We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pan Pacific versus Ritz Carlton” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pan Pacific Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pan Pacific Singapore
Ranked #14 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
oxon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pan Pacific versus Ritz Carlton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Could not decide where to stay on this visit to Singapore with my sister and ended up choosing Pan Pacific in a club room. Found previous reviews not very detailed as to the club room so here are the details. Rooms are on high floors and the only way to get to them is in a glass lift which runs up the outside of the building. If you do not like heights this is not for you although the views are stunning. The room itself on 33rd floor is much smaller than I expected - the club rooms at the Ritz Carlton are definately much more spacious. The room itself was quite nice but did not have any wow factor as I was expecting after the big refurbishment more functional and possibly aimed at the business traveller. The furnishings are pleasant enough. We do not have a balcony so not sure if that is a different room category. All the info about the room and services is on the tv which I do not particulary like as I think there is no substitute for a book with all the info at you fingertips. Also in my experience all the hotels I have stayed at in Singapore are not particularly good at telling you what is included in your club room eg still need to ask is it 2 pieces of laundry per day foc or just 2 pieces of pressing? Free wifi in room which is as it should be! Bathroom nice and as it is a twin room we do not have the glass wall so private enough. Bathroom at the Ritz was far superior as it has bath in front of window and you can see the amazing view while in the tub. In fact the rooms at the Ritz are just fabulous and you cant help being wowed even on a second visit. The club itself is lovely with amazing 360 views which are particularly spectacular at night. The club is open 24 hours a day which is nice if you have jet lag! The service is excellent and could not fault it at either hotel. The food and beverages served complimentary in the club are as follows...... Champagne breakfast or alternatively you can go to restaurant downstairs for more choice at breakfast. The all day refreshments are soft drinks, tea and coffee and biscuits served 24 hours. Then there is afternoon tea served from 2.30 pm til 5.30pm then cocktails and canapies which is basically any alcoholic drinks including champagne served from 6pm til 8pm. The afternoon tea today consisted of scones with jam and cream, sausage rolls, and an open sandwich type snack. They also had a cheese board with crackers and smoked salmon. Along side that there was a sweet offering of a little chocolate cake or mini raspberry tart. The selection was adequate but not terribly inspiring however I will say that there are very few guests in the club room as it is the weekend so it may be that there is more choice on week days and it all tasted very nice. The canapies at 6pm consisted of cheese board, crackers, smoked salmon, samosas, and 2 other dainty little canapé things that were very tasty. There was also 4 sweet canapés which again were all very tasty. By comparison the Ritz serves food and drinks all day long from 7.30am right through to 11pm so knock yourself out on champagne all day! Their food is outstanding to the point for example the afternoon tea is on par with what would be served in the lobby to guests paying for it. The only problem with the Ritz is you find yourself rushing back for the food! My main reason for choosing the Pan Pacific in stead of the Ritz was cost. Seven nights in Pan Pacific is costing £1900 where as the Ritz was £2200 so £300 more and these were the best deals I could get. I also looked at Conrad Centenniel which quoted £1500 but they took over a week to get back to me so I had already booked. I suppose to sum up it is not that the Pan Pacific is not great it is just I think it is overpriced for what it offers or perhaps it is just not offering deals on rates that the other hotels do. Or maybe I was just getting a very good deal on the price at the Ritz!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jules001Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,535
    1,607
    369
    114
    87
See reviews for
1,232
2,741
425
1,532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,416)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
384 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I visited the PP for 2 days for a meeting on the 22nd floor. I have been to the PP many times in the past and it always has struck me as good but not special.

This time was no different.

The lobby has been renovated (see pictures) and looks GREAT! Well done guys. Lots of intimate booths for a quiet drink after a hard days PowerPoint! I like that.

The meeting was on the top floor. When I arrived, the receptionist was unsure where it was but VERY helpful, so we wandered around until we found the room.

The meeting room was fairly standard, with an awesome view. LCD worked well, tables and chairs comfortable. As with many other hotel arrangements, the PP still does not realise everyone has a laptop, so we had to ask for additional power points. Huh?

The WiFi was free/included and very fast. Great!

The A/C was an issue. They seemed unable to adjust the temperature and it was COLD! Eventually we had to turn it off and open the balcony doors. Now that is unacceptable to me.

The adjacent room for refreshments worked very well, with good quality coffee, attentive service and the food served at lunch was well above expectations.

PP: Sort out the A/C, drag yourselves into the 21st Century on power supply and you have a great facility there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_from_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel was still undergoing renovations despite us checking that renovations would have been completed by the time of our arrival. Checking in was a smooth process, even though wi-fi access for staff using ipads slowed us down. Our room was a bit on the small side and our expeceted view of the harbour wasn't that great. The restaurants weren't inviting as we preferred to eat out. Access to the Marina Bay Sands and other shopping complexes was very handy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giessen, Germany
Level Contributor
320 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel is located on Raffles Blvd right on the Formula 1 racetrack, part of the track can be seen from the balcony. Hotel was recently completely remodelled. Very nice rooms with all ammenities, breakfast is really 1st class, is worth the price of 450 Sing $/night, in walking distance to the Marina Bay. staff is very friendly and helpful, need to use the Subway 10 and 4 to get to the shopping spree Orchard Road, Esplanade station is 5 minutes away, takes only 15 minutes and cost 2,40 Sing $, was very pleased, stayed twice within 2 weeks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueskies15-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSINGCS, Manager at Pan Pacific Singapore, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear blueskies15-10,

I am most delighted that you have enjoyed great hotel experiences with us recently and would like to extend my sincere gratitude for your recognition towards our effort. We will continue to create memorable hotel experiences for our guests and hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Regards,
Jennifer Wong
Manager, Guest Care Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The building is a definite hold over from the 80's but the inside has been completely modernized. The lobby is lovely and open. The rooms, while on the smaller side, were incredibly decorated with a great use of recessed lighting. The balcony with an overview of the bay was exceptional. The breakfast buffet was very extensive, nice quality. They had dishes that would have more suited lunch, like curries. Even though it's very large hotel, I liked the service a lot

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room with a balcony, bay view preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSINGCS, Manager at Pan Pacific Singapore, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Ramatash,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and I am pleased that you have thoroughly enjoyed the stay with us. Taking your positive feedback on board, we will continue to strive towards excellence upon current facility and service. We look forward to welcoming you again for another enriching & refreshing Pacific Experience in the near future!

Regards,
Jennifer Wong
Manager, Guest Care Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
230 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed Sept 2012 just before Grand Prix. I agree with many of the comments posted already, but I found the (few) downsides to be : groovy new check-in method didn't work for us; we were greeted & taken to a seating pod but from there it was delays and confusion. We had come in on a night flight & just wanted to get to our room, but no, the staff seemed intent on being a little disorganised, - everything from a welcome drink to signing in was just a bit more difficult than it should have been. Eventually it was "no, we'll take our own bags & we just want to get to our room !!" The room itself, very good, clean & modern, best shower ever ! Worst bit ? The king bed was hard and uncomfortable, - why do they choose these mattresses ? zen or something ?
Found the position of the hotel was good, - walked many places (despite the race track for the grand prix being set up). Service was very good generally, they just need more practice perhaps. A standout was the poolside service, - helpful and friendly, a nice lady running things efficiently. But when we checked out & needed to get a cab to the airport, they couldn't find our luggage which we had checked earlier. Took a long time, very, very frustrating. Still, we would stay again, & I can see it will improve over time.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony perhaps
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSINGCS, Manager at Pan Pacific Singapore, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear BJSSMelbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback with us here on TripAdvisor! We certainly appreciate your highlight on the areas of shortfall and the hotel management has taken it on board to seek for improvement. We aim to provide enriching & refreshing Pacific Experience to our guests and, in this regard, we will take your experience as a learning lesson to improve upon. We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back for a truly memorable hotel experience!

Regards,
Jennifer Wong
Manager, Guest Care Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed in Pan Pacific Sinfapore from 18-20th August.

Hotel is absolutely 5 star... From the lobby to the facilities and the rooms.

Promenade MRT station is about a 3 minute walk which is convenient.

Lobby is interesting with pods that you sit in... And spacious and never feels over crowded or cramped. The rooms are more than spacious, with big and very comfortable beds. Had a room with a balcony view of MBS which was fantastic.
Bathroom is very big too with a large shower. Everything was spotless clean which is great.

In terms of service, this was also above and beyond what was expected. When checking in, you sit down with a complimentary drink, while they come to you and check in for you... Really nice and relaxing way to check in after a long flight. Also, as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and they upgraded our room to the one with the balcony, and also sent us up a huge chocolate cake. Definitely more than expected and a nice touch. With further requests, all the staff were more than helpful and accommodating.

Must say they have a great friendly team working at the Pan Pacific Singapore.

Would definitely stay here again on returning to Singapore without a second thought.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wong777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPSINGCS, Manager at Pan Pacific Singapore, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear wong777,

It was our great pleasure to have you as our guest at the newly transformed Pan Pacific Singapore. I am delighted that you have enjoyed a great stay experience with us and thank you for your recognition towards our effort in creating memorable hotel experiences for our guests. We definitely look forward to welcoming you again for an enriching & refreshing Pacific Experience in the near future!

Regards,
Jennifer Wong
Manager, Guest Care Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,738 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,533 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#8 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#18 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Singapore

Property: Pan Pacific Singapore
Address: 7 Raffles Boulevard | Marina Square, Singapore 039595, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#8 Family Hotel in Singapore
#9 Business Hotel in Singapore
#14 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pan Pacific Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Marina Bay and Singapore's Central Business District, Pan Pacific Singapore provides newly-renovated rooms and suites with panoramic views of the city skyline. Linked via skybridge to three shopping malls and Suntec City Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre, guests will be surrounded by iconic attractions within walking distance including the ArtScience Museum, Gardens by the Bay, Marina Bay integrated resort and Esplanade - Theatres by the Bay. Leisure and business travellers will enjoy a superb choice of dining, entertainment and cultural atractions. Within the hotel, 6 signature award-winning restaurants, an outdoor swimming pool and 24-hour fitness centre offer options to dine and unwind at. The Promenade mrt station located within five minutes' walking distance offers utmost convenience and connectivity to the city and a complimentary weekday shuttle bus operates around the Marina Bay Financial Centre route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Pan Pacific Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Singapore Hotel Singapore
Pan Pacific Hotel Singapore
Singapore Pan Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing