We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good rooms. Rest badly lets it down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Ranked #5 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good rooms. Rest badly lets it down”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I travel to Singapore several times a year on business and a few times each year for personal visits. I often stay in the Ritz when on business as it is well located close to the financial district. My trips are short and busy so efficency, convenience and service are key.

I have mixed views on the Ritz. The rooms are very good. As other reviewers have said, very big, great views and the rooms feel like suites. Are a bit stark inside (Park Hyatt is the only chain that gets minimalism right in my opinion), but are very large and comfortable. Amongst the very best in Singapore. But the other aspects of the hotel badly let it down. The breakfast is awful. Have to queue up to get a table. Staff don't know what they are doing. A la carte order takes forever to come. Buffet is inedible; food has sat on the displays for hours. For hot cooked food this is completely unacceptable at a hotel like this. Food is snatched from your table - you are treated like a commodity by staff that does not know what service is. There is zero individuality in the service in common areas and this makes the hotel devoid of any character. As a frequent repeat guest you feel nothing towards the place. You are treated as a customer and not a repeat guest or client. I would never stay here if on a personal trip for this reason. Is easily fixable but I suspect the management does not care to take the time to do so. A pity as it could be a vey good hotel if this were put right.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,299
    783
    213
    90
    46
See reviews for
1,132
1,412
225
1,053
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (965)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

One of my favourite hotels in Singapore. Never disappoints. the rooms are more spacious than most other hotels. the views are just fabulous overlooking the entire marina bay. comfy beds, excellent food, good service. can't ask for more. conveniently located quite close to the business areas, the shopping malls are a short walk away. A tad more expensive than other hotels in its category - but well worth it. I like!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhappyMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have been coming for years. This hotel has rarely let me down.
Rooms:
The room is large and the bathroom is huge. Everyone will tell you the bathroom is great. Take a long soak in the bath with a huge octagonal window and if you have a view of the Marina it is wonderful. It will definitely ease the stresses of your long day!
The TV is a great size though the channel selection could be more comprehensive and there is a dock for your iPhone or iPad so you can watch your own movies or listen to your own music.
The bed is large and high and is one of the most comfortable beds I ever sleep on. It is also a good thing that they do not over load the bed with unnecessary pillows or throws and blankets

Dining
The room service menu is very comprehensive and everything I tasted was actually very good. One of the best in room dining around. Their Hainan Chicken Rice, burger, nasi goreng are my recommendations here
I don't care for buffets much but what is a surprise is the quality of their food at the bar, Chihuly, fish and chips are good as are satay and their star dish is the Foie Gras Sandwich. It is a MUST eat at this hotel. This is only available in the evening. My wife and I shared THREE portions it was so good!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IconicFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

First thought when i walked in was boring and old.
After checking in , the room was amazing and the view was perfect.
Complete wall was a window, so you'll always be looking outside.
Visited Singapore on a training/business.
Food was good. In-room dining much better than the hotels buffet.
Extreme luxury. At check-in they messed up and over charged my a night, but it was settled. Que for a taxi can get extremely long during the afternoon - Busy Hotel.
Pricey compared to other 5 stars in Singapore.

Room Tip: High floor with the views is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khaled_altamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I've stayed regularly in Singapore business hotels for more than 10 years, and the Ritz continues to be the best. From the moment you enter, you are taken care of. It doesn't matter whether you stay with a harbor side view - the rooms are great, the service is great. If there is one draw back, it is the cost. I could not afford to stay with my family, or even to eat there paying out of my own pocket. But it is right in line with other business hotel costs in Singapore.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very modern hotel with great food , the rooms are very nice and layout works for most international travellers. I must say the new marina bay casino right across from here is where I will stay next visit, this is a 6 star hotel...yes. 6.

Room Tip: You want the city view only.... The back view is brutal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed at the Ritz for 3 nights during a holiday in Singapore with my family including 2 young children. We came from a stay at the Shangrlia on Sentosa Island.

We arrived early afternoon and wow, what an impression.....staff are fully at your service too greet you upon arrival opening your taxi door, to opening front door. Nothing is a problem at this hotel. Our room was not ready as we were quite early, however we were given access to the pool until our room was available. Staff make up your sun beds, bring menus, take spa bookings all direct from my pool sun lounge. Pool staff even brought some pool toys for the kids.

Checkin on the 15th floor and wow wow wow, what an impressive room, one of the biggest "normal" size rooms I have ever stayed in! Beautifully furnished and a absolutely lovely bathroom with huge window by the bath overlooking the Marina Bay and its impressive buildings. (And a seperate toilet - my favourite!) We had a rollaway for the older child and our room still had a lot of space including a full size lounge and huge writing desk. Room serviced to a high standard every day and evening, with evening turndown and little chocolates left on pillows including complimentary water bottles.

Free wifi which was very fast, fantastic well equipped gym with complimentary cold water bottles available and the latest equipment including weights, fit balls, yoga mats. I visited the day spa which was also lovely with great staff.

The breakfast in the mornings were one of the best I have experienced with everything imaginable.......from made to order eggs, curries, cheeses, waffles, pancakes, soups, salads, cold meats, fresh juices poured for you, excellent fresh coffees made to order how you wish, to my children's favourite..........ice cream bar! So impressive with a variety of sauces, sprinkles and lollies.......I even had the vanilla bean ice cream with white chocolate sauce and macadamia nuts one morning! Everything is fresh and beautifully presented.

Location is great with a quick 5 minute walk across the walk bridge to Marina Bay complex with a huge shopping mall of shops and ice rink, play centre for the kids. Luxury branded shops included Tiffanys, LV, Gucci, Prada etc......ten minute walk to Suntec where we hopped on the duck tour bus, zoo trip etc.

Overall the staff bend over backwards for their guests, each and every staff member from the doorman, to security, cleaner, waitress are always saying hello, all beautifully presented and warm.

We moved onto the Intercontinental hotel for 3 nights after this experience as I am a Platinum Ambassador member and wanted the points and benefits of their programme was disappointed to find that hotel certainly dropped a huge level from the Ritz.

This hotel is an absolute gem, and an incredible experience. If you are on a budget it's worth the splurge just to experience it.....I couldn't fault the hotel who were incredibly child friendly, if I had too it was paying $12 for coffee but this is a six star hotel so who cares!

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for the Marina Bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luclen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#34 of 312 in Singapore
21,610 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
7,136 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#3 of 312 in Singapore
3,931 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Address: 7 Raffles Avenue, Singapore 039799, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#4 Family Hotel in Singapore
#4 Business Hotel in Singapore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes away from some of Singpaore's most iconic attractions including the Marina Bay and Singapore Flyer, The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore provides privileged access to one of the world's most vibrant cities. While the panoramic glittering views of the city skyline and Marina Bay invites intrigue, our Singapore hotel's central location tempts exploration. The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore has several outstanding reasons for guests to stay on the property a while before adventuring out, ranging from a stellar collection of 4,200 contemporary art pieces including works by Frank Stella, Dale Chihuly and Andy Warhol as well as the lush idyllic pool perfect for enjoying the tropical warmth at. Guests enjoy a multitude of shopping, dining and entertainment options at three shopping malls accessible via covered skybridge as well as public transportation options within walking distance. Dining Indulgences: Colony - A true taste of Singapore. Summer Pavilion - An intimate and sophisticated Cantonese dining experience. Chihuly Lounge - Linger over light meals and afternoon tea or sip cappuccinos and cocktails in the presence of Dale Chihuly's stunning glass sculptures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Millenia Singapore Hotel Singapore
Ritz Carlton Singapore
Ritz Singapore
Singapore Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing