We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a revamp!!!!”
Review of Furama City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Furama City Centre
Ranked #298 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Just got back from a very disapointing 3 night stay at the Furama on our way home from Australia.
When we checked in we were taken to a refurbished room on the 4th floor, the 'bell-boy' was full of praise explaining how the rooms on this floor were only just completed, and that this floor used to be the restaurant but they needed more rooms.
when we opened the door we were initially pleased: very modern room, decorated in black/white, modern bathroom with 'wet-room', huge double bed, flat screen TV.........wow.
Our enthusiasm was however short lived!!!! We opened our cases only to realise that there was no wardrobe?? just a rail above the area used for tea/coffee.....................very strange! I walked over to the window to open the curtains to discover that the window looked out to the lobby, hence NO outside view or natural sunlight making the room seem very claustrophobic and dark. In the mean time my hubby had parked himself on the bed only to discover that it was damp, he also commented that the flooring was also damp. I lay on the bed for less than 2 mins and my top was wet.
I contacted reception to say we were not happy that the room was (a) inside with no window and (b) damp. We were moved immediatly to a room on the 8th floor. No damp, outside view of sorts (a rooftop and a load of pipes), and so shabby it was almost like we had been transpoted to a differnt hotel.
When we left , our flight was not till late, I enquired about keeping the room on untill 18.00hrs and was told that this would cost 140++ Singapore dollars, approx £75.00, very expensive in my opinion. We opted (as suggested) to change using the facilities on the 5th floor: gym, pool,shower etc etc.
Although there was a shower, towels, iron etc provided, the room was very small and shared by those using the pool and gym, so once you left the shower cubicle(no male/female only area) you had to change in the area accessed by all!!! i.e in full view of the guests using the other facilities. My husband and I took turns to watch the luggage and protect the privacy of each other when guests entered
There is only ONE good thing I can say about this hotel and that is that the location is excellent.
My husband and I are not fussy people and we sometimes read reviews thinking how trivial some of the remarks people make are, this is the first time I have felt the need to write a review to warn others and prevent disapointment, when you have paid good money to stay somewhere, hotels own photos are VERY misleading!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ozztours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,127 - 2,133 of 2,696 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights on a stop-over in early September - rates at that time were cheaper than usual as Singapore was a bit empty before the grand prix. We booked on the Furama website and they twice claimed by email that my credit card was refused - I rang my bank after each attempt and they had seen no transactions from Furama either accepted or refused. Only after ringing the hotel directly and asking them to try again while I was on the phone did they accept payment. I suspect they were using the website rates as a bait-and-switch tactic and did not want to rent me the room at the cheaper rate.

Other than the small trouble getting the hotel to take payment, service was reasonable for a mid-range hotel - there were no problems, but no instances of outstanding service either. The swimming pool is hidden away along a long corridor and down some steps - which is just as well really as it is tiny - one look at it and I didn't bother. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from Chinatown and the MRT - although taxis are cheap anyway so MRT convenience is not so important. The room had no free bottled water which I thought a bit lacking. We did not try the hotel restaurant so I can't comment on food quality.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlainTShirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

After checking out of the other 4-star business hotel, where I had a less than pleasant experience for the past two nights while attending a business training workshop, I moved down the road to Furama City Centre as it was cheaper. The hotel didn't look like a hotel from the outside, which took me aback for a minute when I got out of the cab. However, the first thing that greeted me was the helpful concierge. At the reception, everyone was very friendly and made me feel welcome, despite the busy atmosphere. I got a room on the 8th floor, but it had recently been repainted and the fumes were bothering me, so I asked to be moved. The staff who responded to my request were very friendly and professional, and sorted me out immediately without making me feel like I was being a hassle. I was given a room on the 10th floor right next to the elevators. The elevators didn't bother me, you couldn't really hear them unless you were in the bathroom, and I'm sure there were people using the elevators often as the hotel was fully booked.

I'd booked a superior room with a double bed. The room was certainly smaller than the room at the previous hotel, but it was about half the price, and the internet was faster I think, either that or there was no one on it! The bathroom was surprisingly nicer too. One of the best things about the hotel, though, is its AMAZING location. Amazing amazing amazing! I didn't know how close I was to Clarke Quay until I decided to be 'adventurous' and walk back to the hotel after a night out. It was about 5 minutes. If I'd known that I wouldn't have taken the MRT the night before! 3 minute walk to Clarke Quay MRT, 3-4 minute walk to Chinatown MRT. Extremely convenient. Sorry, I can't stop raving about how close it is to Clarke Quay.

So overall, pleasantly average rooms good enough to shower and sleep in. Very good staff, which really makes a lot of difference when you're in the hospitality industry. I'd asked to extend my checkout time, but they were running a full house and the lady politely declined my request but kindly apologised to me, so that was fine. The front desk staff were all very friendly, the concierge were friendly too, housekeeping was very nice as well. Great location, need I say that again. Definitely stay here if you're not looking for 5-star luxury, because the location and staff more than make up for the lack of luxury.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mscah100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

We stayed in this hotel five years ago but were disappointed on our return. The hotel is very shabby. Room was disappointing, smelt damp needed to be redecorated, it was apparent that the room had suffered a leak, the ceiling was badly patched up, Pool area bit run down with jaccuzi jets all not working, sun bed cushion were very dirty. Room service was very poor, took two days to get a mug and on two occassion an order for bottled water took two hours to arrive. reception staff and porters were very helpful and friendly. The third bed in the room was not adequate for a third person unless they are a child, something we were not told on booking. Breakfast menu great and good value, in the evenings the offerings were basic and not very appitising.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank raine50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

Booked a Executive Club weekend package thru' its website.
Check in was prompt and seamless.
GROs/ frontdesk personnel were courteous and approachable.
Room was spacious and comes with a panoramic view of Singapore’s CBD/ Marina Bay.
F&Bs at the Hotel’s Executive Lounge were adequate; nice dinning ambience; tranquillity.
It's all about location, location, location.
I would recommend this Hotel for Tourists on a 'mid-range budget' for a business-class hotel. Majority of the attractions/ pre-war historical sites/ Chinatown/ Orchard Road Shopping Belt/ Marina Bay/ Museums are within short walking distance or a underground train/ public bus ride.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGPGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed for two nights on a stopover in Singapore. Despite booking a standard room, we were upgraded to an executive suite which was spacious, recently refurbished and very well appointed. We had access to the executive lounge which provided a full buffet breakfast (including a chef who cooked eggs to order) and extensive drinks and canapes in the evening. Despite some comments to the contrary, the room provided two free bottle of water a day. Although there were renovations underway in the hotel this did not impact on us in the least.

Great location and very friendly and attentive staff made this an excellent stay

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blenheim72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

In Singapore for F1 Grand Prix and stayed at the Furama CC for 6 nights. Couldnt be better placed as just a walk through the Peoples Park Complex to Chinatown MRT station (4 mins) and about 7 mins to Clarke Quay MRT. Lots of places to eat in Chinatown and Clarke Quay and easy to get to other areas of interest. Only about 10 mins maximum to Outram Park MRT interchange which takes you to several different lines and on to Changi Airport. On arrival at the hotel, our baggage was taken by the concierge. We went up the escalators to reception which took about 5 mins for check in. No sooner had we arrived in our lovely twin bedded room with views of the esplanade and singapore flyer in the distance, than our baggage arrive. The concierge asked if we liked the room and told us about the mini bar, complementary tea and coffee and complementary shower gel, shampoo and skin moisturiser all of which were refilled every day when necessary. Two minutes after he had gone, reception rang to check that our room was ok and we were happy with it.
As we were so busy, we didnt eat at the hotel (not necessary as such choice outside) but we had a drink on our last evening there. Drinks were not cheap but this was about 8 pm and it was happy hour so we were told it 2 for 1. When we had finished our first round of drinks (which came with peanuts), the waitress came over with another round and more peanuts. As you can see service was excellent. I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough and we found the cost really good considering it was the Grand Prix weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Floridaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama RiverFront
#98 of 319 in Singapore
2,574 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#66 of 319 in Singapore
3,939 reviews
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#124 of 319 in Singapore
4,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsett Singapore
#89 of 319 in Singapore
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama City Centre

Address: 60 Eu Tong Sen Street, Singapore 059804, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Singapore
#55 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#118 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $137 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ASEAN Green Hotel and BCA Green Mark Platinum Award (Existing Buildings) winner, Furama City Centre is centrally located in Chinatown, in the Central Business District (CBD) and at the fringe of Shenton Way. This exquisite 445-room business hotel is equipped with wireless broadband connection and function rooms that can seat up to 750 guests. With a range of accommodation choices, guests are assured of a comfortable stay with its 24-hour room service, an in-house F&B outlet - Tiffany Cafe & Restaurant – that serves food from a Malay kitchen, and a Lobby Lounge with an extensive wine and snacks list. Retail, dining, attractions and entertainment are easily accessible within walking distance. Chinatown MRT station is a short 5-minute walk via a sheltered link bridge, whilst the Singapore Changi Airport is a mere 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Furama City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Hotel Singapore
Furama City Centre Singapore
Furama City Centre Hotel Singapore
Furama Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing