We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Kigali
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed December 22, 2009

Lovely Hotel, amazing breakfast buffet. Superb service and friendly staff.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kigzresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,624
    915
    256
    93
    69
See reviews for
1,089
1,826
230
1,277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

I have to tip my hat off to all the staff to thank them for our very memorable stay (with the one exception of a snotty hostess who didn't like us sitting down in the lobby rest area without buying a drink or a meal - please remedy management)

The brilliant concierge Johnny Hor, the super efficient bellboys, and the lovely hostess ladies casually drifting around the inner lobby area really do deliver the most personal of services making you feel part of the family. How they remember all the guests names is a mystery to me.

I also have to say the service we had when dining in the in-house Chinese Restaurant (sorry the name escapes me) were incredible.

Thanks also to the reception staff for the upgrade to the garden wing, good sized rooms in a quiet location, just what we wanted.

Many folk will I am sure find the location too far from the action, but transport is very cheap and sometimes it is highly desirable to escape the crowds and noise, particularly if you want a good nights sleep.

I cannot remember a single hotel we have visited which has offered such a vast selection of breakfast options - it is worth staying here for the breakfast alone.

Worth mentioning that the hotel hosted an evening event for a number of diplomats and other VIPs, if it is good enough for them........then it was certainly good enough for us!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestMidsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Grt place with luxury away from crowd

  • Liked — Grt place with away from crowd.
  • Disliked — Bit away from Town,
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank amit2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Shangri-La is just different from other five-star hotel, quite surroundings, first-class service and i love the fitness room. I am very precautious about the bathroom and i really could not find a hair. It is just lovely!!! Enjoy your stay

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sissyhuang2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We booked 4 rooms in this hotel through a cousin who apparently has often used this hotel for her business colleagues and associates. We were in Singapore for her wedding celebration and it turned out to be a perfect holiday.

Rooms had a very pleasant ambiance and were immaculately cleaned daily. Service staff were very friendly and alwasy helpful (nothing is too difficult for them). Some of the housekeeping staff had very little English but this was not a problem as we can always dial the hotel's Service Centre for requests.

Location is right in the city but we must walk a bit to Orchard Road. The hotel provides daily shuttles to Takashimaya and other shopping spots - great service with reliable timing.

Fitness centre and swimming pool were so nice: lots of sporting equipments, immaculately clean, pleasant ambiance, very helpful staff/attendants. The lockers are so clean; better than those in most city hotels we have ever stayed. Free internet access with high speed was a great plus.

We will come back to this hotel in our next Singapore trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scapilli_Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2009

I have been staying at the SHANG on and off since 1973. The old lady can still hold her head up mainly due to the amount of land surrounding the property. This gives you a feeling of being outside the hustle of the town. It was a great hotel 25 years ago but now has stiff competition, My desision to stay usually depends on what deals are on offer, the choice is great in singapore so its worth trying out new properties!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

I really have mixed feelings about this property . The location is a major drawback.
The Hotel gives a feeling of being to large , like living in Grand central Station. This can be avoided by staying in the tower section , where the rooms are better as well.
The rooms otherwise are spacious , but decor and comfort level not up par with newer Shang properties elsewhere in Asia.
If you stay on the club level you will have access to the club lounge for breakfast in the morning and snacks and drinks during the day. The club lounge is very nice , actually one of the nicest in Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetlaggad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 315 in Singapore
1,049 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 315 in Singapore
7,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regularly voted among the top hotels in the world, the Shangri-La, Hotel Singapore, set in 15 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, is a truly luxurious oasis in the centre of bustling Singapore, a short walk from the main shopping, entertainment and dining districts. The hotel comprises 792 elegant guestrooms and suites with three distinctive wings: the newly renovated Tower Wing, with its contemporary relaxed vibe, housing the executive Horizon Club rooms and family-friendly rooms and suites; the urban resort Garden Wing, set amongst lush tropical foliage; and the exclusive Valley Wing for the discerning traveller. 127 service apartments and 55 luxurious condominium units are also available for longer staying guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing