We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antiquated lobby, but nice enough room...”
Review of Furama City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Furama City Centre
Ranked #292 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Antiquated lobby, but nice enough room...”
Reviewed January 10, 2011

I had great difficulty getting my room which I had booked online, because of my not having my passport with me, but it being on the other side of the city made for an extremely inconvenient check-in to say the least. Despite my knowing my passport number and issue date they would not allow me to check in without it. Sure enough, on my return arrival with passport in hand, they didn't even bother to photocopy it, but simply used my passport number and entered that into their computer!

The front desk staff were professional and efficient in their performance. The lobby made me feel as though I was checking into a hotel from the 1970's rather than 2011! The rooms on the other hand were modern with all the amenities one needs. Big flat screen television, but offering very few channels. One complaint, there is no wifi in the room, instead there is a LAN cable for their Internet access. But the complaint isn't their LAN cable, but the price was an exhorbitant $25/24 hour period.

The location of the hotel is good not great. It is however in Chinatown and with Chinese's New Year quickly approaching, one could see all the festive decorations in full bloom! There are several restaurants and outdoor markets nearby as well as a modern shopping mall.

Check-out was efficient and painless.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whileitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    886
    369
    107
    72
See reviews for
361
620
191
893
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I stayed at this property twice within a 2 week time frame, as I had to travel to Singapore for business.
The hotel is in China town, and is very conveniently located accross the road from a metro station. Singapore's metro system is very easy to use, and so efficient!
The hotel itself is fairly non descript- pleasant enough, but nothing you would be bowled over by.
The first time, I stayed in a superior room. For a 4 star hotel in Singapore, it is quite well priced, and I quite liked the location. The included breakfast was wonderful, with lots of variety.
The room was clean, modern, and everything I needed.

The next time (2 weeks later), I upgraded the room to an Executive room. Aside from being on a higher floor with a better view, the actual room was identical.
We had access to the executive lounge, which had a cocktail hour, plus canapes. However what they meant by "cocktails", is that they have 4 bottles of spirits in a corner, which you can pour yourself, into cans of softdrink, which you also pour yourself. Not really my definition of a cocktail!
The snacks they served were good though, and they would just keep bringing them out, so you could almost get away with just that for dinner.
We did also have the option of eating in the executive lounge, which we did do the first day- but it basically was just food brought in from the buffet, which took longer, and was therefore colder by the time you received it, so we just ate at the buffett after that.
Overall, I was happy with the hotel, but I don't feel that the upgrade was worth the expense, and I wouldn't do it again if I returned.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiara_renee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Great place to stay. Clean, modern and cosy. Well located in City center of Singapore. Closed to everything. Good service. Will defitely recommend it. You'll need to pay for the internet.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank so_mei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Recently returned from our second stay at the Furama City Centre having previously stayed here in March 2008. On arrival we were upgraded to a renovated room on the fourth floor. The room had a very spacious bathroom with a huge tub and a very large walk in shower. We had a comfortable king size bed and enough storage space. The room was an odd shape, not rectangular, and the way that it was configured you almost walked into the bathroom when you opened the door from the hall. We did not use the swimming pool which is located on the sixth floor but when we had a look it was extremely windy up there.

The thing that we like most about this hotel is the location. We love China Town and Clark Quay and they are both a short walk away. The China Town station is just across the road and the SIA bus stop is very close so it is really easy to get around. There was no free WiFi only paid internet however there was a much cheaper internet café five minutes walk away. This is a comfortable property and we would be happy to stay here again in the future however, more and more we are looking at staying in hotels that provide free internet and this is becoming a deal breaker for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joybell27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

I stayed here for just one night in a superior room in November, 2010. I booked the stay through Asiatravel where they had a reasonable rate which was also offered directly by the hotel. Generally, it was a very disappointing stay. I had previously stayed here a number of nights over the years but the room on this occasion was different, supposedly renovated but it actually seemed to be less pleasing than the rooms on previous visits, which were a number of years ago. The check-in was alright and the attendant seemed to be friendly but there seemed to be a bit of backchat or enquiries going between the reception staff after the check-in.

The porter arrived with the luggage quite quickly after I had arrived in the room and I just wasn’t happy with his attitude from the outset. Firstly, he asked me where I was from, which was fine. Then, upon hearing the answer, he lightened and made a remark about how he thought I looked as if I was from the People’s Republic of China and he made it seem as if there was a problem with that. Then, I gave him a tip and then he made a remark that it was only $2, so then I gave him another $2 so he was happy and left.

The lobby itself wasn’t large or grand but it was alright. Unfortunately, throughout my stays here, I always remember the lobby as being quite crowded and there usually isn’t a place to sit down so that’s something that I think the hotel needs to consider. During this stay, the hotel seemed crowded.

Unfortunately, i wasn’t allocated a good room and that was quite disappointing, considering the room rate of $S170 nett not incl. breakfast. The room had no view at all and seemed to be quite small. Looking at the plan of the room on the fire escape diagram on the door, it looked to be about the smallest room of those they had available on that level and I wasn’t sure what I had done to deserve such a room allocation. The room itself, apart from its size, also did not impress. It didn’t seem to be well-designed and I’ll get to the details of that later. The carpet was dark, it was worn and didn’t look to be very clean. It seemed as if there was an attempt to make the room appear stylish but, in fact, the room was quite poorly designed.

First of all, I had quite major problems in the bathroom. The bath took a very long time to fill if the water was allowed to go through the bath tap normally. It was only after the cap/plug was pulled (which was on top of the bath tap and normally just diverts the water flow from the tap to the shower and vice versa except the tap here didn’t have a shower) that the water ‘flowed’ with sufficient strength to fill the bath in a reasonable amount of time. Actually, the water did not flow but spluttered out and made a mess of the bath and also started to fill the floor. It was necessary to just stand there pulling this cap while trying to contain the mess on the bathroom floor. I filmed this aspect of the bath and the video is on my Youtube page (http://www.youtube.com/AllHotelrooms). Realistically, the bath would have taken almost half an hour to fill if left to fill through the tap. Also, it seemed as if the bath could not be secured properly through the stop and was leaking a little water and that would have prolonged the process of filling the bath. While the bath tap was running, it was not really possible to adjust the temperature of the water. Instead, pulling the plug/cap enabled the adjustment to be made but if the water was allowed to flow through the tap normally, then the temperature would not be correct.

The tiles in the bathroom also appeared to be medium-slippery, while they were still probably safe, they did not prevent a small slip in either direction before halting the slide. It was difficult to find a resting position in the bath itself, it wasn’t comfortable by any means. My bath was also not free-standing, unlike in some of the photos which appear on Tripadvisor, where the room category may be different. Generally, my room didn’t look as pleasing as the photos on Tripadvisor for this property and I suspect that’s because I was not allocated a good room.

The difficulties in the bathroom didn’t end there. While it was nice that there was a rainshower available, the problem was that the water droplets were too large and hence the shower wasn’t really comfortable.

The sink itself was located close to the door and I wasn’t too sure about this design either, as I use quite a noisy shaver which might actually cause noise pollution if placed near the door.

Other aspects of the room also disappointed. There was a musty smell upon entering the room and I wasn’t sure if that was caused by the aircon. The aircon itself was quite loud at night but it was powerful and the room didn’t appear to be stuffy. The bed itself had a yellow stain and upon seeing this, I wondered whether this room was actually allocated only for a specific purpose. The room was noisy, soundproofing really wasn’t very good. The sounds of other bathroom drains were obvious, loud and strong throughout the night. There just seemed to be water gushing through by the sound of it. The iron was not of a high quality and didn’t seem to work well, it couldn’t achieve the task of flattening shirts. The TV was the only positive aspect of the room, as it was large and of a good quality backed up by a wide channel selection.

I was so disappointed by the room compared to what it appeared like on previous visits that I went to the reception desk to ask about their wood-panelled rooms and whether it was possible to stay in one of those instead. The reception member just didn’t seem able or willing to give a straight answer and waffled on about how some of the rooms were Superior-category and didn’t have any views, which was not an issue I mentioned in the first place, as I was only talking about the previous-style wood-panelled rooms. Then, she talked about how the rooms with views were on higher floors and they were deluxe rooms. However, the hotel website as of date of writing and of booking did show superior rooms with a view and also with the wood-panelled design and her long-winded answer which didn’t address any points directly was clearly made to ensure that I stayed put. She also seemed to be quite practised in her response and its delivery. I do, however, get the feeling that the rate I paid should have qualified at least for a room with some view, even if of the lobby.

Generally, the standard of construction just wasn’t there and as mentioned, the functionality was also not of a level associated with the usual brand names. I’m not sure who the hotel engaged to design the rooms but their level of knowledge and expertise clearly doesn’t compare to any of the established brands.

The location of the hotel in Chinatown was quite a strong point and the hotel is close to an MRT station but that’s often the case with hotels in Singapore.

The best that could be said of the check-out experience was that the staff member did her job. Prior to the checkout, the housekeeping staff member rang my doorbell at about 11am a few times. When I went outside and asked why the two staff members rung the doorbell, since the check-out time was noon, the housekeeping staff member couldn’t provide an answer because she didn’t speak much English and she just said: OK, OK. The other staff member was engaged on her handphone and couldn’t be bothered to break that engagement to provide an answer.

Overall, this was quite a disappointing stay and it was very unfortunate because I remember that I had much better stays here prior to this one. Previously, I would have given the hotel four stars but on the evidence of this visit, it only deserves two.


NOTE: You can find videos of the hotel room on my youtube page at http://www.youtube.com/AllHotelrooms

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2010

its good hotel, little costly, staff is very good. swimming pool is small but ok. if u get the room above 7th floor, then u will enjoy this hotel. i stayed for my business visit, we enjoyed. nearby there is a restaurant very nice which serves u food free. u dont need to ask how much should i pay? just pay u want..even if u eat 60 dollar and u want to pay 5 dollar. they dont mind, very nice cultured and indian families are serving there for honourary. very nice ambience there. this hotel is good. morning breakfast is awesome.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upamanyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I recently stayed at Furama City for 3 nights during my short stay in Singapore. It was recomended by a relative. After arriving on an early morning flight they allowed be to use shower facilities and pool to freshen up. Normal check is supposed to be 2pm but they allowed be to have my room from 10am, great to catch up on sleep, even better because I got a free upgrade to an Executive Room.
Room was very clean, though twin beds a bit odd. Bathroom very spacious.
The hotel is in a great location for exploring China Town and close to MRT.
My only dissapointment was the breakfast which in my opinion was not of great quality or variety.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamerManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama RiverFront
#97 of 315 in Singapore
2,336 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#53 of 315 in Singapore
3,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#114 of 315 in Singapore
4,338 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama City Centre

Property: Furama City Centre
Address: 60 Eu Tong Sen Street, Singapore 059804, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Singapore
#65 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#71 Family Hotel in Singapore
#111 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ASEAN Green Hotel and BCA Green Mark Platinum Award (Existing Buildings) winner, Furama City Centre is centrally located in Chinatown, in the Central Business District (CBD) and at the fringe of Shenton Way. This exquisite 445-room business hotel is equipped with wireless broadband connection and function rooms that can seat up to 750 guests. With a range of accommodation choices, guests are assured of a comfortable stay with its 24-hour room service, an in-house F&B outlet - Tiffany Cafe & Restaurant – that serves food from a Malay kitchen, and a Lobby Lounge with an extensive wine and snacks list. Retail, dining, attractions and entertainment are easily accessible within walking distance. Chinatown MRT station is a short 5-minute walk via a sheltered link bridge, whilst the Singapore Changi Airport is a mere 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furama City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Hotel Singapore
Furama City Centre Singapore
Furama City Centre Hotel Singapore
Furama Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing