We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #8 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

For those use to a bit of luxury or those wanting to try. Not the cheapest but worth it. Walk to Orchard rd. Or bus provided to shopping centre, train network.. Alcohol and bar fridge a bit expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Kev

Thank you for sharing your positive review via Tripadvisor! I am glad to know to know that you have enjoyed your Shangri-La experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,320
    845
    228
    84
    52
See reviews for
943
1,700
203
1,157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (979)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Will always stay here- consistently the best hotel in Singapore. Very attentive service, beautiful grounds and swimming pool, lovely lounge and restaurants. In the Valley Wing, my experience is always on par with any of the great hotels around the world. Phenomenal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex11112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Alex

Welcome back! Many thanks for your positive review via Tripadvisor. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at The Valley Wing, our ultimate sanctuary.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

While my two nights in the garden wing was very good thanks to an upgrade the following stay in the tower wing did not live up to the expectations of a high end hotel. The rooms are outdated and in desperate need of a facelift. Though service is great throughout it is very expensive when considering what you get for your money.
The rooftop bar (Blu) is a nice spot for a drink or two if you are lucky enough to find it open. Two of the last four days it has been closed for a private function. Given that this is the only bar in the hotel it surely does not help on the overall impression.
Would not return nor recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Homeandaway6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your review via Tripadvisor. Please be assured that your comments about the Tower Wing and BLU Bar are well noted. May I please request that you contact me directly so that I can apologise to you in person, and at the same time, find out more details about your visit? My email address is: reto.klauser@shangri-la.com

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I have just stayed 8 nights in the Shangri La, purely on holiday.

We stayed in the Garden Wing. I had chosen this hotel simply because of it’s gardens which are probably a bit smaller than 15 acres claimed but lovely nevertheless! The pool is large and very welcome at the end of a day’s sightseeing.

The room we had in the Garden Wing was spacious and mercifully only six floors up. We had twin beds which were probably about 4 feet wide, wonderfully comfortable. The room was spotless and had everything you would expect from a hotel of this calibre. There were too many nice little touches to mention.

The service throughout the hotel was impeccable and although we did have a couple of issues they were resolved swiftly and with great charm.

The Garden Wing offers complimentary drinks and snacks to residents between 5-7 p.m. which were very welcome. There was some confusion as to whether we could avail ourselves of this as we had booked through a travel agent. The hotel doesn’t seem to have a clear policy on this and we would suggest anyone booking the Garden Wing checks in advance whether their reservation includes this very nice perk.

Food and drinks in the hotel are expensive but this is to be expected in a hotel of this class. However there are thousands of places to eat in Singapore, covering every imaginable cuisine.

The ambience of the hotel was very calm and luxurious and despite there being many business people around, we didn’t feel out of place as tourists.

The hotel has a quiet location but is only 10 minutes walk from the end of Orchard Road and the gardens are a lovely oasis.

There is a bar and restaurant at the top of the Tower Wing. I would suggest to the hotel management that the bar could do with a little refurbishment, the floor is scuffed and the chairs and tables are not in the first flush of youth! Other than that this hotel was damn near perfect for us, from the beautiful flower displays to the Zen-like gardens, ponds etc.

When we saw the other hotels in Singapore, apart from Raffles and the Fullerton, they largely appear to be skyscrapers right in the middle of all the action. But if you like a bit of peace and quiet within easy reach of all this, then I would recommend Shangri La in a heartbeat.

This was a special one-off holiday for us and the Shangri La lived up to our expectations.

Room Tip: Garden wing is very different in appearance to Valley Wing and Tower Wing. Rooms have nice balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singapore_Jadevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Mike and Les

Many thanks for your wonderful recommendation via Tripadvisor! I am heartened to know that you have enjoyed your vacation at the Garden Wing, as well as our gardens. Your comments are much appreciated and will be shared with my team. Please be assured that your experiences at the Garden Wing Lounge and BLU Bar are well noted.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
276 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Amazing is an often over used word when it comes to describing hotel service but that is an understatement when it comes to the level of service that we received at the Shangri-La in Singapore. Simply sublime.

We arrived to celebrate a special occasion and the receptionist looked at us and said your booking is for one month's time. My partner, who booked it (phew!), was aghast. Did Shangri-La staff bat an eye lid? Nope. They made us feel welcome and ensure that we had a wonderful weekend.

They found us a suite that we would have have stayed in one month from that day and even though they were all sold out upgraded a wedding couple our of our to be suite to another suite (in our view a less picturesque suite than the one we got). They also said it happens a reasonable allot because of the way on line bookings worked.

Chanel (as in Coco) on the Garden Wing reception was just a radiant picture of smiles and reassurance and couldn't have done more for us. She was simply amazing. Elaine was also wonderfully helpful there too. The rest of the staff were also fantastic from the Waterfall restaurant staff to the spa staff. No complaints only compliments.

Only downsides i could possibly think of was a slowness to clear the dishes from our room service order and slowness to clean the room (even though we called through it took 3 hours for them to actually do it and by that time we had returned with a baby who wanted to go to sleep).

The desserts in the room service were also poor quality but the food apart from that was fantastic and the ambience of the Waterfall restaurant is a great place to eat and drink. The Japanese restaurant produced amazing food too.

Highly recommended. Garden Wing suite especially.

Room Tip: Garden Wing Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Chris

What an encouraging review! Many thanks for your positive feedback via Tripadvisor. Please know that your comments are highly appreciated. I will certainly share your praises with my team at the Garden Wing, especially Chanel and Elaine. Your experiences with In-Room Dining and Housekeeping are duly noted. Rectifications will be made.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Charged for late check in despite hotel being told that I would be flying in on the red eye and would be checking in late. Hotel staff wanted to charge late check in levy for both nights and the second night levy was rescinded after it was disputed. have not been levied such a charge ever before in all my stays at hotels worldwide

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Fook Aun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Fook Aun

Thank you for sharing your feedback via Tripadvisor. I am sorry to learn about your recent experience. May I please request that you contact me directly so that I can find out more details about your stay? My email address is: reto.klauser@shangri-la.com

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our stay at the Valley Wing was perfect, the week going much too quickly. The quality and level of service was above "exceptional". We will certainly be recommending to our friends that they stay at this outstanding part of the Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Malc191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your kind recommendation! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at The Valley Wing, our ultimate sanctuary.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21,077 reviews
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#1 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#8 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing