Tanjong Pagar MRT station, in the heart of Central Business District. This business hotel is a short stroll to the quaint historical Chinatown and just minutes away from Singapore's new integrated resorts at Marina Bay and Sentosa Island. Singapore's famed Orchard Road shopping district is easily accessible within 10 minutes. The hotel's 392 rooms are designed in a minimalist concept complemented by facilities to pamper both business and leisure guests. Our column-free Grand Ballroom with a 500 auditorium seating capacity as well as four function rooms can be customized for events of all scales, from banquets and corporate events to meetings and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Amara Hotel
Amara Hotel Singapore
Amara Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing