We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in a convenient area but washroom needs a little perk up”
Review of Amara Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amara Singapore
Ranked #79 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in a convenient area but washroom needs a little perk up”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Although the rooms are clean and presentable (does look a little dated), the washroom isn't up to mark- clogged sinkhole, broken ventilator, no shower curtain, bar -like doors that do not shut properly etc.. spoils the overall experience. Parking is ample at the basement but hotel only provides parking vouchers which will need to be scanned with a nets cash card at the exit barrier. This is inconvenient for travellers who do not have a nets cash card and making a mockery of the fact that some guests do require to move around. Also, reader does not accept the new nets flash card.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear JKT123,

Thanks for your valuable feedback and we deeply regret to hear of the service lapses that you have experienced.

We will definitely investigate the mentioned areas and look into how we can improve them. Your feedback is important to us as it helps monitor and upgrade our service standards, for a better experience for our guests

We look forward to welcome you back at Amara Singapore!

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    709
    262
    90
    71
See reviews for
269
352
133
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Koege
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Reasonably priced hotel with good location. Rooms are a bit old fashioned but clean. Service level good. Breakfast not very impressive. Had sushi at the hotel which was well below standard, expensive and not very tasteful. All in all an average stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars-Henrik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Lars-Henrik J,

Thank you for staying with Amara Singapore and we appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Your feedback is important to us as it helps maintain and improve our service standards. We will take your feedback into consideration for further service enhancements, to provide a more comfortable and enriching stay for our guests in the future.

We hope to welcome you back at Amara Singapore!

Yours Sincerely,
The Management
Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

It's a shame that all hotels do not wifi access in all rooms other than that the hotel was acceptable, clean. The drinks at the bar are very expensive, ,paid $13.00 for a glass of Tiger.
Breakfast was OK, don't what they cooked the bacon in but it did not taste like bacon should

Room Tip: The water views consist of a view fo ships waiting to be unloaded, nothing special
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkiaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear wilkiaj,

Thank you for staying with Amara Singapore and we appreciate your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is very nice to know that you were happy with the cleanliness of the room. We will certainly take your feedback into consideration as we plan future enhancements for the hotel.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.


We hope to welcome you back at Amara Singapore!

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Basically an OK hotel, with pleasant and efficient staff. However, I dislike hotels that presume that their guests are either incontinent or inveterate bed-wetters and accordingly protect their beds with plastic sheets. This is such a hotel. Be prepared to wake half way through the night, covered in perspiration, wondering why. Well - it's because the mattress is covered with an impermeable sheet 'for your protection' (or the hotel's). Doesn't enhance the experience. Breakfast is OK but undistinguished. (Standard) Room quite spacious, bathroom fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkMarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear UkMarlin,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we regret to hear that your stay with us has not been satisfactory.

We have highlighted the issue to the Housekeeping department and will definitely look into this matter.

We hope to welcome you back at Amara Singapore!

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lusaka
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

my experience of singapore was exceptional from the effecient baggage availabity and easy to get a taxi to the ever helpful staff at Amara hotel who everything with a smile. it was simply fantastic. it a place to be save for the cost you need to be ready to pay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emukonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear emukonka,

Thank you for kind compliments!

We are heartened to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is very motivating for the team to realise that their "service with a smile" contributed towards your positive experience with us.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed there on NYE. Well appointed rooms and good location for travel to MBS as it is next to Tg Pagar MRT station. Typical Japanese hotel - everything is as it should be except for the buffet breakfast - very haphazard. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpr2exs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear cpr2exs,

Thank you for your kind words of our guest rooms, location and overall stay experience.

We regret to hear that your breakfast experience has not been satisfactory and we hope that this incident will not deter you from choosing to stay with us in the near future.

Look forward to serving you again.

Thanks!

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Every time i return to Singapore, i only ever stay at the Amara ............ it may not be as boutique as other hotels, but there is something about the hotel that draws me back.
The rooms are perfect with lots of space and the staff know me well enough, so much as a always get a firm bed and know when i leave the room so as it can be serviced.
This stay, i was put on the room15th floor at no extra charge:-).

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
M Hotel Singapore
#76 of 315 in Singapore
1,530 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#88 of 315 in Singapore
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 315 in Singapore
1,546 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Singapore

Property: Amara Singapore
Address: 165 Tanjong Pagar Road, Singapore 088539, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#48 Business Hotel in Singapore
#61 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#73 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Singapore is conveniently located within a few minutes' walk to Tanjong Pagar MRT station, in the heart of Central Business District. This business hotel is a short stroll to the quaint historical Chinatown and just minutes away from Singapore's new integrated resorts at Marina Bay and Sentosa Island. Singapore's famed Orchard Road shopping district is easily accessible within 10 minutes. The hotel's 392 rooms are designed in a minimalist concept complemented by facilities to pamper both business and leisure guests. Our column-free Grand Ballroom with a 500 auditorium seating capacity as well as four function rooms can be customized for events of all scales, from banquets and corporate events to meetings and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Amara Hotel
Amara Hotel Singapore
Amara Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing