We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #8 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed August 14, 2006

Hi,

Had four night stay in July, and were bowled over by the opulence, style, service and friendliness of the hotel. It was my wifes birthday whilst we were there, and we returned from a trip to find wine, chocolates and fruit i the room with a letter/card from guest relations.

Breakfasts awesome......a superb yoghurt bar being a highlight.

Love to return

  • Liked — opulence and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ateve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,364
    859
    235
    85
    54
See reviews for
957
1,724
207
1,177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (993)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2006

Our days followed a similar pattern. On arrival we were given a glass of champagne and decided we would up grade to the club rooms for a modest $50 extra/night. We had a work out in the huge gym each morning to give us an appetite for the free buffet breakfast on the 24th floor. You do get access to a private gym but the bigger public gym is more extensive and was never overly busy. I use a gym 3 times a week at home and it was good to be able to keep up a regular workout. The pool is enormous . There was a conference of defence ministers at our hotel for 3 or 4 days so there were security cordons and cops wandering past the pool with sub machine guns. Probably best avoided if possible. Complimentary wine or cocktails in the club lounge from 5 to 7 were delightful and the staff were extraordinarily attentive.Dinner in Blu was expensive but delicious. I had foie gras and alaskan Halibut. On a future visit we would try the restaraunt on the 70th floor New Asia bar which affords better views. Finally the rooms were very spacious and deliciously comfortable.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — security due to defence conference
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Alantroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

For sheer class, this hotel takes some beating. From the moment you are welcomed by one of the "Guest Relations Officers" you are made to feel you are in a special hotel. I didnt take my business cards with me (after all I was on holiday !), so I was surprised when I was asked for one to assist with the check in. My wife had one of her business cards, which saved the day.

We stayed in the Tower Wing overlooking Orchard Road, and had inter-connecting rooms so that our two children (13 & 10)were always near.

We ate at the Line for breakfast on the first day, which although expensive, was excellent in terms of quality and quantity available. My wife and I also went to the Blu Bar on our last night, which is on the top floor overlooking Singapore, and had a Singapore Sling.

The pool area was clean, spacious and relaxing although there was trouble obtaining sun beds if you wanted them in the sunny aspect. Service was very good, and taxis so cheap to the Night Zoo, and to Sentosa, where we swam with the doplhins in a pre-arranged "training" session, and also went on the Luge.

We also used one of their four tennis courts for a game, and our son played on the minature golf course. The only down side was we were told we could use the Health Club to shower and change before our evening pick-up at 8 p.m on the way to the airport. Unfortunately when we got there, we were shown to one of the small individual spa rooms, which had limited facilities, and our children had to go out of the Health Club to use the toilets as they were not allowed inside the Club, even if accompanied by one of us. This seemed all a little pointless and gained a small black mark.

The hotel is a comfortable ten minute walk to Orchard Road, and the wealth of shopping opportunities take your breath away. Also went on the "bumboat" ride" for free as we were on the Singapore Stopover with SIA.

All in all, a hotel with an experience not to miss.

  • Liked — Food and the location
  • Disliked — The lack of a good late check out room to change/shower for all the family
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to purchase the breakfast cost in any pre-booking.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank HolidayAid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

A 2 rating is adequate but some problems right?

I was very familiar with this hotel and chain, having stayed here for nearly 3 months from December to February. I have also stayed in Island Shang HK and Shaon KL. This stay in Sing was for 12 nights.

When I checked in after a long haul flight followed directly by a meeting I was half asleep and was pestered by the receptionist to have 'A much better room', free breakfast, free Internet' The next day I asked to have the room I had originally booked because I wanted a balcony and did not need free breakfast, and also because the Internet was not free as stated - I am sure that the staff get bonusses for achieveing an 'Upgrade'.

Anyhow, the new room in the garden wing was noisy: I could hear noises everytime someone flushed their toilet or let out a bath, and could also hear stomping of people on the landing. Quiet is very important to me when I stay away from home. I bought ear plugs. There was only a trickle of hot water. The air con was either too hot or FAR to cold.

The Line restaurant used to be cool, but has lost something, it seems stressed. There was never enough room around the pool. A soft drinks convention that was staying meant that great big red branded umbrellas appeared by the pool ...bright red - not at all stylish. The outside of Blu bar stinks of cigarettes.

The reception staff seemed very stressed, I kept well clear.

There are other good hotels out there...

  • Liked — Pillows
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont be pressured at reception
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MattDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2006

We stayed at the Shangri La for four nights in July at the start of our trip to South East Asia. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Orchard Road although the hotel has a frequent shuttle bus to take you there and back. We took taxis to most places that we visited due to the fact that they are incredibly cheap e.g. we went to the night safari about 35 mins away and the taxi fare was around £3.

We had booked a hotel in the tower wing which was spacious and had a floor to ceiling window overlooking the pool and gardens. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had lots of toiletries that were restocked twice a day. We also recived complimentary jasmine tea on our first two nights as a welcome which was a nice touch.

Breakfast at the Line was included in our rate. It was absolutely fantastic. The choice was greater than we have ever experienced before - dozens of different cuisines to try and you could eat as much as you liked. We also went to the Line for dinner one evening and the dinner buffet was definitely along the same lines and we would recommend this as well.

We had dinner at Blu on our first evening and had their signature tasting menu which was excellent. The views of the city from the restaurant are well worth it. If you didn't want to spend your money in the restaurant there is a bar that serves cocktails where you can get a similar view for a fraction of the cost (note alcohol is not particularly cheap in Singapore).

We made use of the pool and spa facilities, both of which were excellent. The spa, in particular, was very reasonably priced and the therapists were very friendly.

We cannot fault this hotel which set the standard for the rest of our trip - the food here even put the food at the Mandarin Oriental in KL in the shade - and would definitely recommend this if you are visiting Singapore.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Travelaholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

Out of this world, This was the first leg of our honeymoon and was fantastic! Service excellent hotel was magnificent the roof top bar was great residents only nice and quiet relaxing whilst overlooking the city. Just a ten min walk from orchard road thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank miabailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2006

Stayed there for business several days.
Great hotel, magnificant gardens and swiming pool, superbe room tastefully decorated (fusion design) with large bathroom bath + shower. Breakfast top quality. Several restaurants including a excellent japanese.
As usal in Asian palaces, service is dedicated and attentionated which makes you feeling special.
It is a top business hotel with a "holidays feeling".
The only critic I could make is that the hotel is a bit remoted and you will need to take a taxi to go everywhere. However, I used to walk to the top of Orchard road in 15'.
The staff, although friendly, was not very efficiant. (They could not manage to book me a ticket for a show and I ended up to buy it myself !!).
If you can offer it is a great place to stay in Singapore.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jcjubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 312 in Singapore
21,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 312 in Singapore
7,125 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#8 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing