We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ultimate Transfers, The Valley Wing, Two Visits, but aaargh Kids!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
263 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“Ultimate Transfers, The Valley Wing, Two Visits, but aaargh Kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were emailed a couple of days prior to our visit with the option of an ‘Ultimate’ transfer and being frivolous souls decided this might be a fun option to smooth off the fact we were travelling into Singapore economy. What a great decision. We were met off the plane and whisked through the airport to a delightful lounge where immigration was taken care of with no queue and we sipped champagne while someone collected our bags. A 50 metre walk to a Mercedes and - even with the 30 minute journey - we were in the hotel within an hour of landing – fantastic and so stress free. I don’t think we’ll ever do anything else when landing here. Highly recommended for a treat. This was Mr Fleetcat’s Christmas present but I think I’ve made a rod for my own back now.
Last time we stayed here we were upgraded to the Valley Wing – I think because we had just had a lengthy stay in another hotel in the group – and loved it. So this time we decided just to pay the difference and stay here for our one night stopover. We are boozers so the ‘free’ drinks all day almost make this a cost effective decision for us! It was as remembered - just lovely. We live in Thailand so are used to charming people and hotels and this is right up at the same league but with the bonus of being English speaking. Totally enchanted by everyone we came into contact with in the hotel. We went to the main reception area and it felt so busy and hassled compared to the serenity that (usually) exists in the Valley Wing.
So my niggle? Why does someone bring small children to stay in the Valley Wing? It couldn’t be less appropriate as the atmosphere is (or should be) one of quiet calm. Would honestly suggest with the other options available in this hotel that this should be a child free zone. The issue on our first visit was in public spaces with a couple of quite sweet kids just running around being kids – not really what you want in an adult bar area but as hotels are public buildings there isn’t a great deal to be done. This family however did use the breakfast room - rather than the heavily suggested for children main restaurant - which didn’t add to the ambience of our morning. However on the last night of our second visit our next door neighbours had two young kids in a put up bed and it was an absolute nightmare – like having a crèche (high pitched screams) next door. We complained and it stopped for a bit but started again later (decamped to bar) and we were woken by same the next morning. So please parents – you have lots of options – leave this mature environment for the grown-ups.
However this remains our favourite hotel in Singapore. This should be a five star review but can’t give it due to last visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,278
    837
    227
    84
    51
See reviews for
935
1,670
202
1,151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights as my sister in law was getting married there. Value for money all round. Very friendly multi-national staff who all spoke good English. The event manager Ayisha and the young man who helped supervise on the day just couldnt do enough to help us. They were brilliant. Liana at the front desk was my regular contact as she happened to be there each time I went there for help. Only feedback is that the Line Restaurant tends to get over-crowded at breakfast (though the queue management was good). Once you get a table, the spread is great. Please dont opt for the pool side cafe unless you just want a light breakfast as the choices there are very limited. After checking out on Monday 31 Dec we wanted to have lunch there before heading to Changi but couldnt as "no prior booking, sorry no more place". All in all its a great place to be at.

Room Tip: We were on level 11 and it was very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regulartripster2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

First of all please know that we are frequent luxury traveller for lhe last 15 years and we've visited some of the most amazing places ithe world. The disapointment for our trip to Singapur and the bad start in the New Year in this shabby hotel is the worst experience in my last 15 years.

There are some positive things to mention too (like the Shang Palace Restaurant and its great management and staff) but that would be all.

We arrived for 4 nights and booked 3 Deluxe Rooms in the Tower Wing. Rooms are like in a Communist Hotel in late Russia. Some of the most ugly I've ever seen at all, not to mention that this hotel presents itself as a 5 star hotel.

The breakfast was a disaster too, tables in the middle of the walking area on the way to the main restaurant etc.

On our way to the NYE party OUTSIDE this shabby hotel, they gave us a "VAN" with NO BRAKES!!! and a driver who took us to the wrong restaurant!! Dinner started 8 pm and we arrived at 9 in the idea that dinner was till 10 pm. After we came back to the hotel for the countdown party in the lobby they've tod us that they will not serve drinks anymore but some russians (nice people, by the way) where served also half an hour later.

Housekeeping in this hotel is complete out of their mind, even if you have the privacy light on they call you even by the phone to ask if they could clean the room. After 7 pm you can forget to call them in order to prepare your room and this was twice the case!!!

Now we are moving to the St Regis Singapore, seems that it would be different and that we will start this New Year 2013 better.

I hope you believe what I've told you. This is the first time in my life I've ever written a post on any forum but it is the pure horror we had in this hotel. There are many true five star hotels in Singapur. By the way, we've payed 500 USD per night for this "hotel"!

Room Tip: Not possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSCOMM, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Adrian,

Thank you for choosing to welcome the New Year with us! We are truly appreciative of the effort that you've taken to share your experiences with us. The service shortfalls mentioned in your review are of great concern to us. We would like to obtain more details about your stay so that we can address these issues to prevent future recurrence. Can you please contact me directly at email: joleena.seah@shangri-la.com or telephone: (65) 6213 4769?

I look forward to hearing from you soon!

With best regards
Joleena Seah
Director of Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Big, comfortable, attention to detail, great service....all in all SHagri La was a piece of affordable luxury. Well located for shops and tourist attractions but with a very large pool excellent gymn and spa facilities and superb restaurants you might just want to use this as a resort hotel if you have the time?
If you can afford the extra the Club Class facilities are worth having access to and the inclusive dining is a must.

Room Tip: Invest in the inclusive dining options if possible and if you can afford it go for the club facility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryL1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Don,t wonder it takes its name from "Lost Horizon"! Back home with my family and my pet I miss this hotel so much I can,t wait for my next holidays to go back and spend some more days getting pampered...
I,ve been many other times in Singapore but this my first at ShangriLa and, most important, at their Valley Wing Tower. The room is a dream, huge, orchids everywhere, mine overlooked the gardens and the pool, the tower being superexclusive has its own 2 elevators where you hardly meet anyone, same could be said for the pool, quite amazing being Xmas holidays.
Breakfast is served in a lovely room from where you can check on birds and squirrels while waiters bring you from capuccino to anything you choose from a 6 page menu;
during the day, Taittinger flows in the lobby, as well as other drinks (i wonder who needs those,,), exquisite tea, and delightful hors d,oeuvres. Maitres d, and waiters address you by your name from the first moment, so the resumee of all this can be that you feel like belonging to a very private club.
Every hour a shuttle leaves the hotel to Orchard Road; yes, there,re taxis as well, but going is different to coming back, lining for taxis at Xmas I saw some 200 people so it,s a blessing having the A/C shuttle for the way back.
Hotel staff (I recall Mr. Amador and M. Vincent) seem to be everywhere to check all these run smoothly.
My only regret is I was there just for 3 nights, but I hope there,ll be more to come next year.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed at the Shangri-la for over a week in December. It was my 4th visit to the hotel as is it my favourite hotel in Singapore. The level of service and facilities is very high and I cannot imagine anyone ever being disappointed by a stay here. The pool is a great place to cool down. It's big and in my experience never too busy. Breakfast at the hotel covers a wide variety of tastes so everyone should be satisfied. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - they just manage to get almost everything perfect. Well done Shangri-la!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

had a great stay at Shangri-la with my hubby. the room is clean and the bed are so comfortable. the hotel staffs are so warm and friendly. although a bit far from the main orchard road but overall is still a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenix_Sim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,742 reviews
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#1 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,741 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing