We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm that is eye wateringly expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
haywards heath
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm that is eye wateringly expensive”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Lovely hotel, beautiful rooms and a peaceful pool but, £11 for a bottle of water, £20 for 1 beer. Beware the extras and upgrade your room if they offer breakfast and money towards your drinks bill it makes good financial sense. Try and go for a balcony room
In the garden wing it is so nice to get some fresh air.
The restaurant downstairs is modern and the the variety of food excellent. You can eat food from all over the world. It is possible to walk to the shops from here but remember it is incredibly hot so taxis may be better. We booked the hotel as a Singapore airlines stopover and this was much better value you also hAve full use of the airlines hop on hop off bus plus airport transfers . The decor of this hotel is impressive and the sky bar, wow!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacheronholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,360
    858
    235
    85
    54
See reviews for
957
1,722
206
1,175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (992)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have only been here for one night so far but I am compelled to write this review as I may not get around to it otherwise. I have to say that the Shangri La - Singapore is Absolutely Fantastic !!

We have travelled extensively and stayed in some prestigous hotels ( even the floating kind ) but I won't forget Shangri La as it is all of those little extra touches that makes this the place to stay. We chose Shangri La as my husband has previously stayed at Shangri La Ningbo and Shanghai - China.
From the moment we arrived, the staff have gone out of their way to assist.
The club room on the 22nd floor is absolutely lovely, fabulous views, desk area , wonderful bathroom , very spacious. The club lounge at night with tasy morsels to eat and drinks as desired is just what's needed after a long day in singapore trecking through the streets.
Breakfast fabulous.... what can I say, they even have a chilled bottle of Chandon available!! , as a champagne lover that's excellent - athough I didn't indulge this morning ;o)

The Gym amazing , every piece of equiment you could need and staff to assist in it's use.
Dinner last night at 'The Line' lovely.
Even the little extra touch like the hair tie in the room. Invariably, I always forget to bring one but not too worry if staying at Shangri La there is one ready and waiting.
You could ealsily find some little something that may be negative but very difficult here.
If I was to try to find one little thing it would only to be to say that I really love my natural yougurt with fruit in the morning and the hotel only had the flavoured kind ( too sweet if watching the waistline )
Otherwise, the Shangri La is a must and when we return we will definately be stayng here !
Well done Shangri La. Leanne McGinn and Joe Borg. Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovelylulu36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Despite upgrades this is a very old hotel. I expected a more modern offer however this was not the case. It's an honest hotel with all the trimmings but it's not for the modern or boutique traveller. We had use of the Horizon Club however it had limited offerings and slow service other than for breakfast although we did found ourselves reminding the staff for our orders in the morning. The Club felt like a retirement village or at the other spectrum had large family groups with noisy kids. One male staff member in the club did stand out as someone who took great pride in his service. Great gym and the lobby lounge is nice at night. When there are so many newer amazing hotels in Singapore I would be hard pressed to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFitzdelfini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel at a good location, but what makes the Shang exceptional are the people, and the excellent customer focus. Superfriendly, and always focused on making my stay just that little bit better.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank BJCamada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Shangri-La is a luxury hotel group in Asia, it has an excellent reputation and from my experience staying at several locations in China is typically a cut above the other major hotels groups. This hotel is set in a peaceful grounds a short distance from Orchard Rd.

We choose it based on great previous experiences with Shangri Las in China, because we could get an extra bed in the room, not always easy in Singapore it seems, because there is a big pool for the kids. It is big and set in a nice garden. And finally because the buffet breakfasts are amoung the best, no difference here, it was great!

We stayed in a Garden Wing Room which had a lovely balcony overlooking the tops of green trees. The room was large and looked like it had recently been renovated, it showed no signs of wear. We had a great stay. It was expensive but it seemed to be a competitive price for Singapore!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chomolongma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Wonderful place. Perfect service. Dated, but well conserved and confortable rooms. Outstanding gym and spa facilities. For shopping lovers, it's the perfect location, walking distance from the biggest and most luxurious malls. The lunch buffet is an incredible bargain. Impossible to get wrong with shangri-la.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AllanMCCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at the Valley Wing in Shangri La Singapore for 4 days July 2012. It was pure indulgence. The concierge were of great assistance in recommending and booking some fantastic places to dine and some local attractions to enjoy. We had a deluxe room and it was beautiful. They made our anniversary unforgettable. The staff are so professional and nothing is to much trouble! Loved this hotel.

Room Tip: You cant go past the Valley wing! The champayne yum! The breakfast's Yum! The service incredible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 312 in Singapore
21,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 312 in Singapore
7,117 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing