We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just keeps getting better !!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just keeps getting better !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2007

Just had a fabulous week at the Shangri la Valley Wing. I stayed at the Shang three years ago when my husband was on business. We were thoroughly spoilt. My husband was there for about two months I stayed for three weeks. We had a premier room in the Horizon club Tower Wing. Fantastic. Breakfast may be taken on the 24th floor. Wonderful waiter service excellent food and views to die for. Or in the main buffet restaurant on the ground floor. The best choice I have ever seen for breakfast or even lunch for that matter. Because all cuisines are available. We loved having curries and naan breads for breakfast. Or noodles dim sum and fried rices. Also Japanese which I am not a fan of . English eggs bacon sausage mushrooms omelettes etc American pancakes and waffles made fresh in front of you and anything else you can think of. Wonderful juices and fresh fruits. Pastries and muffins doughnuts and danish the list just goes on and on.

We returned the following year for a four week stay. They were busy renovating the Valley Wing and the main ground floor restaurant and we just couldnt take the noise so stayed at Traders just down the road. Sister hotel to the Shang. Ok but not in the same league. But while there heard wonderful things about what was happening in the Valley Wing.
Apparently once completed David and Victoria stayed there when in Singapore for the Olympic bids. So daughter and I decided to pay a visit and experience this for ourselves. If its good enough for Posh and Becks.......

Valley Wing was wonderful. Bathroom was gorgeous and big enough to accomodate two women !!!!! That alone speaks volumes. Good quality toiletries replenished immediately. Abundance of towels v.v. thick and fluffy. As were the white towelling robes. Nice touch also were the lightweight cotton kimono style robes which were lovely and cool to wear after a long steamy soak in the bath watching telly. Only thing missing was a few soaps like coronation street or eastenders.
Seperate dressing room area with loads of wardrobe space. We requested extra hangers and a dozen were brought immediately. Daughter hasnt quite grasped the art of packing for a week and packed instead for a month (incase we stayed on ? I wish....) But no problem there was more than enough room in robes and drawers.
To be honest I was dreading twin beds. But they were very big. Just short of a normal double bed in the UK. Daughter thought it was very comfortable. I on the other hand compared it to sleeping on concrete. However I do normaly sleep on a memory foam so perhaps that was just me.
Well stocked mini bar though V.V. EXPENSIVE. Two complimentary bottles of fresh water left everyday. A chocolate left everynight. Very good turndown service. With slipmat left at side of bed along with your slippers. Excellent standard of housekeeping.
One small niggle was the standard of bedding. Plain white sheets and duvet covers, soft and comfortable and all changed daily but definately in need of replacement. Duvets often had threadbare patches and twice pillowcases had actual holes in them! Not in keeping with a five star hotel. Dont think Posh and Becks would have tolerated that.
Breakfast in the Summit room was something else. Magnificent. Half expected the queen to join us . Everything available t the main restaurant (now called "The Line") is available in the Summit room but mostly served to you by the most polite and pleasant group of people. "Nothing was too much trouble" just doesn't do it when descibing the level of service afforded by these wonderful attentive but unobtrusive people. I am loathe to call them waiters and waitresses because they were much more than that. Greeting you by name each morning looking genuinely pleased to see you. Noting that they had missed you the previous morning when daughter had decided to try the Line for breakfast . This standard of service carried through to the champagne bar in the lobby where the same personel looked after us dishing up snacks and treats afternoon tea as good as the Ritz. Delicate hot canapes delicious especially when washed down with copious amounts of complimentary champagne. Moet and Chandon no less. All refreshments were there for the asking. Tea coffee juices coctails spirits. available from 11am thru' tll 10.30pm. And all preferences duly noted and remembered. Very weak tea for me decaf coffee for daughter. Always a glass of water served with our champagne and all prepared with out being asked usually just an acknowleding nod before we even settled in our favourite sofa. And there we would sit for a very comfortable hour or so of people watching pampering and being pandered to.

All of this doesnt come cheap but hey if you are staying at the Shangri la anyway for a few pounds extra it is worth splashing out and treating your self. The price of alcholic drinks in Singapore is so expensive it wont take you long to work that it will actually save you money to upgrade to the Valley Wing.

Having said that, IF the only way you can afford to stay at the Shang is in the most basic room anywhere in the hotel, then DO IT. Because it will be FAB anyway. The hotel is an experience not to be missed. With wonderful service no matter who you are. A beautiful pool where once again attendants take care of your every need. Coming around regularly with complimentary fresh fruits and ice cold towels. Waiters on hand to take your drinks and food orders.
TIP... ask for a glass of iced water. This is free. Order a 1 litre bottleof water and it will cost you 22 singapore dollars, just over £7. And it is not served in an ice bucket therefore will be warm before you can drink it all.
I am already planning return trip in September. Once youve have stayed there you are spoilt and wont ever want to go anywhere else. Like I said if its good enough for Posh and Becks.....

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
12 Thank judyush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,278
    837
    227
    84
    51
See reviews for
935
1,670
202
1,151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2007

My parents and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights on our way to Australia for a 5 week trip visiting relatives. I had read all the reviews on this site and was very hopeful for our visit. The hotel and Singapore far exceeded my expectations.
The hotel is beautiful both inside and out and the staff are friendly and very attentive. It was my mothers 65th birthday whilst we were there and they sent wine and chocolates to her room, a touch which was greatly appreciated.
The rooms are spacious and very comfortable; the restaurants are of an excellent quality without being over priced and the pool is large and well maintained. It is situated at the top of Orchard Road and only a 10 minute stroll to all the shops and restaurants. Taxis are very cheap so you don't even have to walk if the heat gets too much!!
We are already planning our next visit.

  • Liked — Location, style, comfort and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing, perfect
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonkeysUncleYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2007

This was one of the few hotels in Singapore that would allow 4 person room occupancy for one room for a last minute booking in Japanese school holidays.

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and finding the information from everyone else really helpful.

I travelled with my 3 kids, the oldest of whom was 12 so he was classified as an adult, which really made it 2 adults and 2 kids. When we checked in to the Garden Wing for 5 nights, we were given a better bedding arrangement than we had been told when we booked over the phone and the extra bed was free. They gave us complimentary Golden Circle club membership which offered a discount on breakfasts and other things, and can be used for all future stays. We also got a bowl of fresh fruit in the room every day.

The kids loved it! They were always welcomed by name by the staff at reception in our wing, and when my elder son got sick (just a bad cough), he was given a get well letter and a little Shangri-La teddy bear by the staff. There is the International medical Centre in Tanglin Mall just a short walk down from the hotel.

The breakfast buffet is fantastic. So many different cuisines to choose from, but it is expensive, and even though the Golden Circle membership halved the adult price, it didn't cover the kids price at all. When I made a comment the next breakfast that the kids don't really eat enough to get their money's worth, we suddenly found we weren't even charged for the 2 younger kids breakfasts, which was a nice gesture. I also filled in the hotel survey on the last night we were there, and in the morning got a complimentary voucher for food and beverages, which meant 4 of us ate breakfast for practically nothing.

The room service menu for kids looks basic and expensive, but when you go to some of the restaurants at the attractions like the Zoo or the Night Safari, then you realise the hotel room service price is not that bad, and the food was very good.

The hotel is set a little bit back off Orchard Road, but it is only a few minutes walk down the hill to get there, or there is a complimentary shoppers' bus which takes you into town, with drop offs at a couple of the bigger shopper malls. They give you a card with a timetable so you can coordinate your return journey which was good when you have 3 tired kids. Once we tried getting a taxi from the same mall as the drop off and the queues were shocking, so the hotel bus is a must! There is also the Singapore Airlines bus which is $3 each if you show your boarding pass within 7 days, and it leaves just down the road from the hotel on Orchard Rd. It does a big circuit right round Singapore and you can get on and off as much as you like.

The pool was always clean and well cared for, and the staff would set us up with chairs and towels and made life very comfortable. The kids loved the pool and spent many hours in there. It was not crowded at all, and the fountains were a big hit. There was also a shallow area for the smaller kids roped off from the deep pool.

Overall our stay was excellent and the kids and I would love to go back again!

  • Liked — The pool and the food
  • Disliked — Breakfast was very expensive
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tokyo_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2007

Returned for third visit - booked a garden room - as I love the bouganvillea framed views and was very gratified to be upgraded to a garden suite. Really good sized rooms and its great to have a separate lounge area - so that you can do your 'awake at 3am' jet lag adjustments without disturbing ones partner.

Its been a few years since our last stay and the revamping of the coffee shop area into 'The Line' is great - really clean modern lines and a great selection of food. Had one of the best foot massages ever by the pool. The real strength of this place is the staff - so well trained, from porters to managers - managing to sound as though they really care that you have a great stay- and delivering on every request.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Degas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2007

This was heaven on earth. An amazing hotel. We just could not find fault. service was excellent. And when travelling long haul that matters we had a speedy check in and the room was so inviting after our long journey we had a bath tub and a shower and a beautiful view.

  • Liked — The pool was so inviting
  • Disliked — this hotel had no faults
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deekdeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2007

This is my second visit to this hotel and I again booked into the Valley Wing, therefore I can't comment on the rest of the hotel.

What I can say though is the Valley Wing is spectacular. The personal service you receive from the moment your car pulls in the driveway is second to none. The receptionists is extremely helpful and after being presented with an orchid take you to your room (via a private elevator only accessed by residents of the wing).

The rooms are luxurious (although no balcony) and the maid service is first class. The bed is one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in and the bathroom is one of the most luxurious I've experienced in a hotel. All the extra touches are there to make your stay special.

The bar area (where drinks are complimentary) is light and airy and the harpists adds to the lovely atmosphere this hotel promotes.

The staff are wonderful and will do anything for you (including fetching band aids and tweezers for a splinter!).

The hotel is just wonderful and if you get the chance to go there...then GO!

  • Disliked — Public transport is a bit lacking to the hotel, and if you've enjoyed an evening at Boat Quay for example the walk from the nearest tube is quite far!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CHabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2007

Me and my wife have just returned from our honeymoon where we spent the first 5 nights in the garden wing of the Shangri La hotel in Singapore. I had used trip advisor to choose this hotel and was I am pleased to say that this hotel lived up to the hype in all respects.

From check in through to exit this hotel was a dream and the rooms, breakfasts and blue bar were truly something to behold. Cannot recommend this place highly enough!

Far enough away from Orchard Rd to not hear the traffic but easily walkable although complimentry shuttle services are laid on throughout the day.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Malcolm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,749 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#1 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing