We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel - best Buffet ever” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - best Buffet ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2008

Good quality hotel, clean, good service (typically Singaporean). Only complaint I would have is the lack of flexibility (the coffee bar closed at bang on 9pm, so don't try and get coffee after dinner there!).

The outstanding feature was the buffet (breakfast, lunch and dinner), which was by far the best we have ever experienced - particularly the Indian section. Having just spent a month in India, we found the Indian food at the Shangri-La to be even better!

The hotel amenties are very good, lovely pool with attentive staff. The location is good - a ten minute walk to Orchard road (which is actually quite a long way when you are returning to the hotel all hot and bothered), but it's very central so you can get a taxi to pretty much anywhere on the island quite quickly.

  • Liked — The Line Restaurant
  • Disliked — Inflexibility. Internet connection is expensive and cannot be switched between laptops.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nord20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,278
    837
    227
    84
    51
See reviews for
935
1,670
202
1,151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2008

We stayed at the Valley Wing and unreservedly recommend it as being one of the best hotels in the world. We have stayed several times and found the quality of the hotel and service to be consistent across all of our stays. The photos of the Valley Wing already on this web site are truely representative.

The hotel is well located for central Singapore but is also an oasis of calm and serenity.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Phileas_Fogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeastener
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2008

I have just arrived back home after a wonderful 3 week holiday, in Singapore, Koh Samui and Bangkok. After reading the reviews about the Shangri-la, my husband and I decided to upgrade to the Valley Wing. It was a short stay of 3 nights but I have to say it was well worth the extra money and as with most things in life, if you want the best, you have to pay for it. The service was exemplory, with the waiters even remembering our preferences for tea/coffee. The suite we were given was spacious and luxurious, right down to the personalised stationery and not to mention the frequently refilled champagne glasses ! Unfortunatley, we did'nt experience The Line restaraunt as this semed to be popular with the locals and was very busy. If we return to Singapore we will definatley stay in the valley wing again. My only regret was that we did'nt stay in the Shangri-la whilst in Bangkok.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wigery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2008

One of the best hotels me and my girlfriend have stayed at!

So much so I even had to write a review, which is something I have not done before for any hotel!

Amazing food, great room, really good gym, great service and reasonable price!

The only diapointing part of my stay was the fact I had to leave to go to Bali which seemed like a real let down after being in this hotel in Singapore.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — the walk up the hill getting to it
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dannikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights.

The service in the lounge is very good but the music is terrible and the harp playing is a bit depressing.

Even though you get free canapes you dont help yourself so you only get 3 each.

You can have free flow champagne but the lounge is soo boring you dont want to stay.

The room was quite nice but i have stayed in better at $s1000 dollars a night its expensive for what you get.
Also the service at the pool was bad

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank boltotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

We booked a two night break in the Shangri La on our way from Australia to the Maldives. On arrival we were very pleased and impressed by the atrium/lobby and reception; it was all very opulent and check in was quick. It was 2.00am in the morning so perhaps this wasn't surprising.

We had booked a Tower, Club room which overlooked the garden and swimming pool. This was very luxurious but very, very small and we were disappointed. We had had 4 weeks of travelling and many club rooms, sometimes we even had been upgraded to a suite, this room was less half the size most of the other rooms and about a third of the size of the Sheraton at Noosa which we had just left. By this time it was about 2.30am so all we wanted was sleep and as we only had two nights there we decided not to complain. The bathroom was also very small but like the room was luxurious.

We had breakfast at the Blu restaurant (Club room breakfast area). The view was fabulous and the choice and quality of the food excellent so we decided to book evening dinner here and a waitress made a note of our booking and request for a window table but as she couldn't make the reservation herself told us it would be confirmed later and we gave her our mobile number for this. No-one contacted us! At about 5.30pm we returned to Blu restaurant to check on the booking; although they had the note which clearly stated our request for a window table and time etc. they had done nothing about it. So at this late time we had to make the booking needless to say all the window tables had now been reserved! We said OK we didn't mind a table a little back from the window as we could still see the view.

We went back to our room to shower and change and then to the Club lounge for pre dinner drinks and canapés. It was about 6.45pm and we were stunned to be told there was no seating available so we would have to wait in the nearby Blu bar where our drinks would be brought to us. We went in here and with great difficulty (I am only 5ft 3”) we climbed onto the very high chairs. We perched uncomfortably here waiting for our drinks - they didn't arrive!! . This bar is extremely cold, so much so that condensation had formed on the outside of all the windows and you couldn't see the fabulous view so this was not a good experience. Eventually my husband went to find the drinks only to be greeted by 'Oh, there is a seat for you now, didn't anyone tell you?'

Well we finally got to the comfort of the Club lounge but only for a short time as we were now due to go for dinner. When we got to the Blu restaurant we were shown to table in an alcove (the only one without a view!). We protested to no avail! We should have left then but decided to stay and to be fair had a very excellent meal. I must say though don't go to this restaurant if you have a big appetite or a small wallet.

Most of the next day we spent at the Botanic gardens, and then came back to the hotel for a welcome hour or two around the pool. This is lovely but, for the size of the hotel, too small and consequently it was very crowded with children everywhere and it was difficult to find two sun-beds. There is plenty of space for another pool in the grounds and I think the hotel would do well to do away with the tiny four hole par 3 golf and put in a second pool.

Prior to our holiday I checked the website and was pleased to see that club rooms had a complimentary late check-out as we were flying at 1.30am (this influenced our booking). When we asked for this late check out we were told check out was at 12.00md. It took a lot of persuasion to get a change on this but finally they did relent and it was granted. I think the rules must have changed between booking and our stay.

So, if you have stuck with me this far you may we wondering if we would stay here again. I am afraid the answer is that despite the obvious luxury and reputation of the hotel we would not. We were not made to feel special or a valued guest in any way, and next time would return to the Mandarin Oriental where we have stayed previously. This was wonderful and, although it too is a large hotel, the staff made us feel like royalty!

  • Liked — Convienient location
  • Disliked — Small room, impersonal service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2008

We were recommended the hotel by friends who had stayed on their way back from their honeymoon trip to Australia. We stayed over for one night on the way to Australia but because of flight times got 2 full days. The travel agent had recommended a special deal where check out is 6pm on the 2nd day and as we arrived at 8am on the 1st day we felt we got a really good deal. Although check in isn't officially until noon our room was available and we were checked in straight away with super efficiency. The bedroom was spacious and well fitted with all the luxuries you would expect of a 5 star hotel. The mini bar was expensive so we didn't buy anything, the inclusive breakfast had lots of choice served in a restaurant with wonderful views. The gardens are well maintained and a pleasure to walk around. The pool was fantastic for a dip in the morning, before it got too hot or too busy and towels and robes are available by the pool to save you taking any. We ate in at lunchtime on the first day and didn't find the prices too expensive considering the star rating but the lounge bar in the evening was expensive for drinks by comparison. The one outstanding thing about the hotel was the service. All staff were so courteous and pleasant and went out of their way to help you. Although the hotel is a bit out of the centre, taxis are readily available from the front of the hotel and cost about the same as a bus ride back in the UK so don't bother walking, it's far too humid (we tried it!). We visited the zoo in the morning, again travelling by taxi which was excellent value, and that was a wonderful morning, the zoo being small enough to get round in a few hours which is all that you need in the heat of Singapore. When we booked this hotel it was number 1 in Singapore on Tripadvisor - for us it still deserves to be there (we notice that it's currently number 3).

  • Liked — Exemplary service
  • Disliked — Nothing negative to say
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank P-K1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,742 reviews
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#1 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,741 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing