We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have a couple of remarks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #10 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Our room was a bit musty from the humidity, this could be better attended to by maintenance.
Keep an eye out for monitor lizards. They sometimes like to join you in the man-made lagoon and will shock you when you see them swimming especially the kids!
Please have a lot at your room service. Needs some upgrade.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DohaRgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,999)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,035 - 4,041 of 4,999 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2007

This hotel could do with a major upgrade of facilities ; it feels old and could therefore do with a major renovation. Overall, not a good package for either the business or leisure traveller.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Gregory1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

My wife and I wanted to get out of town for our anniversary and chose Singapore as our destination. It was our first time staying at a Shangri-la property, but it looked like just the place for a relaxing weekend. We couldn't have been happier with our choice.

From the moment we arrived to the time of our departure, we were treated to wonderful service. We stayed in the Garden wing with a view over the pool. We arrived to find an anniversary cake waiting for us in the room .. a really nice gesture and a welcome sight after a long flight!

The pool was wonderful and we enjoyed spending our mornings there. There were usually few people there before 11:00 and was very relaxing. The service around the pool was fantastic.

The hotel is a short walk from Orchard Road ... no more than 10 minutes down the street.

We had a great stay and look forward to staying at another Shangri-la again soon. We can certainly recommend the Shangri-la Singapore without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StrudelMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

This was my first stay at the Shang, a two night stop-over in the legendary Valley Wing. I was well versed in what to expect, having carefully studied reviews here on Trip Advisor. Even so, nothing prepares you for quite the scale of this place, or the outstanding level of service. Within minutes I was being greeted by name, with my every need catered for, including needs I didn't know I had! The VW is simply majesterial, and for just $200 on top of the great rates from Singapore Airlines (and, for my second night RMG, aka AsiaBestHotels), it's more then value for money. I was quite happy to sacrifice the Garden Wing's balcony for a view over the pool which was breathtaking. Often throughout the day I'd pop back into my room to find little upgrades: a little chocolate treat here, a poignant passage from the 'Lost Horizon' there. If you take advantage of the laundry service, the way your clothes are delivered back to you is the icing on the cake - wicker baskets, gold trimmed lace around fine tissue paper. Magnificent.

As an aside, I have nothing positive to say about my experiences with Singapore Airline's transfer service ('SH Tours') who twice failed to show up - once for the night safari and second for the transfer to the airport; apparently it's beyond them that a hotel can have more then one entrance and despite verbal assurances that they understood that the VW has it's own lobby, I had to make my own way to both places after hanging around waiting for a bus that never showed up. So if you're going to do the stop-over (the hotel rates aren't any better then ABH, by the way) don't bother with the bus service.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank spurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

The Shangri La Hotel epitomises much of what Singapore has to offer. Great city views, fantastic hospitality, excellent food, lush gardens and perfect business facilities.

I wish I could have stayed more than 3 nights in this hotel. My wife and I had booked the cheapest rooms available as we were planning to use the hotel as a base and spend most of our time exploring Singapore. Upon arriving we were very surprised to be taken directly to our room for check-in by a courteous and knowledgeable member of staff, who quickly got the formalities over with; and then helped us with our many queries about Singapore. The room and bathroom were large and had all the ameneties one would expect of a modern 5-star hotel these days. We had a great view of the city and the lush gardens surrounding the hotel. We were so happy with our room we wondered how much better the more expensive rooms could possibly be!

The public areas and the huge lobby were decorated in a combination of contemporary and oriental styles. We never had dinner at the hotel, but the breakfast was out of this world, leaving nothing to be desired. You could try something different for many days and still be very full each time. We also had some drinks and snacks by the pool, and like the rest of the hotel the standards were exceptional.

I loved the fact that the pool was not gimmicky and was large enough for a proper swim and relative privacy. I took my laptop to the pool one day and was surprised to be able to get free Wifi there. I don't know whose wireless router I was using, but thank you for letting me check my emails!

The only problem with the hotel is that because it is in a residential area (a lovely green prestigious neighbourhood by the way), taxis are not as common as the hotels in the commercial districts; and at 'peak times' you can be in for a few minutes' wait.

If you've already booked this hotel, don't worry, well done, you've made a great choice.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank LondonMammoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

On our return from Australia, myself, my wife and our 15 year old daughter had the pleasure of stopping for two nights at the magnificent Shangri-la hotel in Singapore. We were greeted at the hotel door with orchids for the female members and made to feel very welcome indeed. I had booked a deluxe garden view room but discovered to our delight that we had been upgraded to the Valley Wing suite. The suite was amazing, with complementary chocolates, butler service, pre-prepared headed notepaper, 42” plasma screen, television in the bathroom, luxurious bath robes and so on. We had complementary breakfasts in the wonderful Summit Room, complementary drinks and canapés all day long in the lobby area. The pool is absolutely superb and the food in the 24 hour restaurant excellent.
The best aspect to this hotel however, is the staff. These are the most professional, courteous and friendly staff we have ever experienced. I had read previous Trip advisor reviews of this hotel before we booked and they are all understated! We were treated like royalty and made to feel that we were very special guests. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel that there was a genuine wish to ensure that we had a great stay.
The Shangri-la in Singapore is without doubt the best hotel we have ever experienced. Thanks to all in the Valley Wing for our short but unforgettable visit - you should be very proud of the standards you have achieved.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ClaretJug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

I was in Singapore for 5 days on a business trip. Normally I stay at the Fullerton because it's a 5 minute walk from our Singapore office but they quoted rates that were twice the Shangri-la's. What's worse Raffles the Plaza quote rates that were 3 times the Shang's rates!

I liked the Shang a lot. The service was great, room service took 15-20 minutes, the breakfast buffet at LINE was excellent, lots of variety to choose from. I even got 50% off at the breakfast buffet because I joined the Golden Circle Club!

The only thing that was kind of annoying was that if you had to get to the CBD (ie., Raffles Place) at around 9am and you left the hotel at 8:25am you would be standing in line for a very long time to get a taxi. I don't think this is the Shang's problem, the guys called taxis for us... it's a problem the Singapore gov't should address. You can never find taxis right off the street and if you call for one you have to pay a few $$ extra. Slightly annoying if you're not familiar with these unwritten rules.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Woodai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 316 in Singapore
22,424 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 316 in Singapore
7,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 316 in Singapore
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $282 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regularly voted among the top hotels in the world, the Shangri-La, Hotel Singapore, set in 15 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, is a truly luxurious oasis in the centre of bustling Singapore, a short walk from the main shopping, entertainment and dining districts. The hotel comprises 792 elegant guestrooms and suites with three distinctive wings: the newly renovated Tower Wing, with its contemporary relaxed vibe, housing the executive Horizon Club rooms and family-friendly rooms and suites; the urban resort Garden Wing, set amongst lush tropical foliage; and the exclusive Valley Wing for the discerning traveller. 127 service apartments and 55 luxurious condominium units are also available for longer staying guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing