We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced building site with unhelpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Plaza on Scotts
Ranked #46 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
“Overpriced building site with unhelpful staff!”
Reviewed February 23, 2010

What a nightmare our stay here was, I completely agree with previous comment about feeling uncomfortable as soon as arriving here! We arrived at the end of our fabulous honeymoon around Australia, to a shabby hotel, undergoing noisy refurbishment, day and night, only to be talked to like idiots by the reception staff, who tried to argue with us simply because we wanted a room where we could get a bit of sleep! The hotel pool was also booked out to various private parties throughout the day, meaning it was closed to hotel guests! Free Minibar consisted of 2 cans of beer and 2 cartons of orangejuice! Fair enough location was great, but after paying £400 for 2 nights, we felt extremely disappointed! Will not be returning or recommending this to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,046
    1,708
    435
    100
    66
See reviews for
1,011
1,527
302
854
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Booked as a Mystery deal on Wotif.com.au for about Aust$160 (double room, no breakfast). From the moment I arrived at the front steps I felt uncomfortable.
The doorman was forceful/abrupt when I decided to take my own suitcase, he wouldn’t allow it. Then as I joined the queue at reception I felt as if I was herded
like cattle towards the desk by a staff member. The Receptionist didn’t really listen to me and tried to upsell me into a Club Room. They would not take a Visa Debit Card as guarantee (the room was already prepaid). I was asked repeatedly for various types of
foreign currency to serve as deposit on incidentals. My double room on the 11th floor was very clean and decorated in tones of caramel, brown and royal blue. Walls a little scuffed and carpets marked in places. Large bathroom with bath, separate shower and very nice toiletries. The bathroom had a large window looking into the bed area (a blind could be pulled down for privacy). Large corner desk and office chair took up a lot of space, and a very large blue velvet chair didn’t suit the room and was too big. The free limited mini-bar contents daily were welcome (2 cans beer, 1 juice, bottled water and cans softdrink). My water was replaced the next day, but the coke was not. Free internet in the business centre on the 2nd floor was great. Not really a proper business centre,
just a small room with 2 computers for guest use. I found the location on Scotts Road too hectic (difficult to cross the road. You had to either go further up the road and up
across an overpass, or down to Orchard Road and across to Ion or Wheelock Place via a very crowded underpass with lots of steps). Not my kind of place so i won’t return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avanti_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

This hotel was billed as the answer to a non-smokers prayers. I travel regularly throughout Asia for business and pleasure and it is very difficult to have a room that is not in some way affected by cigarette smoke, even if you ask for a NS room on a NS floor. So I was delighted to have a go at staying in a hotel that has great pride in announcing that they are the first 100% non-smoking hotel in Singapore. Now I preface this comment by saying that smokers are selfish, weak and inconsiderate people by nature and the hotel has no control over a smoker who signs at check-in that they will respect this hotel policy (which you are required to do) and then ignores it (which they also do regularly on NS floors in other hotels) but this didn't help me much. Without any consequence for smoking in your room there is little incentive, I suppose, for smokers to honour their word. In the room the linen smelt like cigarettes, as did my clothes and the air carried a constant soft smell of second-hand smoke courtesy of the air-conditioning. In the elevator bay the smell is at its strongest. So, the short story is, if you're a non-smoker trying to get a hotel room that doesn't smell like cigarettes, give this place a miss. They simply failed to meet their commitment.

Some other bits of information that you may find useful:

Gym: It is very small, with limited free weights (heaviest weight is 10kg dumbbells), some machine weights (chest press, shoulder press, leg extension, hamstring curl (broken when I was there for the length of my 1 week stay) and ab curl. Two running machines and a couple of exercise bikes. In peak periods it is impossible to use the room, period, and there isn’t enough room to turn around, let alone exercise, if you are not on a machine.

Pool: Unusually small and positioned (along with the gym) in an extension onto the adjacent building. Because of its size you need to be very quick to get a good spot. It is also not lit in the evenings and frankly pretty creepy (according to my partner).

In this area, for the price, there are options that are much better.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyCrocodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

This was our 1st time visit to RP and its going to be our last there. We are definitely not going back to this hotel or recommend anyone to stay there. The size of the club room is very small and it is full of mirrors. The rooms were either facing car park or private condominiums.
We observed that the majority of the staffs were not trained to greet guests. They treated us invisible and expected us to greet them 1st. One male employee who was in charge of the inventory of the mini bars in the rooms at the 14th club floor was busying singing away and don’t even bother to greet us.
We felt that there was no privacy at this hotel as throughout the whole day, we could see the cleaning staff and their trolley along the corridor all the time.
The service at the Club lounge was also very disappointing. We expect that the customer service at club lounge to be better than what we had experienced in RP so far but we were wrong! We had to wait for a long time before the waitress notice our presence and came to attend to us. They do not address guests by their 1st names at all. The quality and quantity of pastries available during the tea time were miserable and we had no choice of selection at all as it was already pre-selected by the chef of the lounge presented in a 3-tier carrier.
At the evening cocktail, the finger food available was not fantastic either. Each of the dishes was presented only in a mouth full portion serving. Quality of the food was below par. The “Gossip” red and white wine was of a pretty budget range. This gave us an impression that the club lounge was not as generous as other 5 star hotels lounges found in Hyatt and Swissotel.
Breakfast at Carousel was average. The selection was also limited. What freaked me out was that my wife told me a waiter had actually whistled at her while she was taking her food. How could a 5 star hotel employ such rude staff? Where is the professionalism of service that is expected of a 5-star hotel?
The complimentary mini bar was the joke of the day! We expec7ted it to be full of beverages but there were only 2 cans of beer, a small bottle of orange juice and 2 cans of soft drinks. When we requested for replenishment of drinks in the early morning prior to our checkout at noon, we were told that their "rules and regulations" do not allow guests that are checking out to replenish the drinks. What a stingy and shrewd management of this 5 star hotel.
The management needs to revamp its customer service. We have been to several hotels and RP is the 1st encounter of its kind. It is totally not flexible and strictly follows by its “rules and regulations”. For most of the hotels we have been to, most will either grace a late check out by an hour or 2 or politely reject us if it is fully booked on the day of our checkout. RP strictly do not allow later than 2pm checkout else, it will be chargeable at SGD$25 / hr (subjected to 17% GST tax!). Moreover, there is strictly no replenishment of beverages on day of check out. The club lounge strictly allows only 2 guests per club member and the waitress goes around enforcing this.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mystery_advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

My husband and I arrived at 6:30am and the hotel staff was very nice to allow us to check in early. The hotel is centrally located, only 2 min walk from Orchard MRT station and there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel. We stayed 2 nights at the Deluxe room. The room is clean and modern and offers complimentary drinks/beer. We'll be more than happy to stay in this hotel if we're going to Singapore again and will definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tweety18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Royal Plaza for the third time last month, and were as impressed as ever with the hotel.

First, the location is excellent. It is a short walk to Orchard Road, which is filled with shops and places to eat. The underground crossing is actually easy to navigate after giving it a couple of goes (and reading the signs...). The underground links you to the MRT, Ion shopping centre, Wheelock Plaza, Wisma Atria and Tangs - everywhere!

There are plenty of food options around the Royal Plaza, not all junkfood either. Sure, there is a McDonalds and Starbucks, but there also is Canelle, Food Republic and Tangs and Isetan supermarkets / food courts.

I'd recommend getting the hotel breakfast included. It was amazing! So much variety - eggs, bacon, sausages, pasteries, waffles and more. The hotel resturaunt may seem expensive, but is not at all 'snooty' and is value for money - especially when having the buffet.

The rooms were nice and clean. We had a problem where out power went out, but a quick call to reception and it was fixed. The only complaint I have from this visit is that on one of the days our room wasn't made up - we put the make up room light on at 930/10am and returned to our room at 4pm to find it hadn't yet been made up and we were anxious to get ready to go out to dinner. After calling housekeeping they dropped round some new towels and were ver apologetic - it seems there was a miscommunication.

The free mini bar is great - and exactly that - free. If something is free, it shouldn't be complained about! It had 2 tiger beers, 2 coca colas, an orange juice and two bottles of water, and was replenished daily.

The hotel is a short, cheap taxi ride from many of Singapores attractions, including Clarke Quay, the Flyer, Chijmes, the Raffles and Dempsy Hill.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorksOnly2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

We were on a short stopover in Singapore after two and half weeks in New Zealand and arrived at 08:00, with our room booked for the next two evenings. We we offered early check-in without even asking and invited to join breakfast as well. We had booked a club deluxe room at a slightly higher rate and it was definitely worth the extra.

The staff were all extremely friendly and efficient. The concierge took care of all our arrangements to see the city on our brief stop.

The hotel location is central to Orchard road shopping district and was definitely good value for the rate we paid. we were also allowed a late check-out as our flight was not until later in the evening.

Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#28 of 312 in Singapore
2,418 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#70 of 312 in Singapore
3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#71 of 312 in Singapore
9,564 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 312 in Singapore
1,222 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza on Scotts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza on Scotts

Property: Royal Plaza on Scotts
Address: 25 Scotts Rd, Singapore 228220, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#22 Family Hotel in Singapore
#29 Business Hotel in Singapore
#46 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza on Scotts 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Plaza on Scotts is a deluxe Singapore hotel offering free WIFI and high-speed wired Internet to cater to your business needs. The rooms are also equipped with free Nespresso gourmet coffee, minibars that are replenished daily and free local calls. Delight yourself with meals at award-wining buffet restaurant, Carousel or try out our delicious Artisan cupcakes by Gourmet Carousel. Enjoy exclusive access to 24 hour facilities such as the Internet Lounge and the gym. Our excellent location in Orchard Road means that we are steps away from iconic shopping malls such as ION Orchard, Paragon and Takashimaya and a 10-minutes' drive to the main business and financial institutions like Marina Bay, Shenton Way and Suntec towers. Upcoming events in Singapore: Food & Hotel Asia 2016, Great Singapore Sale and CommunicAsia 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Plaza on Scotts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza On Scotts Hotel Singapore
Royal Plaza On Scotts Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing