We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal hotel for great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An ideal hotel for great stay”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We basically stayed at hotel for two nights. It was worthy for service, the room was extremely luxurious and the bed was greatly conmfy. It could not fault when our room that owned a great and nice view for the city. The hotel got a super location, just some walks for almost great places nearby. Otherwise, the pool of hotel was pure and lovely, paid for cheap price for using was not a regret at all.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,620
    915
    255
    93
    69
See reviews for
1,088
1,825
228
1,277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had last stayed here in 2004 and loved it then, it hasn't changed!

We had a room in the garden wing, this is our favourite part of the hotel. The rooms have balconies and are really nice. Our room had a little garden outside and was on the ground floor. The room opened onto the garden with a big sun lounge and chairs on our terrace which then joined on to a big lawn garden area.

Staff in the garden wing reception are really lovely, nothing too much trouble and we really appreciated their attitude and assistance.

Breakfast has a fantastic selection, best we have seen. The waterfall cafe is also a really nice place to eat, good food etc.

Pool area really nice and they do foot massages by the pool which are amazing.
The Chi spa is also excellent.

What do we most love about this hotel? Everything!

We will be back in two weeks to stay in a different room type and will postup another review.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gunda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for the final night of our holiday after a two week cruise and could not have chosen a better hotel to end a wonderful holiday. We arrived early morning and our room was already made Jo and ready for us to check into. We had a Harbourview room that came complete with use of the very smart lounge which provided us with complimentary snacks and drinks and amazing views of wonderful Singapore. Although the hotel is situated towards the top end of Orchard Road, it is very easy to get around and a haven to retire to at the end of a busy day. Fantastic service, great food, wonderful pool. We will definitely be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This Hotel came recommended by our holiday booking company as being quieter than other top hotels in the city, we had a delux room in the Horizon Club wing adjacent to the lift area which initially had me reaching for the phone to reception but there proved to be little noise intrusion so we stayed put. Early mornings saw us in the pool as its staffed from six until ten at night and we did notice people were coming down to breakfast and bagging loungers by the pool before heading to breakfast perhaps, from other comments in reviews this should be discouraged by the pool staff as it makes the area look untidy and reduces available loungers for people who actually want to sit by the pool. But it was a superb design and very clean pool area much enjoyed over our short stay. We opted to breakfast in the Horizon lounge although the reception suggested it had less choice than the superb Line Cafe on the ground floor but found we wanted for nothing and breakfasted over clear Singapore veiws. Staff were always polite and willing to chat recommending places to see (the nearby Singapore Botanical gardens and Orchid collection was superb and a short walk away). Again a top hotel must come with a great bed and we found no problem sleeping the room lacked for nothing as regards supplied facilities we found the wi-fi easy to use and were able to face time NZ from our room and the Horizon lounge. The Horizon lounge was a really nice feature with cocktails and nibbles being served at the same time as the monsoon rains began to fall each afternoon. Its worth mentioning the check out policy although we were due to check out at lunchtime we had a chat with the Horizon club staff who said there was no problem staying in our room until two and using the Hotel facities and Horizon Club until we departed in the evening at nine for the airport. They also recommended using the gym shower and changing facilities to freshen up which proved to be very well stocked with razors, and shower products. If transiting through Singapore in the future we would look no further than the Shangri La.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We (family with 6 yr old and 3 yr old) stayed at the Shanri-La Orange Grove from Dec 31 to Jan 4. The positives: guest service rep Michelle was excellent, she checked us in at the room, not the lobby, and remembered our names thereafter; all staff are well mannered, polite, engaging, welcoming; the pool is huge; the views overlooking the pool are nice. The negatives: the place is generally understaffed. This is apparent in room clean up and restaurants. For room clean up, we left at 9:30AM, went for breakfast, then went out doing the tourist thing. We get back at 3PM, and room still not done. Unacceptable for Shangri-La caliber. At the breakfast buffet in the Horizon Club breakfast room on 24th floor, there were no tables available every time we showed up. We had to go to the lounge area to wait, or try and go back and forth and have our breakfast in the lounge area. But it’s not that tables were occupied. They just didn’t have the bodies to clean and re-set tables fast enough. Ditto for the buffet spread: when drinks or food emptied out, it took a really long time to re-fill. The buffet closes at 10:30AM and you can see arrogant chefs with their tall white hats promptly putting away the food at that time, even when many folks are still sitting in the lounge area waiting for their table. There is a disconnect between the kitchen and the waiters: if folks were told to wait for a table, and they are still waiting when 10:30 rolls around, then those chefs need to keep on cooking until those patrons are seated, fed and finished. That’s all there is to it. The front line waiters were all extremely polite, well trained and trying their best to calm down a large number of grumpy, ticked off patrons. I don’t fault them. I do fault the F&B manager. Leadership is lacking here. This scene was not a one-time show but re-played every morning during our stay. I would definitely return. But I might call housekeeping to “come now” before leaving each morning, and I might just saunter down to Orchard Road to have breakfast somewhere else. Yes it was free in the Horizon Club but the experience was just a bit too annoying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BdG-Scarsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed previously at the Shangri-La in Sydney and had a wonderful experience, it was based on this that we decided to book into the Shangri-La Singapore for the seond week of our very precious two week holiday over the Christmas/New Year holidays. We booked a Horizon Club Standard Delux King Room and imagine our dissapointment when we were shown into what we though must be a converted broom closet - we would generally not complain however it really was small! We were shown two other room options and were afforded the oportunity to upgrade at an extra cost. Once settled into our new room we ventured to the club lounge for cocktails and canapes. We were expecting to start the evening in quiet and serene surroundings however we were horrified to find a room packed to the rafters with families and kids, the food was a free for all and was that busy that they even had to open the breakfast room to accommodate the number of people. We managed to find a table only to be asked to move to accommodate yet another family. Breakfast was much of the same and so we decided to head down to the pool to relax - only to find that there were no loungers left and the pool awash with screaming kids - we were not the only people wandering around with our towel waiting for a lounger and wondering what had happened to the serene and picturesque vistas that were promised on the web site. Very, very dissapointing and can honestly say we will NEVER be paying a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MissSerendipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

As most of the travelers we made a selection based on the reviews most of which were positive however our experience was just the opposite. Upon arrival one of the rooms turned out to be very badly cleaned - dirty toilet, bitten fruit in the vase, teapot with some tea... We complained to the manager (and we stayed in the Valey wing which is considered the most prestigious part of the hotel with the dedicated customer service) and she was very sorry about it but... That's it. No letter, no complimentary fruit, nothing!!! This showed the real attitude to the customers.

There were some other aspects which made me give three points out of five. The was no thermostat in the bath just in the shower and the hot water in the tap was extremely hot practically boiling whereas the hot water pressure was insufficient. This in reality can be quite dangerous especially if the kids use the bath. The service at the pool was very slow. It took me 15 mins to find the waiter. But the most disturbing factor was the construction nearby. Our rooms overlooked the construction site and the noise from it was quite noticeable.

The breakfast in the hotel was very nice and the pool area with the garden made me call staying in this hotel satisfactory otherwise it would have been 2 out of 5.
In any case we will unlikely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 314 in Singapore
1,048 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
The St. Regis Singapore
The St. Regis Singapore
#26 of 314 in Singapore
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regularly voted among the top hotels in the world, the Shangri-La, Hotel Singapore, set in 15 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, is a truly luxurious oasis in the centre of bustling Singapore, a short walk from the main shopping, entertainment and dining districts. The hotel comprises 792 elegant guestrooms and suites with three distinctive wings: the newly renovated Tower Wing, with its contemporary relaxed vibe, housing the executive Horizon Club rooms and family-friendly rooms and suites; the urban resort Garden Wing, set amongst lush tropical foliage; and the exclusive Valley Wing for the discerning traveller. 127 service apartments and 55 luxurious condominium units are also available for longer staying guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing