We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Gem in the Orient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #10 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is the third Shangri-La hotel we have stayed in during the last nine months and it rated like the other two as being fantastic in every respect. Initially we were slightly concerned as it was outside the centre of Singapore, although no more than 10 to 15 minuets in a taxi. We were given a Horizon club room on the 20th floor overlooking the front of the hotel and it was delightful with a large open plan bedroom with a neatly placed desk and a huge bathroom with luxurious fixtures and fittings. as with the others the hotels entrance was very grand and the lobby even grander and opulently decorated. The service was faultless and in every area was presented with a warm and oriental glow! Waitresses kneeling beside you to take your order, a real touch of class. We had breakfast in the Horizon dining room on the 24th floor where we had a choice of A la Carte service or a buffet selection the choice and quality of food was superb!
We also had dinner in the Japanese teppanyaki restaurant and outside in the Italian cafe, both were of a very high standard indeed. Al in al a truly joyful experience and we cant wait to visit a Shangri-La hotel again!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllanFelixstoweUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,004)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,971 - 2,977 of 5,004 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Some thoughts from staying at the Shangri-la, Singapore week of April 1st and 8th 2013.

The Shangri-la is situated just off Tanglin road close to the Botanical Gardens and the Orchard metro stop. The Shangri-la is officially a 5 star hotel with all the usual trappings of landscaped gardens, generous swimming pool and range of restaurants.
So how good is it? The first thing is this is not an intimate hotel. Your warmest greeting will be by the bell-people who help you navigate the lifts. I don’t know how many people this hotel accommodates but it is a lot which can result in pressure on amenities when its full. The hotel offers a selection of restaurants, a good pool, nice health club and an impressive buffet that offers a huge range of dishes for breakfast, lunch or dinner. There is a cute coffee bar in the basement just off of the pools selling seriously over priced cappuccino’s and muffins, a business centre and even barbers. The rooms are clean but feel out of date and honestly, really not the best décor or hygiene choices for a humid climate like Singapore.
Lets start with the main restaurant. Overall, the quality is very good and it does a great job of catering for a range of tastes. It is expensive – expect to pay 95 Singapore – which is a lot for what is basically a self-serve buffet. My tip is book a table and be sensitive that if you sit outside next to the pool then you may have guests sitting next to you smoking. I found this very surprising given how families often prefer outside so the little ones can run about. I know mine do. Also, there were a few evenings where the sheer volume of guests resulted in, well, a sense chaos. The food servers were quickly overwhelmed and it seemed the table servers evaporated. Oh yes, house drinks are included in the buffet. It’s a good solution if you need something quick or have specific dietary tastes. For families, all the children I saw had smiles on their faces because ice cream is available every meal time! Alternatively, if you want somewhere quieter try the restaurant away on the other side of the pool.

Now, general ambiance. The hotel’s reception enjoys a well built, imposing interior but the whole ambiance is very traditional with a capital T. Orange and brown marble with crystal chandeliers together with the rather bizarre uniforms of the bell girls and boys make you feel like you are stepping back to 1970’s.
Rooms. My room was a good size and came with a generous double bed and obligatory flat screen TV, umbrella and universal plug sockets. The rooms have been partially renovated recently with new thick carpets which would not be my choice given Singapore’s high humidity climate. I couldn't stop thinking about the hygiene issues! There are plenty of snacks out on display in the room to tempt you into spending more. My room had a damp odor from the drains in the shower which was disappointing. The room service and room cleaning is good – what you would expect of a hotel of this level.
For business people I found the desk small and rather cramped. Also, the internet speed was surprising slow and struggled to support video chat.

Lets talk transportation. The hotel is a brisk 10-15minute walk to Orchard metro stop. If you are heading into the office be warned that the humidity will have you sweating before you get there. The hotel does have a mini-van service that runs down to the metro but surprisingly there was only one service in the morning. So check the departure times if you plan to use it. Lastly, don’t underestimate how difficult it can be to get a taxi especially in the mornings and afternoon during a typical tropical downfall. Queues are common so make sure you book one in advance. The reservation fee you will pay is worth it. If you are app-savy, there is a great ‘order a taxi’ app from SMRT which is well worth downloading in advance.
In summary, if convenience and quality in a traditional setting is what you prefer then the Shangri-La maybe the choice for you. If you want a more contemporary, younger, livelier ambiance that reflects Singapore’s culture and vibrancy, then look elsewhere.
So, that’s it. Don’t get me wrong, this is a very good hotel, but not a great hotel. In my opinion, given this Shangri-la was their first in Asia, it could and should be, a flagship for the brand experience and I would encourage corporate to invest and make it the flagship it once was.

Enjoy your stay. Safe Travels!

___just back is a branding professional who creates meaningful brand experiences for luxury and consumer goods markets.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ____justback40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just stayed for 5 nights at the Shangri-La, it was amazing! Every comfort imaginable, excellent room, bed, TV, bathroom, views. The staff are so friendly and attentive, there is nothing too much trouble.
'The Line' restaurant has five open kitchens where you can see the chefs preparing the food, which is then presented in a buffet style for you to help yourself. You pay about £50 per head and then eat as much or as little as you like.
The outside pool is wonderful and open from 6am-10pm.
I will be back in October, I can't wait!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maw747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I have just spent our third holiday in the Valley Wing of the Shangri-La in Singapore to celebrate our Golden Wedding.
We cannot praise this hotel enough, from the welcome received to the exceptional service. Because of our celebration we were upgraded to a suite which was out of this world. Even a bedroom alone would be fantastic here, spacious with everything you need down to a toothbrush.
The complementary champagne bar and afternoon tea are an added bonus, along with the sumptuous breakfast. The staff are very attentive and discreet. There are two other wings which are not quite as pricey, but it is worth the difference to stay in the Valley Wing.
Most travellers just use Singapore to change planes, and have a quick tour on a bus. Big mistake, it is a wonderful island with fantastic hotels. The Shandri-La being the best.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Little0ldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Cannot fault the hotel and it`s service. All staff go above and beyond their required duties. Food absolutely fantastic in the Valley Wing. Valley Wing chef came in on his day off to prepare our breakfast on our last day - now that is good service!
All reception staff came outside to bid us farewell - AND WE ARE NOT ROYALTY.
Pay a bit more for a luxurious stay to spoil yourself is sure worth it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmb103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Have stayed at this lovely luxury hotel numerous times for both business and leisure. The hotel offers a beautiful lobby, resort-like pool, and wonderful food choices. Warm, welcoming staff in all areas of the hotel who seem genuinely pleased to do all they can to make your stay a wonderful experience. All this offered in true Singaporean style. Definitely my 1st choice for hotels in Singapore.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn99_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel experience starts with the warm welcome from the staff, then to chuckle at the Lift carpet ( changed daily to tell you what day it is, just in case you forget !!) followed by a spacious room, with some nice touches.
The leisure facilities are also enjoyable & even though always been here for business, would imagine a leisure stay would also be pleasant.
Best Part though is the breakfast, an wonderful selection !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MazzAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#41 of 316 in Singapore
22,457 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 316 in Singapore
7,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 316 in Singapore
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $282 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regularly voted among the top hotels in the world, the Shangri-La, Hotel Singapore, set in 15 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, is a truly luxurious oasis in the centre of bustling Singapore, a short walk from the main shopping, entertainment and dining districts. The hotel comprises 792 elegant guestrooms and suites with three distinctive wings: the newly renovated Tower Wing, with its contemporary relaxed vibe, housing the executive Horizon Club rooms and family-friendly rooms and suites; the urban resort Garden Wing, set amongst lush tropical foliage; and the exclusive Valley Wing for the discerning traveller. 127 service apartments and 55 luxurious condominium units are also available for longer staying guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing