We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel...A+ Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #10 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed in a Horizon Club level room for a one-week business trip. The hotel staff was unbelievable. I used the business center, conference rooms, and ate breakfast in the Horizon Club and The Line each morning. The service was great and the food was unbelievable. The food was the best "hotel food" I have ever had. Even though a Horizon Club room may seem expensive, remember that breakfast at The Line or The Horizon Club is included and so is Wifi and the use of the conference rooms. This ended up being a great value, especially given the ridiculous prices of Singapore. The health club was great as well. All in all, this was the best hotel experience I have ever had for business travel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank tenfifteen94002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,021 - 3,027 of 5,090 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have stayed at many top end hotels but not at a Shangri La before. The Shangri La in Singapore is perfect. It is a large hotel certainly but we stayed in the Valley wing which seems to be self contained with its own lobby ,bar,and restaurant. Check in was performed on the move electronically as we were shown to and around our room on the eighth floor, must nicer than all the waiting in the lobby usually involved at most places. The rooms are beautiful and spacious as are the white marble bathrooms. Flat screen TVs, DVD player, iPod sound dock lots of 3 pin sockets and a safe with power socket are all standard as is fast WiFi. Minibar and tea making facilities are all standard as are fantastic views. What sets the Valley wing apart is the free drinks cocktails and champagne on offer in the lobby from morning to night with sandwiches and snacks and canapés in the evening. Valley wing rooms are more expensive but certainly well worth the extra cost. The location at the top of Orchard Road is perfect for access to the malls on Orchard road. Finally for a large hotel the valley wing is quite intimate and the staff are all friendly and helpful to a fault.
Highly recommended if visiting Singapore.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Have stayed here several times and booked this because we love the garden and pool and as always this area is beautifully maintained and the staff are brilliant. Stayed in the renovated garden wing which is excellent. Love the waterfall cafe. However, the service in the Lounge areas painfully slow and the main reception Could be better. The cocktail bar Blu, is very good and staff very helpful. The cleanliness everywhere is faultless.. Cantonese restaurant - ok if you want to be in and out quickly but dire if you want a relaxing meal. Hotel not in centre of Singapore but only short walk to Orchard road, and taxis readily got by excellent door staff. Good if you are holidaying or have time, or need to properly relax.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Shangri-La is without doubt one of the best Hotels in Singapore. Five star service and a good location not too far to the airport and Orchard Road. Good for conferences. The breakfast buffet is top class, the rooms not huge but very clean and quiet. Nice pool and all amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_in_Asia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We booked a Garden Wing room and it lived up to it's name. New renovated and with it's own private garden, it was heaven. Staff were fantastic as were the surroundings.
The cost was a little on the high side but well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Overall, a great hotel with excellent, top notch service. From entering the hotel, you are made to feel very special and very important. Had a room that overlooked the pool, which was a great view, with a great resort feel. The rooms are huge with extremely comfortable beds and sheets. The hotel is very quiet, was never woken up once from loud noises/sounds. The bathroom was large with nice amentities. The hotel wide wifi was a big bonus since my mobile phone wasn't working (US Verizon Wireless customers beware, no service in all of Singapore even though i was told there is coverage) so it was great to be able to stay in touch with my work colleagues and family back home using the wifi. It even worked at the pool! And speaking of the pool, the ultimate, relaxing resort experience. Chairs were very comfortable with plenty of umbrellas to shade from the crazy hot Singapore sun.

I'd say the only downside was that the hotel guestroom hallways were very musty smelling. And my shower was covered with mold/mildew, didn't seem very sanitary. Also, some of the common space and meeting space is a bit dated.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickieDOTcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at the Shangri-La Hotel for 7 nights and loved everything about it except the very firm mattress. I had a room in the Garden Wing with a balcony overlooking the very nice pool area. The room was large and comfortable with everything I needed for a week's stay. Some could find the room too cold - you could adjust the temp. with the thermostat, but if that doesn't work well enough, just leave the sliding door ajar- the ac turns off. There's a nice ceiling fan too to control the air. The bathroom was great with a big tub and shower with a "rain" showerhead and with double sinks. You have a choice to eat your meals ( I had the breakfast buffet.) at the smaller Waterfall Cafe which I preferred for breakfast because it was smaller, quieter and simpler... enjoyed their lattes. You can also eat at the larger restaurant with a lot more food selection with their buffet. Happy hour (if you're a "Club member it's free) is from 5 to 7 p.m. My favorite days in S'pore were spent at the pool! It is BIG, refreshing and clean. The staff was very friendly. The location is great being 2 blocks from Orchard Rd. Despite the mattress being too firm, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4steppinout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 319 in Singapore
22,940 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#12 of 319 in Singapore
7,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 319 in Singapore
1,168 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#5 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $277 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regularly voted among the top hotels in the world, the Shangri-La, Hotel Singapore, set in 15 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, is a truly luxurious oasis in the centre of bustling Singapore, a short walk from the main shopping, entertainment and dining districts. The hotel comprises 792 elegant guestrooms and suites with three distinctive wings: the newly renovated Tower Wing, with its contemporary relaxed vibe, housing the executive Horizon Club rooms and family-friendly rooms and suites; the urban resort Garden Wing, set amongst lush tropical foliage; and the exclusive Valley Wing for the discerning traveller. 127 service apartments and 55 luxurious condominium units are also available for longer staying guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing