We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crisis commanders”
Review of Amara Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amara Singapore
Ranked #79 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Crisis commanders”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We came across this hotel in unfortunate circumstances when we were tranferred here after our flight out of Changi was cancelled so should have left the Amara unhappy... BUT the staff and management made a world of difference here. First of all, the hotel is lovely, really lovely. Good buffet breakfast and lunch with a great pool and a short stroll to vibrant china town. Our room was a good size too. Amenities were top notch. Many thanks to manager Hamid who kept his patience with a large group of dejected transit-ers and even lent out his personal phone to make calls to airlines when bad news came again and again. Singapore has lots of options. I would not hesitate to make this my first choice when next in town. Thanks heaps, guys!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RichmondRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear RichmondRed,

Thank you for your warm compliments of our service, pool facility and dining selection!

It is with great pride that we will be conveying this positive feedback to the respective department. This will definitely give them greater motivation as they realize their efforts and rigorous training have not gone unnoticed.

Once again, we look forward to welcoming back soon.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management
Amara Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    692
    259
    89
    70
See reviews for
255
344
131
719
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for business and was rather impressed with the hotel. Lovely rooms and amazing bathrooms with both a bath tub and spacious shower. Room rate we selected was inclusive of breakfast and internet which was great for value for money. Fantastic selection of restaurants at the hotel with many different types of cuisine to choose from. Not too far from Orchard Road and other attractions and felt like a very safe area. Fantastic pool and good gym facilities. Would recommend for anyone travelling for business or travelling solo. Found the staff to be very helpful as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Public Relations Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Kristy H,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience on TripAdvisor.

It is with great delight to learn that you enjoyed the stay and found our service and facilities satisfactory. Your feedback is valuable to us as it helps us monitor and improve our service standards, to provide a better experience for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management
Amara Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I love the rooms. Big and spacious. The toilet door it cannot be lock so i felt a bit insecure. Cleanliness was okay, housekeeping delivered request items on time but front desk staffs served with no smile. Overall the hotel is okay..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Liza S,

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us is satisfactory.

We will look into your comments about our staff and inform the various departments about your feedback, so that improvents can be made. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us monitor and improve our service standards, to provide a better experience for our guests.

We would like to thank you for your patronage to our hotel and we hope to welcoming you back again.

Yours Sincerely
The Management
Amara Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with a group and the kind of service we received was excellent. Location is good and shopping places are nearby.Hotel staff was very cooperative. Especially the F&B department. My Special thanks to Mr. Girish and Mr. Derek.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kshitiz_mittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear kshitiz_mittal,

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us is satisfactory. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Amara Singapore.

Your feedback is important to us as it helps us monitor and improve our service standards, to provide a better experience for our guests. We will definitely share this with the various departments, especially the mentioned staffs, as this is an affirmation of their efforts and hard work.

We would like to thank you for your patronage to our hotel and we hope to welcoming you back again.

Yours Sincerely
The Management
Amara Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I am a frequent traveller and I am particular about hotel rooms especially its cleanliness. Occassionally I give and take depending on the price I pay. However, this is the worst experience by far.

Stayed here for the first time for 1 night in July. It was supposed to be 4 nights but I checked out right after my firt night. Here is why...

Upon check in, I went to my room and found that it was a twin bed room. I went back down to the reception and they allocated a room with the king bed. The nightmare begun! Anything bad that you can think of in a hotel room basically happened.

1) Floor with bad scratches
2) Stained wall
3) Stained bath towel
4) Stained pillow
5) Little black patches on the bathroom mirror
6) Unpleasant shower with dirt on the wall
7) Smelly kettle
8) Dusty room

I still can't believe that it claims itself as a business hotel. This is definitely not reflective of its claim and the price it charges.

At least the internet works!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinyangelporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Tinyangelporter

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your observations and views on the cleanliness of the room that you stayed in.

In our continual strive towards service excellence, please be assured that the Management takes a serious view with regards to all feedback and comments received as they help us continually monitor and upgrade the quality of our service.

We have noted your feedback pertaining to the cleanliness of the room and please be assured that your valuable comments on the said matters have been addressed to the Housekeeping department. The Management is currently looking into the issue and we are taking steps to make sure that such incidents do not happen again.

We hope that we will be given another opportunity to better serve you.

We look forward to your kind and continued support.


Yours sincerely
Amara Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was quite shocked at the house-keeping standard of this otherwise impressive hotel. I stayed for 2 weeks - I had a stained bedsheet, the complimentary pen was broken but was never replaced, sometimes they put the ironing board back into the closet, sometimes they don't, sometimes they hang the bathrobe, sometimes they leave it where it was - on the bed, over the chair. Granted, I was staying for 2 weeks but I expected the room to be cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis. It IS a hotel, after all. And the floor managers (I assume, the ones wearing black suits) confuse me. They'd just stand about, looking at you or looking past you, rarely greeting the guests. The concierge were the best of the bunch- they at least made the effort to really talk to you and help you out. The location was good - close to the Tanjung Pagar MRT Station, restaurants, cafes, convenience stores (the 24-hours Fair Price supermarket is just across the road), but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpicyOlio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear SpicyOlio,

We would like to thank you for the feedback and deeply regret the unfortunate service lapses you experienced, especially with regards to the housekeeping issue in your room.

There is definitely no excuse whatsoever and we are currently conducting investigations into the highlighted matter. The Hotel has always regard the service standards of our staff as our utmost priority and we ensure that all our staff are required to undergo vigorous training.

As for the hospitality that you received from our front line managers, we assure you the management views this very seriously and will definitely raise this matter up to the various departments to make sure that such incidents do not happen again.

We would like to thank you for your patronage to our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again.


Yours Sincerely
The Management
Amara Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penistone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great hotel in a good location for the commercial area of Singapore. All the facilities are very good with a gym and swimming pool. A good selection of restaurants in both the hotel and nearby. Well placed for a comfortable 20 minute trip to the airport. Would stay again when next there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetlaga380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Manager at Amara Singapore, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Ian T,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us is satisfactory. We are glad to hear that you liked the location of the Hotel. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us to improve or maintain our service standards.

We would like to thank you once more for your patronage to our hotel and we hope to welcoming you back again.

Yours Sincerely
The Management
Amara Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
M Hotel Singapore
#78 of 312 in Singapore
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsett Singapore
#87 of 312 in Singapore
890 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#52 of 312 in Singapore
1,531 reviews
Orchid Hotel
#90 of 312 in Singapore
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Singapore

Property: Amara Singapore
Address: 165 Tanjong Pagar Road, Singapore 088539, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#48 Business Hotel in Singapore
#61 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#73 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Singapore is conveniently located within a few minutes' walk to Tanjong Pagar MRT station, in the heart of Central Business District. This business hotel is a short stroll to the quaint historical Chinatown and just minutes away from Singapore's new integrated resorts at Marina Bay and Sentosa Island. Singapore's famed Orchard Road shopping district is easily accessible within 10 minutes. The hotel's 392 rooms are designed in a minimalist concept complemented by facilities to pamper both business and leisure guests. Our column-free Grand Ballroom with a 500 auditorium seating capacity as well as four function rooms can be customized for events of all scales, from banquets and corporate events to meetings and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Amara Hotel
Amara Hotel Singapore
Amara Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing