We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once Again fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #10 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2007

This is my second visit to this hotel and I again booked into the Valley Wing, therefore I can't comment on the rest of the hotel.

What I can say though is the Valley Wing is spectacular. The personal service you receive from the moment your car pulls in the driveway is second to none. The receptionists is extremely helpful and after being presented with an orchid take you to your room (via a private elevator only accessed by residents of the wing).

The rooms are luxurious (although no balcony) and the maid service is first class. The bed is one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in and the bathroom is one of the most luxurious I've experienced in a hotel. All the extra touches are there to make your stay special.

The bar area (where drinks are complimentary) is light and airy and the harpists adds to the lovely atmosphere this hotel promotes.

The staff are wonderful and will do anything for you (including fetching band aids and tweezers for a splinter!).

The hotel is just wonderful and if you get the chance to go there...then GO!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CHabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,240 - 4,246 of 5,197 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2007

Me and my wife have just returned from our honeymoon where we spent the first 5 nights in the garden wing of the Shangri La hotel in Singapore. I had used trip advisor to choose this hotel and was I am pleased to say that this hotel lived up to the hype in all respects.

From check in through to exit this hotel was a dream and the rooms, breakfasts and blue bar were truly something to behold. Cannot recommend this place highly enough!

Far enough away from Orchard Rd to not hear the traffic but easily walkable although complimentry shuttle services are laid on throughout the day.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Malcolm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2007

Having been born in Singapore I had to return for my 50th Birthday to see what it was all about.

We stayed in the Garden wing on our first visit, which was 3 days before going on to tour places in Malaysia. There was nothing else to compare with on that trip and we vowed to return and bring our daughter.

In 2006 we went back for 4 days and as I had phoned ahead to say that I was coming ,I was expected

What I did not expect was the upgrade to the Valley wing. this was Wow with bells on. The most wonderful service and attention to detail, we stayed whilst there was royalty from the middle east staying and we were treated as well as they were if not better.

They would spend hours with my young daughter doing her hair and playing games with her.

I have read the other reviews, and all the compliment are true, this is a wonderful place to stay and relax.


Breakfast in the Valley wing is like the best dining experience ever and I certainly rate it above the Savoy in London (sorry Gordon).

This year we are going back, Yes I can stay at a lower cost Hotel but the staff at the Shangri-La have earnt my loyalty and this time I am staying for 2 Whole weeks In theValley Wing.

Trust me You will not be dissapointed.

Stayed: April 2006
9  Thank justjack.buckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

The vicinity of the hotel is not what you would expect of a 5 star hotel, however once you alight from your car that feeling swiftly changes. We were met by numerous hotel staff who welcomed us to the hotel. The checking in process was highly efficient and as everybody else does we upgraded to the club floor, well worth the extra money.
Our room was spacious and luxurious withsplendid views if Singapore. The club floor was an added bonus, wonderful service and excellent food.
We have stayed in 5 star hotels throughout the world, the Shangri La in Singapore takes some beating, I would highly recommennd it to anyone.

Stayed: December 2006
10  Thank Cloughie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2007

I upgraded to the Valley wing (before I left) as a result of previous reviews. Hotel was every bit as good as I hoped. Super room, fantastic bathroom, great service. Will return.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank markanddoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2007

I used to live in SIngapore and I've also visited as part of many holidays and business trips. I've therefore stayed in many of the high-end hotels but this was my first time in the Shangri La. I enjoyed my stay and would come back but it didn't blow me away like some of the other hotels in Singapore have done.

Service - front desk was absolutely excellent. Check in and check out very quick with no problems and wonderfully friendly staff. However, the service at breakfast and at the Lobby Bar was poor. At breakfast, I was kept waiting ages before I was seated, they brought me coffee instead of tea, took ages to change it etc etc. In the Lobby Bar I timed it - I was kept waiting 25 minutes after ordering a cocktail and then it took them 15 minutes to bring me the bill after I asked for it.

Rooms - lovely. I stayed in the Garden Wing and my room was very big and had a lovely balcony which I sat on every afternoon. The bathroom was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Pool - Nice pool but crowded. I was there for Chinese New Year and by 10am, they had run out of sunloungers and were therefore bringing chairs out of the conference rooms.

Food - pricey but good. Room service was very quick. Excellent choice at breakfast (sadly I didn't have enough space in my stomach to try everything).

Location - nice location in the leafy residential area of Singapore. Very short walk to Orchard Road. This is a good location if you want a relaxing stay, away from it all. It's better to stay by the river or Marina Bay if you want easier access to restaurants and bars.

All in all, this is a nice hotel but I think I slightly prefer the Ritz Carlton and Pan Pacific.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Anjali1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2007

My wife and I arrived at the hotel on the first leg of a round the world holiday. Fortunately we were upgraded to the Valley Wing which was wonderful with beautiful rooms, spacious and extremely comfortable. The staff were so friendly, courteous and helpful and made you feel special. The hotel set a standard that we never achieved in any other hotel in Australia or USA. We cannot wait to go back as a stopover en route to Australia or New Zealand and would always recommend the Shangri La

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank mk702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 317 in Singapore
23,514 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
8,019 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 317 in Singapore
1,269 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#5 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $285 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regularly voted among the top hotels in the world, the Shangri-La, Hotel Singapore, set in 15 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, is a truly luxurious oasis in the centre of bustling Singapore, a short walk from the main shopping, entertainment and dining districts. The hotel comprises 792 elegant guestrooms and suites with three distinctive wings: the newly renovated Tower Wing, with its contemporary relaxed vibe, housing the executive Horizon Club rooms and family-friendly rooms and suites; the urban resort Garden Wing, set amongst lush tropical foliage; and the exclusive Valley Wing for the discerning traveller. 127 service apartments and 55 luxurious condominium units are also available for longer staying guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing