We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My parents have stayed here about five times and raved on about it so much, we thought we'd give it a try. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is lovely, close to Orchard Road and the pool and gardens are fantastic - very big and plenty of loungers. It feels more like a holiday resort than a business hotel (in a good way).

We ended up upgrading to the garden wing as we wanted a balcony and the upgrade included an amazing (huge) breakfast and evening canapes and cocktails. Superb, big room - nothing to complain about at all.

Service is impeccable.

Certainly not cheap, but we loved it and would definitely return.

Room Tip: I think only the garden wing have balconies.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your compliments on Tripadvisor! I am heartened to know that your parents have visited our hotel five times and you chose to follow suit. This is the best form of endorsement we could ever ask for, and please know that it means a lot to me. Be assured that your encouraging feedback will be shared with my colleagues from the Garden Wing.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,341
    851
    232
    85
    53
See reviews for
951
1,712
205
1,164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visited the Shangri-La again a while after after our previous visit - this time staying in the refurbished Garden Wing. The room was wonderful, a balcony view across the city, dark wood flooring, the Waterfall restaurant and the Chi Spa, everything you could hope for at a hotel in this category. The people still make the difference though, from the moment the taxi arrived through to a superbly arranged checkout - try getting a taxi on a rainy Saturday afternoon! - everything ran like clockwork; but with a human touch. We thoroughly enjoyed the visit and will not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Go for one of the higher floors in the Garden Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank towtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear guest

Welcome back! I am happy to know that your family and you have enjoyed the Garden Wing Experience. Please know that your kind compliments are very much appreciated. I will certainly share your praises with my Garden Wing team.

I look forward to welcoming your family and you back again soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

If you have not experienced the Luxury, Ambience, Attention and friendliness of the Staff in the Valley Wing of the Shangri-La Hotel, you have not really travelled. We were looked after, pampered and thoroughly spoilt from the second we arrived, until we departed. We can't recommend this part of the Hotel highly enough in all areas, especially their food outlets.

Room Tip: If at all possible try to book a high floor overlooking the Pool. The solitude, birds, greenery an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Noshir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Noshir

Many thanks for your recommendation of The Valley Wing! As you have kindly highlighted, The Valley Wing is our ultimate sanctuary. I am very happy to know that you have enjoyed your Shangri-La experiences. Please know that my team and I truly appreciate your compliments.

I look forward to welcoming both of you back again soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Sounds like a lame catch-phrase for the hotel, but we had a really nice stay at the Shangri-La - what more could you want?

The hotel staff was very helpful and welcoming from the moment you set foot in the lobby. We appreciated the beautiful flowers that decorate the open spaces and our room was bright and well-designed. We purchased an upgrade to the Garden Wing and thought it was good value for money considering that it included breakfast, access to snacks and drinks throughout the day, and late check-out.

The breakfast was excellent with a large menu selection covering many ethnicities. We opted to eat in the main restaurant rather than the club and we enjoyed being able to sit outside when the weather permitted. If breakfast is not included in your room rate, sometimes the front desk has coupons to give a slight discount on the price.

There is a nice gym on-site and the pool area is a reasonable size in a garden setting.

The Shangri La is in a residential area so there is no traffic noise. You can walk to Orchard Road (the main shopping area) or take the hotel shuttle. It drops you at the mall which has a huge food court and supermarket as well as the usual shops. Singapore is very expensive so it was nice to be able to grab a quick bite at one of the vendors. The train station is also right there and it was easy to travel around. We visited Gardens by the Bay, which ended up being a nice day out - the Cloud biosphere is much better that the Flowers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Ann

Many thanks for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your Garden Wing Experience. Please know that your kind compliments are very much appreciated. I will certainly share them with my service team, our florists and The Line's service team.

I look forward to welcoming both of you back again soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

It's a pleasure to be a guest in this location.
You get more than just a stay over.
Unlucky, it was for business and not for pleasure....
Room was like a good apartment. Breakfast was exclusive.
My first time experience and I like to do it again...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Stig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Stig

Thank you for your review of The Valley Wing, our ultimate sanctuary! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and breakfast at our private Summit Room. Be it for leisure or business again, I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

myself and 3 adult children stayed for 4 nights in the garden wing overlookiing the pool...no complaints at all ...everything you would expect from 5 star establishment.....well located for serious shopping ...close to botanic gardens

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank bruderlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your positive review on Tripadvisor! I am very happy to know that you and your children have enjoyed your stay at our Garden Wing. It would be a great pleasure to welcome your family and you back again soon.

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have just stayed in the Shangri La Hotel in Singapore. Wow WHAT an experience. We opted to upgrade to the Valley Wing which brings a level of comfort and service rarely found. Everyone was so attentive. Breakfast, drinks (alcoholic, afternoon tea and canapaes were all included.
Some might say itbwas a bitbstuffy, well it is notvreally suitable for kids or young people wanting to have a party but otherwise superb,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank LimonerosKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for your positive review of The Valley Wing, our ultimate sanctuary! I am glad that you have enjoyed our Shangri-La Experience. Please know that your kind comments are very much appreciated.

I hope to welcome you back to The Valley Wing again soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21,344 reviews
Marina Bay
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#2 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing