We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The very best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The very best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Kuoni booked us into the Shangri-la, Singapore and we think it was the perfect choice. We were in the Valley Wing and the room was large and well furnished, with a King size bed, settee, table, desk and dressing table. A seperate area included the wardrobes and had a seat - useful when changing shoes. The bathroom had a tub and a walk-in shower and double wash basins. There was also a seperate toilet. Internet access is complimentary

The Valley Wing is the quiet area of the hotel, with a reception and lounge area. When we arrived, a receptionist came with us to our room where she checked us in. My wife was presented with a beautiful Orchid. Our room price included breakfast which was taken in the Summit Room restauant. A buffet allowed the choice of fruit, cereals, etc and this was followed by a choice of main course from the extensive menu. The meal was beautifully, freshly prepared. The waiters were very attentive and remembered your name from the day before - nothing was too much trouble and they would serve the whole meal to you if you wished.

We were impressed by the complimentary delights served throughout the day in the Valley Wing Lobby Champagne Bar. Light snacks, afternoon tea, canapes as well as champage, wine and other drinks were provided. One the day we left, whilst sitting for a time awaiting our transfer, the waiter brought sandwiches, scones and cakes (high tea) - all with the hotel's compliments.

The hotel also has a Tower Wing. This is more of a holiday part of the hotel, with many children and a noisier restauant. We thought, allowing for the complimentary items we received, and the quiet ambience of the Valley Wing, our travel agent had made the best choice in what several local people said was the best hotel in Singapore. Although away from the noisier centre it was easy to get a bus or taxi nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnapperLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,278
    837
    227
    84
    51
See reviews for
935
1,670
202
1,151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

staning hotel. they really made me feel like a king. excellent rooms. very spacious. i was there for my honeymoon and i enjoyed every minute spent in the hotel. i will go back to singapore just for the sangri-la.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giorgos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in the Valley Wing for three nights en route to Indonesia. The service here is exceptional and consistent. Even the smallest room is huge, well furnished and very comfortable. Lots of nice touches, fresh orchids, fruit and best of all, very quiet. Bathroom was again, huge and beautifully appointed. Breakfast was included in the tariff and was very good as were the complimentary drinks of an evening. Expensive but worth it and everything that a Shangri-La should be. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flaherty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel is quite pretty-and the grandeur is quite something as you enter the lobby. I stayed in the tower wing which had a lovely room(a bit dated) but it was clean and comfortable. Lots of great amenities and coffee/tea and a turn down service. I went for a conference, and the facilities were also great. a Chi spa is opening later this year for those that really want to treat themselves.

Food at the "Line" restaurant is great if you are starving - its a MASSIVE buffet which has amazing options, and you will want more...the laksa at lunch was great as was the dim sum selection.

Location: it is a little far from the MRT, so I took taxis which were easy to find at the hotel. All in all a good experience!

Room Tip: tower wing room 719 has a view of the city - not bad! quiet to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC-IMF-FAOtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

When traveling for business, the Shangri-La, Singapore is a great choice. The customer service is hard to beat, and while the sleeping rooms are a little outdated, it's a great hotel for the price you pay. The MRT on Orchard Road is about 10-15 minutes from the hotel, which makes the city easily accessible for hotel guests. Overall, the property was a great choice, and I would recommend it. The breakfast buffet is a MUST DO. There are so many choices for everyone, regardless of your preference.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcj2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had not intended to write this review after my check-out but I was so traumatised by the stay, which explains why it took me so long to finally write this review.

Check-in for hotels is typically between 2pm to 3pm. I arrived at the hotel for check-in at 7+pm which ought to have my rooms ready. It wasn't. I was left there standing for a good 15 to 20 minutes while the staff try to get a room for me. Then I was pointed to a general direction that is supposedly the way to the lift. No one guided me and I had to find my own way to the lift to reach my room after a whole tiring day is not very happening for me.

When I finally reach the room, I had a housekeeping staff running in behind me to place the welcome amenities, my reservation is not a last minute booking, isn't my arrival on their system? How come the welcome amenities isn't already in the room?

I had wanted to use the washroom and to my horror, the toilet bowl has been used by someone to clear their bowels and not flushed!!! Did anyone clean this room?!?

I tried to call the front desk to ask for someone to come and see for themselves, and the telephone operator kept hanging up on me. In the end, I went down to the front desk to ask to speak to either the Duty Manager or Front Office Manager. The Manager is missing in action, and I was kept standing like a fool in the lobby waiiting for the staff to located their missing manager.

Was seriously contemplating leaving for another hotel, when the manager finally arrived. She offered to move me to another room. Fine, I guess I can go have a drink/dinner while they arrange for my move.

When I went back to front desk much later I find myself having to explain my previous ordeal all over again as apparently the staff now manning the counter has no idea what happened to me earlier. I had to stand there another 10 to 15mins for them to sort things out.

The next morning, when I was leaving my room to check out. I heard this woman shouting from the other end of the corridor, is this really a 5 Star hotel when they allow their staff to shout at the top of their voice on guest floors? I shudder.. anyway, I went on to the lift landing. While waiting for the lift, the shouting housekeeping staff was still shouting and I finally realized that she was yelling at me in mandarin wanting to know if I'm going to check out now. My goodness! What kind of hotel is this?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Candy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have stayed here several times on business, and found the hotel to be excellent on all fronts. The quality of the rooms and furnishings is very high, service is incredible and the food is very good. The breakfast buffet is the high point, with an incredible array of foods to choose from. The are always smiles on the faces of the service staff, and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel all the time....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,738 reviews
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#1 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,739 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing