We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Lima
Level Contributor
265 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice and great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Was attending a business conference. The hotel is quiet, has everything that you would expect from a hotel in this category. Apparently it has a free shuttle that will drive you to the main shopping road. Actually you can walk there but the way back is uphill for some 10min probably. ..but with the warm weather there... breakfast buffet was delicious. Food at the event wasn't. Rooms were spacious and nice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your positive review on Tripadvisor! I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay during the business conference, and breakfast at The Line.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,280
    837
    227
    84
    51
See reviews for
935
1,672
202
1,151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We've stayed here 5 times over the last 7 years for a good reason, it is the best hotel we've ever stayed in. The Valley Wing fuses classic european style with the warm asian approach to service.

Rooms: The "basic" room is huge, with an enormous bathroom, dressing area, lounge area and all the facilities you could want - a recent change is that all the soft drinks in the mini-bar are now complimentary. A nice addition! The upgraded rooms bring double the space and butler service. The rooms are spotlessly maintained.

Breakfast: Served in the circular "Summit Room" overlooking the gardens, there is an overwhelming choice of food. The buffet has a huge array of pastries, fruit, cereals and cold meats, in another change since our last stay, there is now a 7 page (really) breakfast a-la carte menu to choose from, as ever the food is beautifully presented and delicious. Freshly squeezed juices and attentive service round out the perfect breakfast experience.

Champagne Bar / Lounge / Afternoon Tea / Canapes: From 11am there is an included bar for Valley Wing guests, you can get soft drinks, cocktails, champagne, wines, coffees, tea and depending on the time of day, high tea / canapes / chocolates / cookies. As ever very attentive service from the team, with some of the same faces year after year. The food as per breakfast has improved again since our last stay, so much choice and very moorish.

If you want to eat out, the staff are very knowledgable and can get reservations and transport arranged for you.

This is quite simply the best place to stay in Singapore and with it being a short stroll from Orchard Road - perfecly placed for shopping. Looking forward to our next stay already!

Room Tip: Higher floor affords a better view - however all rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrisSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Kris

Welcome back! Many thanks for your lovely review of The Valley Wing, our ultimate sanctuary. Please be assured that your praises will be shared with The Valley Wing team. I am delighted to learn that you have returned five times in seven years! This means a lot to my team and I - thank you again.

I hope to welcome you back again on your 6th visit!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have stayed at the ShangriLa Singapore countless times. I love it. The welcome, service, plantings, chandeliers, food outlets and high swimming pool. However, I was disappointed that the soft furnishings in my premium room was looking a little tired, my room did not have the folder with writing paper things in the drawer and there is peeling paint on the side of the exterior of the hotel. All remedial but has dropped my overall rating from five to four.

Room Tip: City views are more interesting rather than the pool view as you see over many miles of rooftops
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjtlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest

Welcome back! And thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. May I please request that you contact me directly so that I can apologise to you in person, and at the same, find out more details for investigation? My email address is: manfred.weber@shangri-la.com

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed in Shanggri-La Hotel Singapore in 11/2013
Top luxurious rooms, very friendly staff, excellent service and very good location near Orchard Road.
Made my stay at Singapore a lasting Highlight among my travels.
Definately a recommendation to anybody seeking relaxing holidays.

Room Tip: Book Valley Wing for a more exclusive experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisJ1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Chris

Many thanks for your recommendation! I am glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay at The Valley Wing, our ultimate sanctuary. It is also the preferred address for visiting heads of state, dignitaries and captains of industries.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Valley Wing soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Lovely staff who upgraded us from the Tower rooms to the Garden Wing with interconnecting rooms. Service is amazing and the pool is heavenly. The rooms are beautifully fitted out with the most comfortable beds and pillows ever. It's the little things that make it special - self closing drawers, super fluffy towels etc.. The kids loved the self flushing toilets too ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Jaine

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on Tripadvisor! I am happy to learn that your family and you, especially the kids, have enjoyed your Garden Wing experience.

I hope to welcome all of you back to our hotel again!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed in a tower room for one night after long flight. The quiet light airy ambiance of this 5 star hotel was all you could hope for. Specially recommended is the breakfast buffet in "the Line" and the open air pool.
"The Line" restaurant buffet seemed a bit too lively in the evening after a long flight so the "Waterfall Cafe" provided a quiet alternative.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldcodger2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for sharing your positive review on Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Tower Wing, as well as dining experiences at The Line and The Waterfall.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here twice in November 2013 on separate occasions. Both times they gave us the tower rooms. These rooms are spotlessly clean, with great bedding and although near lifts, very quiet. The buffet breakfast is to die for, extremely well catered for.
I had a small problem with changing currency at the desk and certainly hope it is not common. I handed what I thought was $70 AUD to the cashier but soon realizing that two $50 notes were stuck together I separated them. I eventually handed over $70 (1 x $50 and 2 x $10). I then received $74SN in return.
Soon after we entered our room, this cashier attended and demanded another $50 as she stated I had only given her $20....that is 2 x $10 notes!! I complained to the duty manager that day but had nil reply until I asked next day. Another DM apologized but stated that the customer is always wrong...as he ignored my version totally.
Oh well, at least he gave me a free cup of tea!
That aside, the stay was enjoyable to say the least, but do take care when changing currency!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaitlandAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed both your visits to our hotel and breakfast at The Line. However, your experience while changing currency was highly concerning. May I please request that you contact me directly so that I can find out more details about your visit? My email address is: manfred.weber@shangri-la.com

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#34 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,763 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#1 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing