We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure indulgence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pure indulgence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I think the Shangri-La is a great hotel but if you're in the mood for being totally spoilt - then this is the place to go! We stayed in the Valley Wing of the Shangri-La. It has it's own entrance and reception area - there's a large lounge which serves complimentary drinks between 10am -10pm. A separate dining area which provides a delightful buffet & a la carte breakfast. If that's not enough - then try the High Tea elegantly served every afternoon. Still hungry? Have no fear - you can indulge in canapés and drinks between 5-7pm too! All this is included for club guests of the Valley Wing.
The suite itself was large and extremely comfortable - oversized king bed, TV, stereo, Nespresso machine, fridge stocked with complimentary soft drinks. Beautiful bathroom with L'occitane products. Seriously, who could ask for more? We were totally spoilt! The staff were all magnificent. Nothing can be faulted. Combine all this with a glorious swimming pool, great location - not too far from Orchard Rd (and an hourly shuttle bus if necessary... it is hot to walk after all), plus numerous bars and restaurants in the main tower of the hotel.
Sadly we were only there for three nights after a European holiday. I would have happily stayed there longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank series49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your positive review via Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at The Valley Wing, our ultimate sanctuary. Please know that your praises will be shared with my team, especially the chefs.

I look forward to welcoming both of you back soon!

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,278
    837
    227
    84
    52
See reviews for
935
1,671
202
1,151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

As frequent guests to this hotel chain across Asia , this hotel lives up to its 5 star status. We travelled with a young family and were made just as welcome to the hotel as 'important' business people of whom there were many. We stayed at the garden wing and Chanel the manager was so thoughtful and proactive of our family's needs that my young daughter felt compelled to write a thank you letter to her. We don't demand much from our stays other than pool time so it's just nice to pay money and get a good service unlike our experiences in hotels in Australia. The rooms are clean, it's close to the Forum on Orchard Road a shopping mall that specialises in kids clothing, toys etc and there's genuine warmth and hospitality from staff.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite in the newly refurbished garden wing is comfortable for a young family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MM74L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you, and to your daughter, for the compliment! It is always heartening to receive positive comments from our guests, but especially so from a junior guest. I am glad to know that your family enjoyed your vacation at the Garden Wing. Please be assured that I will share your feedback with Chanel.

I look forward to welcoming all of you back soon!

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

A sincere thank you to Chanel, Garden Wing Manager, Janice and the service reception employees for showing genuine affection to my three yr old son and seven yr old daughter during our recent stay. The toys, little chocolates and little lolly gifts are big deals to the kids and make their holiday memorable and enjoyable too.

We loved the one bedroom suite suggestion from Chanel for more room with two kids in the Garden Wing. Access to pool and Waterfall Cafe is very easy.

Post renovation now, rooms are very quiet, very well laid out and lots of space which is useful in a rainy afternoon or with tired kids.

As always, we define value by price paid and service received, amenities like the excellent lagoon pool and room cleanliness. For value, this beats St Regis for me (despite being a platinum SPG member) bc of the genuine friendliness of the staff.

Thank you so much SL.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank luckylorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest

Welcome back! Many thanks for your heartwarming review via Tripadvisor. I am really glad to learn that your family and you have enjoyed your stay at the Garden Wing, our urban resort. Please be assured that your compliments will be shared with my team members, especially Chanel, Janice and the reception team.

I look forward to welcoming all of you back soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

A great stay.

Friendly staff, lovely accommodation, great facilities. Food at the line was fabulous and the breakfast offering was also very good. The eggs were cooked perfectly and the service was really quick.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M1SSST3PHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest

Many thanks for sharing your positive review via Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your Shangri-La experience. Our chefs at The Line will be delighted to know about your compliment.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and 9 month old recently joined me on a business trip to Singapore. At every stage the staff at Shangri-La went out of their way to make our trip enjoyable.

Location was excellent. A 5 minute walk to Orchard road or 10 minutes by taxi to downtown.

You do get what you pay for and there are obviously cheaper accommodation options available. However, if the budget allows it is a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear John

Thank you for your positive review via Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that your family and you have enjoyed your Shangri-La experience. I look forward to welcoming all of you back soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I stayed a week in the Valley wing in February, this must have been my fifth (or sixth) stay there. It's still my favourite in Singapore. Valley wing is like a separate calm and private hotel in a hotel. The staff is the best , the rooms really nicely decorated ( none of the usual brown/beige), the room service is brilliant and the lounge like a home away from home.thank you all staff in the VW!

If I could change something I would build a separate pool for the VW like they have in the Bangkok SL Krungthep wing. Alltough the pool is really nice, it's quite busy and the service is not the best possible/as expected. Six mornings out of seven I didn't get any help with setting the lounger, which I expect in a five star hotel. Also, a man next to me stripped out of his day clothes and went swimming in his underwear and nobody of the staff batted an eyelid! Disgusting! The staff should interfere with bad behavior, I especially mean the disgusting men who spit in the pool! L'enfer, c'est les autres as Jean- Paul Sartre said...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear MrsMK

Welcome back! Many thanks for your sharing your praises of The Valley Wing via Tripadvisor. Compliments from loyal friends like you are especially encouraging for us. While I am happy to know that you have enjoyed your return stay, I am concerned by your experience at the poolside.

May I please request that you contact me directly so that I can find out more details? My email address is: reto.klauser@shangri-la.com

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in the Shangri-La's valley wing for 5 nights in June 2014. It was paradise! Personalised service from the moment we arrived. We were called by name, the room was fantastic, with quality fittings, furnishings and toiletries. TV in the bathroom, fresh flowers and fruit (daily), breakfast, daily high tea, cocktails and canapés included (and delicious). Little things like plenty of bottled water to help us cope with the hot weather and advice on where to go made our stay here perfect. The pool, restaurants and general environment were all beautiful. Evening meals at the Shangri-la a little expensive so consider the wide variety of food options available in Singapore eg hawker markets. The hotel has a shuttle bus to orchard road hourly. The hotel is not really walking distance to local sights/shops so you will need taxis to get around.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lou_fabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest

Many thanks for sharing your positive review via Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at The Valley Wing, our ultimate sanctuary. Hopefully, I will have the chance to welcome you back soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,713 reviews
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#1 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing