We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pool and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #10 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Shangri-La Hotel. Although the hotel is good, it is situated quite a way from many of the main attractions in Singapore. It is within walking distance of one end of the Botanic Gardens, and within easy walking distance of the seedier end of Orchard Road, but one needs to get a taxi to get to anywhere near the Marina. We enjoyed an afternoon lazing by the swimming pool. The breakfast buffet is enormous and offers a fantastic choice of cuisines.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,598 - 2,604 of 5,042 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

When in Singapore I prefer to stay at the Shangri-La Hotel. This for the simple reason that the service is always excellent from the door man to the General Manger who all greet you with a smile and a "can-do" attitude. The tower wing is great and the newly renovated garden wing is what you would expect of a 5 star hotel. But the service from all the staff makes it stand out as the best place to stay in Singapore. The breakfast that the Horizon Club with view of Singapore is brilliant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The staff are very courteous and they made you feel so important by giving a personalized greetings, flowers, box of chocolates, and special arrangement inside the room. I really feel that I am important guest of Shangri-la.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
3  Thank 97Warren9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

First time to stay at any Shangri-La Hotel and Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore didn't disappoint. My family and I had a great stay!! Best location, walking distance to Orchard Road(shopping district). Great and friendly staff!! Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank njcesguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

If you want to have an excellnet service exeprience Shangri-la is the choice. I can share my experience that I erroneously pressed service button but within few minutes I received a call if I needde nay assistance. Whenver you go to the lift the attndant is there before you to assist you. When you check-out the courteou staffis with you till gate tosay good-bye and help you with arranging taxi. A totally service culture you exeprince a Shangri-la.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank mhiz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I had a great experience staying at Shangri La. My husband and I just came back from our 3-night stay at this hotel. Here are my thoughts:
1. We ordered in-room dining, and the food was excellent and no mistakes were made on our complicated order.
2. We stayed in the Garden Wing, which is so relaxing and serene. When you open your room door, your view is the beautiful garden (pic attached).
3. Room was clean, normal size. Great shower.
4. Staff were excellent, helpful, patient.
5. MY ONLY COMPLAINT would be that the taxi queue during peak hours can be a bit long. I don't know if any other reviews mentioned this. So if you are in a hurry to the airport or a meeting (which I heard others around me say so) it would not be ideal to wait 15+ minutes for a taxi. BUT the staff do call taxis for them to come. They try and solve the problem. It's about a 10 to 15 minute walk to Orchard road. Not too bad, but it's easier to take a taxi.

Other than that, It was a great great hotel. So blessed we were able to stay here. One more note, staying in the Garden Wing is an absolute must! It reminded us of our stay in Bali, it was so calming and relaxing. Like staying in a resort.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivinginRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I'm a bit late with my review but wanted to say we stayed three nights in April 2013 and had a great stay! We chose to stay at the Shangri La on the recommendation of some dear friends and we were not disappointed!
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome and everything was dealt with a great attention to detail.
We stayed three days and wish it had been longer although we did venture out in to the city we were always pleased to get back to the calm serenity of the hotel.
The room was huge and had every amenity you could want, the staff at every level were fantastic as was the food and beverage.
We are travelling to Singapore in February 2015 and will definitely check in again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt-n-James-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#41 of 317 in Singapore
22,647 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 317 in Singapore
7,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#8 of 317 in Singapore
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $279 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regularly voted among the top hotels in the world, the Shangri-La, Hotel Singapore, set in 15 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, is a truly luxurious oasis in the centre of bustling Singapore, a short walk from the main shopping, entertainment and dining districts. The hotel comprises 792 elegant guestrooms and suites with three distinctive wings: the newly renovated Tower Wing, with its contemporary relaxed vibe, housing the executive Horizon Club rooms and family-friendly rooms and suites; the urban resort Garden Wing, set amongst lush tropical foliage; and the exclusive Valley Wing for the discerning traveller. 127 service apartments and 55 luxurious condominium units are also available for longer staying guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing