We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Location: Not so conveniently located, but the hotel offers shuttle bus to major shopping malls like Takashimaya and business centres. Taxi are also cheap in Singapore, except the taxi queue at the hotel gets really long from 8:30-9:15 every weekday!

Room: Spacious, clean, nice bathroom goodies, decent choice on tv, amazing view, very comfy bed, techy control console in the room to control all curtains, lights. Top notch service! However, it is carpet floor and décor à la 1980s style. I would prefer wood floor or just tiles, it is just more clean.

Restos: a lot of choices, taste good..but I ate out most of the time.

Business upgrade: $80 SGD per night, worth every penny! Breakfast was superb, tea time was amazing, cocktail hours ...well...amazing as well. I ate and drink like a little piglet everyday!

Free Wifi: reliable and fast, but somehow they blocked my work's server, so I had no access for my email for 4 days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDCbride2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your comprehensive review on Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay, as well as dining experiences at the lounge and restaurants. Your comment about our WiFi connection has been noted.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,318
    843
    228
    84
    52
See reviews for
943
1,697
203
1,156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (978)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the Garden wing of the hotel as a stopover on our way home from a family visit to Australia.I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.It was an oasis in a very busy city and the staff went out of their way to make the stay memorable.
The breakfast in the Waterfall Café was outstanding.
Many thanks
Jean and Kevin Guerin

Room Tip: Garden Wing rooms give access to the Waterfall Café which is wonderful - so peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Jean and Kevin

Many thanks for your kind recommendation on Tripadvisor! I am very happy to know that both of you have enjoyed your stay at our tropical resort, the Garden Wing. Please assured that your encouraging feedback on my colleagues, especially the Waterfall Cafe team, will be shared with them.

I look forward to welcoming both of you back soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a high quality hotel resort, with all the trimmings that you would expect from it. Great staff, great rooms, excellent food and live jazz and soul music at night at the bar in the foyer. I would recommend this place to anyone - a business traveller (although it is say 20-30 mins by cab out of the CBD), couples, families and for a solo traveller alike.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Tanya

Thank you for your recommendation on Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Please know that your positive review is very much appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Myself and my wife recently stayed in a suite in the Valley wing which was excellent.We had access to Breakfast,afternoon tea and cocktails and cannepe's in the evening in the summit room all of which are served by friendly and efficient staff,The hotel location is about a 5/10 minute walk to Orchard road,Taxi's from the hotel are cheap and make getting around the city very easy.

Room Tip: One Bedroom Suite in the Valley wing was stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrummieGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for your positive review on The Valley Wing! I am glad to know that your wife and you enjoyed your suite experience at our ultimate sanctuary.

I look forward to welcoming both of you to The Valley Wing again soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for 9 nights with my husband and three children(10, 12, 15). This is a luxury hotel with lovely surroundings and fantastic staff who go the extra mile and were very pleasant.
We loved the location which was a bit out of the hustle and bustle. And no problem to get a taxi easy to come and go.
we had 2 interconnecting rooms in the Garden Wing - excellent standard, comfortable beds, luxury bathrooms, fantastic buffet breakfast.
The pool is fabulous and provided hours of entertainment for our kids.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank fflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your positive review on Tripadvisor! I am pleased to learn about your enjoyable family vacation at the Garden Wing. Looked like all of you had fun! Please be assured that your encouraging comments will be shared with the team at Garden Wing.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
348 reviews
278 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

A true 5 star hotel located in a quiet neighborhood of Singapore. Excellent in every way, no complaints of any kind. Easily one of Shangra-La's finest properties.

It is quite expensive (about $400 a night in my case), but the rooms and quality of service justify the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stay in the Valley Wing. Second time for me and they simply are there for just you!

Breakfast and drinks in the Lobby Bar are all included!

The rooms are huge, no need to upgrade. Really just about the service, after two days they know you. In my wifes case Gluten Free Toast always showed up

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric_t185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Eric

Welcome back to The Valley Wing! And thank you for positive review. I am very happy to learn that both you and your wife enjoyed your return to ultimate sanctuary. Please be assured that your encouraging comments will be shared with The Valley Wing team.

I look forward to welcoming both of you on your next visit!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21,029 reviews
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#1 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing