We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Shangri-La”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ranked #9 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Shangri-La”
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed at the Shangri-La's Valley Wing over Christmas 2007. The rooms were great and everything worked really well - breakfast, lounge area, laundry service, room service, housekeeping, business centre internet access - the staff were really helpful and extremely efficient.

We stayed here before some years ago and knew it was a 10 minute walk to Orchard Road. We used the MRT - getting the oyster like cards on the first day at Orchard and topping them up once with cash at the same desk. The MRT and buses are easy to use. It's worth checking the websites of places you want to go as they are very precise about combinations of MRT and bus to get there. The Zoo is fantastic, as is the Jurong Bird Park. Sentosa is massively developed since our last trip but our teenager is studying WW2 so a trip to Fort Siloso helped his understanding. We attended St Andrew's Cathedral on Christmas Day and they were very welcoming.

There's loads of brilliant places to eat in SIngapore - we would recommend Bombay Woodland in Tanglin Road Shopping Centre, just down the road. The Straits Kitchen at the Hyatt in Scotts Road is OK - obviously lots of Singaporeans celebrate their birthday there. We were at the Line on Christmas day for one of their excellent Festive Buffets - probably like one of their unfestive buffets but with turkey and a very good local choral group singing Christmas music.

We never got to the pool but it looked inviting. The Valley Wing was great - we'd recommend it.

  • Liked — Excellent hotel all round
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything negative
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hampshire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,360
    858
    235
    85
    54
See reviews for
957
1,722
206
1,175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (992)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

Just returned from a two-night stopover at the Shangri-La's Tower Wing on the way back from New Zealand. Our expectations were high given the hotel's impeccable reputation - and not quite met. We had to change the room twice, which is a bit unusual for such a short stay. To keep it short: room#1 had a very bad smell (hotel was aware of the issue, so the room change went very quickly), room #2 was directly facing the elevators, which were extremely noisy - no sleep after 6 a.m. at all. Room #3 was finally ok. Although issues of this kind can happen at every large hotel, we haven't heared even a single word of apology from the hotel stuff or management, which was somewhat disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen Wales
Level Contributor
148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

We have just returned from a 4 days stay at the Majestic Shangri La, and it was even more of an experience than we were expecting.
Having stayed in good hotels all over the world including shangri la hotels, this is without doubt the finest hotel we have ever stayed in.
We were met at the taxi by a greeter who took us to the reception desk and on giving our name ,we were whisked up to the priority check in on the 24th floor of the tower block. Awaiting us was a welcome drink and an iced towel to cool us down. the room was quite large with all amenities needed, on the pillow was a form for us to put which of about 8 different types of pillows we would like which was done and on the bed for our second night, the first night with the turn down service was a basket with chinese tea , cups etc for our use(a nice touch),
The breakfast was served on the 24th floor looking out over the city, as was the cocktails and canapes served from 6 to 8 each evening free of charge. Strollng the landscaped grounds was a great way to ease down after the busy singapore life,the ambience was nice in the pool area, two gyms were well stocked with equipment, and the restaurants ,cafes, and bars were very good.
Orchard road with all its night life and shopping was less that 10 min walk from the hotel, the taxi were always available and reasonably priced.
In conclusion, this is a wonderful hotel with staff whose aim in life seems to be making the guests stay as pleasant and hasslefree as possible,and it was. Thank you Shangri La, we will return.

  • Liked — The staffs eagerness to please and chat to guests
  • Disliked — loved everything about the hotel
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank dozydai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

We stayed here for five nights and it was wonderful.
We got an upgrade without asking and complimentary breakfast.The check in staff and porters were fantastic and really helpful.The room a garden suite on the seventh floor was amazing large and very comfy and clean.The restaurant aline serving breakfast was just unreal so many types of international meals at different stations you just wandered around and helped yourself.
The rooftop restaurant was a treat for us on our last night and was it worth it. My husband is anaphalextic toshellfish and fish same as the well known peanut allergy It was never a problem in either restaurant the level of service and personal care is the best we have ever experienced particulary as it is one of the main foods of the Asian countries.
The location is brillant a one minute stroll from Orchard Road.
Thank you shangri La for making our visit to Singapore extra special

  • Liked — Restaurants and rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MissyGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

We stayed at the Shangri-la for two nights during our return stop-over from Australia to the UK on a Singapore Stopover through Singapore Airlines. We were really looking forward to having a really relaxing stay after a month travelling... unfortunately this was not to be! It turned out that the ASEAN summit was on at the same time and as lots of bigwigs were staying at the Shangri-la it was like a fortress getting in and out with airport type security scanners and police with guns patrolling outside. The lobby area was taken up with press people which made it feel more like a train station than anything else, and while I do believe the hotel did its utmost to help guests, it did spoil it somewhat. We paid £130 per night but thought it would be worth the experience of staying at the Shangri-la after reading the comments left by other travellers.

First and foremost - the staff are amazing! This is the place to be if you want to be looked after. We were personally shown to our room and greeted when entering the hotel. Staff remembered who we were (and with the amount of people there that was quite something!) and were very helpful.

The hotel itself is really nice. The communal areas (lobby, pool etc) are outstanding. There are plenty of places to eat and a small gift shop.

However, I was a bit disappointed with our room. We were upgraded to the Garden Wing which I had longed to book but was out of our price range. The pictures on the website looked so pretty with the balconies and the bougainvillaea. However, our room overlooked the carpark and the flowers were pretty dead. The room was fine but as a twin the beds were only a few inches apart. One of the electric sockets wasn't fixed to the wall properly. The bathroom was spacious with a good shower but not enough countertop space for toiletries. There was a small sofa and chair which was nice and a lovely touch was a pot of jasmine (I think) tea waiting for us as a welcome when we arrived. Fresh fruit was also left at no charge. We had breakfast in our room one morning which was excellent.

We had journalists staying in the room adjoining and we found that the soundproofing could be better! My other comment about the Garden Wing is that the sound of the tropical waterfalls can be really noisy, especially with the birds in the morning!!

The last thing about the hotel is the location - Its about 15 minutes walk from Orchard Road although there is a free shuttlebus that leaves every hour from the hotel and will drop you off at the MRT or by the malls. Doesn't sound like much but walking it in the heat is not that great!

We stayed at Raffles the Plaza on the way out for 3 nights and to be honest, we would be more likely to stay there than go back to the Shangri-la. The hotel room felt more spacious and I preferred being more centrally located to shops and the MRT. Don't get me wrong - this is a great hotel and the fact that the ASEAN summit was on wan't their fault! And if you want to be looked after, you can't beat the staff. But in terms of rooms and location I think you can get better elsewhere.

  • Liked — The staff - can't rate them highly enough
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
381 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

We were met at Changi Airport by the pre booked hotel driver who delivered our tired and jet lagged bodies to the brightly lit front doors of the Shangri La Hotel… As soon as the side door of the carrier opened we were whisked away by our ‘greeter’ to be checked in. If Carlsberg ever did Hotel check ins! We were taken to the Garden Wing and to our rooms on the 8th floor.. Our bags followed and the check in was actually done in the room. Then followed a bowl of fresh fruit, traditional hot jasmine tea with pouring jugs and small cups and a turn down service. It was service at its best and was a starter of things to come.

Walk out of the hotel and turn left and within minutes you are on Orchard Road, the hub of activity. The efficient and cheap MRT station is close at hand to take you to all city destinations and there are numerous shops, malls and restaurants to choose from.

The hotel lobby & reception area were beautifully decorated with Christmas trees etc. and there was always a smiling face and a greeting on hand. The large pool on the 1st floor was accompanied with a very warm Jacuzzi and again a smiling face and greeting was at hand with bath towels. The nearby gymnasium was kitted out with all the state of the art machines

The rooms were spacious, with desk, chairs, settee, balcony overlooking the pool and city and an extremely comfortable king size bed and down pillows. A pillow menu was at hand together with sewing kit, umbrella, robes, slippers, comb, toothbrush, iron etc. etc. It seemed that everything had been catered for. A hair dryer was provided, safe, mini bar and fruit and ice were renewed daily. The turn down service left a poem on your pillow and the whole room electronics were operated through a ‘control centre’ at bed side. Electric curtains, air con and a LAN provided internet service made the Shangri La probably one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The bathrooms again were very spacious and catered for everything. Large shower, bath, double sink and so on.

We ate in the Blu Room on our final night, not an extensive menu, but quality rather than quantity. Sea bass with caviar & oysters. Food and service was just exceptional. The night time view over the city skyline was breathtaking. The price being very reasonable.

Would I recommend this hotel to friends and family. Most definitely.

Would I stay here again?. Without hesitation

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2007

We arrived at the shangri-la hotel on the 16th November 2007, one of many stops on the way to get married in Fiji. We booked a tower wing room. But on arrival got offered an upgrade but at a cost of £80 for three nights. The room was beautiful,overlooking the city. On the table for us was a gorgeous congratulations cake.
The staff were fantastic, and spent each of our three night stop, sipping cocktails.

Book this hotel for that special occasion. Its worth every penny

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsraynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 312 in Singapore
21,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 312 in Singapore
7,117 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 793
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amidst 15 acres of luxuriant gardens, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, home to numerous plants and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls. A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including Singapore’s first CHI, The Spa at Shangri- La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From international favourites at The Line to the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. The Waterfall offers authentic and unique Southern Italian cuisine that combines the freshest seafood, handmade pastas and heirloom recipes from Chef de Cuisine Marco De Vincentis. Within the eclectic colonial interiors of the restaurant lies a treasure trove of fresh seasonal produce. All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. RENOVATION CLAUSE In line with our commitment to continuously provide outstanding facilities to our guests, we are pleased to share that we have commenced a rejuvenation program for our Tower Wing which will re-open by May. Upon completion, 517 fully refurbished rooms and suites, located in the Tower Wing, will offer the highest level of comfort, convenience and flexibility paired with new and innovative features. An inspiring, contemporary design hinting on our strong South East Asian roots is set to enrich the experience of our guests and to feel like home for business and leisure travellers alike. All measures will be taken to minimise disruption to our guests, with all works confined to the Tower Wing. Other key parts of our hotel will remain operational. These include The Valley Wing- which recently conducted a refreshment of its Champagne Bar in 2015; The Garden Wing- which underwent a SGD68million renovation in 2012. Restaurants that remain open include: The Line, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano and Shang Palace. CHI, The Spa, Health Club, swimming pool, tennis courts and selected meeting facilities will also remain accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing