We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic anniversary weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A fantastic anniversary weekend!”
Reviewed August 3, 2007

My wife and I wanted to get out of town for our anniversary and chose Singapore as our destination. It was our first time staying at a Shangri-la property, but it looked like just the place for a relaxing weekend. We couldn't have been happier with our choice.

From the moment we arrived to the time of our departure, we were treated to wonderful service. We stayed in the Garden wing with a view over the pool. We arrived to find an anniversary cake waiting for us in the room .. a really nice gesture and a welcome sight after a long flight!

The pool was wonderful and we enjoyed spending our mornings there. There were usually few people there before 11:00 and was very relaxing. The service around the pool was fantastic.

The hotel is a short walk from Orchard Road ... no more than 10 minutes down the street.

We had a great stay and look forward to staying at another Shangri-la again soon. We can certainly recommend the Shangri-la Singapore without hesitation.

  • Liked — Service, pool, atmosphere/grounds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StrudelMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,341
    851
    232
    85
    53
See reviews for
951
1,712
205
1,164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

The Shangri La Hotel epitomises much of what Singapore has to offer. Great city views, fantastic hospitality, excellent food, lush gardens and perfect business facilities.

I wish I could have stayed more than 3 nights in this hotel. My wife and I had booked the cheapest rooms available as we were planning to use the hotel as a base and spend most of our time exploring Singapore. Upon arriving we were very surprised to be taken directly to our room for check-in by a courteous and knowledgeable member of staff, who quickly got the formalities over with; and then helped us with our many queries about Singapore. The room and bathroom were large and had all the ameneties one would expect of a modern 5-star hotel these days. We had a great view of the city and the lush gardens surrounding the hotel. We were so happy with our room we wondered how much better the more expensive rooms could possibly be!

The public areas and the huge lobby were decorated in a combination of contemporary and oriental styles. We never had dinner at the hotel, but the breakfast was out of this world, leaving nothing to be desired. You could try something different for many days and still be very full each time. We also had some drinks and snacks by the pool, and like the rest of the hotel the standards were exceptional.

I loved the fact that the pool was not gimmicky and was large enough for a proper swim and relative privacy. I took my laptop to the pool one day and was surprised to be able to get free Wifi there. I don't know whose wireless router I was using, but thank you for letting me check my emails!

The only problem with the hotel is that because it is in a residential area (a lovely green prestigious neighbourhood by the way), taxis are not as common as the hotels in the commercial districts; and at 'peak times' you can be in for a few minutes' wait.

If you've already booked this hotel, don't worry, well done, you've made a great choice.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The occasional longish wait for taxis
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank LondonMammoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

On our return from Australia, myself, my wife and our 15 year old daughter had the pleasure of stopping for two nights at the magnificent Shangri-la hotel in Singapore. We were greeted at the hotel door with orchids for the female members and made to feel very welcome indeed. I had booked a deluxe garden view room but discovered to our delight that we had been upgraded to the Valley Wing suite. The suite was amazing, with complementary chocolates, butler service, pre-prepared headed notepaper, 42” plasma screen, television in the bathroom, luxurious bath robes and so on. We had complementary breakfasts in the wonderful Summit Room, complementary drinks and canapés all day long in the lobby area. The pool is absolutely superb and the food in the 24 hour restaurant excellent.
The best aspect to this hotel however, is the staff. These are the most professional, courteous and friendly staff we have ever experienced. I had read previous Trip advisor reviews of this hotel before we booked and they are all understated! We were treated like royalty and made to feel that we were very special guests. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel that there was a genuine wish to ensure that we had a great stay.
The Shangri-la in Singapore is without doubt the best hotel we have ever experienced. Thanks to all in the Valley Wing for our short but unforgettable visit - you should be very proud of the standards you have achieved.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ClaretJug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

I was in Singapore for 5 days on a business trip. Normally I stay at the Fullerton because it's a 5 minute walk from our Singapore office but they quoted rates that were twice the Shangri-la's. What's worse Raffles the Plaza quote rates that were 3 times the Shang's rates!

I liked the Shang a lot. The service was great, room service took 15-20 minutes, the breakfast buffet at LINE was excellent, lots of variety to choose from. I even got 50% off at the breakfast buffet because I joined the Golden Circle Club!

The only thing that was kind of annoying was that if you had to get to the CBD (ie., Raffles Place) at around 9am and you left the hotel at 8:25am you would be standing in line for a very long time to get a taxi. I don't think this is the Shang's problem, the guys called taxis for us... it's a problem the Singapore gov't should address. You can never find taxis right off the street and if you call for one you have to pay a few $$ extra. Slightly annoying if you're not familiar with these unwritten rules.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — standing in line for a taxi at 8:30am in the morning
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

I stayed here late last year for a business trip. I stayed in the Garden wing, and it was the best hotel experience I've ever had. The hotel and pool area are beautiful, the breakfast buffet is huge and high quality, the staff are incredibly customer-service oriented, and the room was spacious, airy, clean, and beautiful. I hope I have the opportunity to come to Singapore again, so that I can stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Teale186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

Well finally it was my turn after having read the review on this site for some time I was really looking forward to going and I was not disappointed.
We arrived into singapore airport at 0630 and were taken straight to the hotel who had our room ready without having to pay extra. We were also given a room upgrade to the Garden Wing. The rooms were lovely and clean and the bed was big and very comfortable, we were advised by the concierge that we had 2 bottles of complimentary water in the mini bar and space to put our own drinks as it was more cost efficient to buy from the seven eleven.
The pool area is lovely not that we used it as it was our first time to Singapore so we spent every day sightseeing. We were lucky to have breakfast included as it is quite expensive but well worth it with a very large selection of items from around the world to choose from.
One thing we did was go to Raffles for the high tea which was an experience and then make the walk to raffles landing site. We also did the Zoo and the night safari which were both excellent.
One thing I wanted to do was to go to Lau Pa Sat but unfortunately we didnt make it. Never mind there is always next time.
If anybody has any doubts about this hotel dont the staff are very friendly and knowledgeable and there is always a smile and a greeting.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vicki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

We stayed in one of the Horizon Club Premier Rooms...what a treat? We were greeted in reception and whisked way to the 24th floor where the Horizen club had it's own private reception. Wine and canapes were provided every evening at 6pm...no charge. The room was spectacular but the bathroom was glorious. I wasn't too keen on a stop over in Singapore but after a very tiring trip last year back from Australia we decided it would be necessary. I loved the hotel and Singapore was beautiful. Spent the morning shopping in Orchard Road and then the afternoon by the pool a having foot massage, cocktails etc. The staff and service was amazing...very gracious and hospitable. Would most definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank kagriff4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21,347 reviews
Marina Bay
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#2 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing