We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Plaza on Scotts
Ranked #45 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The only thing going for this hotel is its location - which is great for Orchard Rd. The front entrance is being refurbished so it is chaotic! The rooms are small and tired. The free minibar option is disappointing - soft drinks mainly. There may have been one can of beer, but no wine or spirits. I thought it was overpriced and I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banannieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpcrm, General Manager at Royal Plaza on Scotts, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear BanannieUk

It is disappointing to know that you did not enjoy your stay as much.

Our apologies for the renovation as we go through a facelift for our hotel. I hope that with the many developments we are making, you will be back to enjoy the changes the next time.

Patrick Fiat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,973
    1,667
    421
    98
    66
See reviews for
972
1,478
296
834
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

A good experience that I would repeat mext time I visit Singapore.
Food was very good and the staff were very attentive.
The lifts were available whenever we required one.
The room was clean and comfortable and the free mini bar was appreciated


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpcrm, General Manager at Royal Plaza on Scotts, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Robert H

Thank you for your appreciation!

I am delighted that though it was a short 2 night stopover, we managed to make it enjoyable and comfortable for you and your family. Thank you for choosing us and we will definitely see more of you in Royal Plaza on Scotts!

Patrick Fiat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Only stayed one night, our room was tied and smelt strongly of cigarette smoke and was musty.

Breakfast was odd, $70+ and didn't serve Bacon...

Lots of Marble and would have been great in its day but probably give it a miss, differently NOT 5 STAR

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beentherefonethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpcrm, General Manager at Royal Plaza on Scotts, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Beentherefonethat

My apologies for the shortfalls during your stay.

It is our regret that we did not provide the usual refreshing stay. This has been looked into by our engineering and housekeeping department to ensure that similar incidences will not happen in the room.

The breakfast costing you mentioned has also raised our concern. The cost of $70+ would likely be for the extra bed requested in the room instead. I hope that with our explanation, we were able to clear the misunderstanding. Please feel free to contact us if there are any other queries on the billing and we will be glad to assist.

I hope that this incident will not deter you from future visits. We sincerely hope to have you with us again.

Patrick Fiat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We just stayed at the Royal Plaza on Scotts for four days. Although we were upgraded to a higher floor the room was small. Service in the lobby was slow especially as construction was going on at the time and one would expect more assistance. The lobby also lacks seating, and those that are available are crowded next to each other. The pool is very small and it gets no sun. The fitness center is also limited. The hotel is convenient located in terms of the underground train, but those using taxis should be aware that the side of the street on which the hotel is located is considered "out-of-town" and there is an extra surcharge. Shopping on Orchard Street is overrated and expensive. The hotel was fine for first timers to Singapore but I would not recommend it or Orchard Street.

Room Tip: Higher floors (11th floor and up) don't have much of a view; so views on lower floors must be ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpcrm, General Manager at Royal Plaza on Scotts, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear szaidi

Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate feedback from our guests as it helps us identify areas for improvements. We hope that with the renovations, we will be able to greet our guests with a better side in the near future.

Till then, please pardon us as we bring in the experts to spruce up the place.

Patrick Fiat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Located in Scotts Road, opposite Far East Plaza, it's very close to the main shopping street, Orchard Road. For the price you pay, (stayed in a deluxe room) you get free Wifi (roughly 1.5mbps speed), free minibar items (replenished everyday) and free daily nespresso. Very modern designed bedroom, however they could do a redesign on the lobby (I thought it was kinda boring) but overall my stay was comfortable and satisfactory. I wouldn't mind staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EzanDania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpcrm, General Manager at Royal Plaza on Scotts, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear EzanDania

Comfort is key in having a great stay.

I am glad that we were able to take care of your needs and to be able to add value to the rates with the complimentary WIFI, minibar and Nespresso coffee.

We would love to have you again.

Patrick Fiat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We checked into RP for our 3rd wedding anniversary - we got free upgrade for our room, got free candies and also a personal congratulatory card for our wedding anniversary.. Everyone were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpcrm, General Manager at Royal Plaza on Scotts, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Maya O

Happy 3rd Wedding Anniversary again!

We are so happy to be part of your celebrations. I hope you liked the heart-shaped lollipops and the card.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience here!

Patrick Fiat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at Royal Plaza on Scotts. The stay was pleasant and felt comfy with the room. The food was very good at the Carousel. Will recommend to any traveller but make sure to book early for your dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpcrm, General Manager at Royal Plaza on Scotts, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Charles R

Oh yes! It is advisable to make a reservation early for dining in at Carousel.

Being a popular choice as a buffet restaurant, it may get tough to get a seat. I am glad that we managed to provide a comfortable stay for you on your business trip.

See you soon!

Patrick Fiat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#20 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#74 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,310 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#69 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#11 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza on Scotts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza on Scotts

Property: Royal Plaza on Scotts
Address: 25 Scotts Rd, Singapore 228220, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#22 Family Hotel in Singapore
#29 Business Hotel in Singapore
#45 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza on Scotts 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Plaza on Scotts is a deluxe Singapore hotel offering free WIFI and high-speed wired Internet to cater to your business needs. The rooms are also equipped with free Nespresso gourmet coffee, minibars that are replenished daily and free local calls. Delight yourself with meals at award-wining buffet restaurant, Carousel or try out our delicious Artisan cupcakes by Gourmet Carousel. Enjoy exclusive access to 24 hour facilities such as the Internet Lounge and the gym. Our excellent location in Orchard Road means that we are steps away from iconic shopping malls such as ION Orchard, Paragon and Takashimaya and a 10-minutes' drive to the main business and financial institutions like Marina Bay, Shenton Way and Suntec towers. Upcoming events in Singapore: Food & Hotel Asia 2016, Great Singapore Sale and CommunicAsia 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Plaza on Scotts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza On Scotts Hotel Singapore
Royal Plaza On Scotts Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing