We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“M Is Not For Mediocre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of M Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
M Hotel Singapore
Ranked #102 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“M Is Not For Mediocre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

There are certain things you expect when staying at a hotel. Clean rooms, courteous staff and access to some decent in-the-pinch dining options. M Hotel fits the bill on all three fronts. The hotel is located on Anson Road – and I stay there because it is a short hop to some of the companies I visit when traveling to Singapore. It’s a little bit of a hike to get to some of the tourist areas – but cab rides in Singapore are pretty affordable.

The restaurant at the hotel is decent. The breakfasts are actually quite good. There is a buffet with breads, fruits and cereals. A hot buffet with eggs, bacon and traditional Chinese-style breakfast. And some curries to satisfy the Indian palate. And you can custom order egg dishes.

I’ve had lunch here – it tends to be a little expensive but again, is pretty dependable. Room service food, however, was a different story. On a past trip, a colleague and I arrived from Hong Kong at around 1 a.m. and each of us called room service for a hamburger. It had to be one of the worst I’ve ever eaten. I think you could describe it as mushy.

And there are some interesting little restaurants nearby - including The Blue Ginger, which I wrote about recently.

My only complaint on this trip – I can see why you charge something extra for the breakfast. But in this day and age, charging for wireless Internet seems to be excessive, especially given what you are paying to stay in the hotel.

That said, I’d keep going back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotelSing, Hotel Management at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Ricky R,

Thank you for the great review, it is very comforting to hear that you enjoyed the clean rooms, courteous staff and delectable dining options available and therefore would keep coming back to the M Hotel Singapore.

With regard to your concern of the internet charges, we do offer room packages inclusive of free internet and breakfast from time to time. Do check the Special Offers page on our official website for details.

We look forward to your continuous patronage and to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    561
    247
    73
    38
See reviews for
121
217
109
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Got this hotel deal from agoda for a last minute booking. The rate was reasonable as the location of the hotel is convenient, near pharmacy, food outlet and convenient store, about 10mins walk to the nearest Tanjong Pagar mrt station. All other place of interests can be easily accessible from this mrt station itself. Walking to Chinatown with good food and shopping is a breeze too. For business travellers or tourists, its a good choice hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tutu1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotelSing, Hotel Management at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear tutu1105,

It is a pleasure reading your Tripadvisor review and knowing that you had a wonderful time while staying with us and that you reckon the M Hotel Singapore to be a good choice for both business and leisure travellers alike. Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback, we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I paid quite a bit extra to stay on the Club Floor so the service level may not accurately reflect how it is overall. Room was clean but not fancy or new. Pool and fitness center were great! Club Lounge was wonderful. Private and relaxing. I'll probably stay here again if I can get a good rate.

Room Tip: Splurge for a Club Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank U99A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotelSing, Hotel Management at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear U99A,

Thank you for the good review, it is such joy to know that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and experienced good service whilst staying at the Club Floor. We hope to be your preferred hotel for your future visits to Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near the heart of the CBD area. many Singapore attractions like the Merlion, Marina Bay & fullerton hotel are nearby (1-2 kms). a metro station is just 400m away. the rooms are decently spaced and the hotel offers decent food and drinks. had it been slightly cheaper, I would have given it top stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adimax24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotelSing, Hotel Management at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear adimax24,

It is a pleasure reading your Tripadvisor review and knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us; especially with the hotel location, rooms and food and beverage accorded. We hope to welcome you back and being at your service again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I was here for two nights due to business, a very good location indeed.
The location was strategic however it was not near to the MRT station so I ended having to take taxis to other places.
This hotel is suitable for business people and definitely does not function as a leisure hotel or for holiday with the family.
It was also quite dificult to get taxi on a Friday night hence we were stuck in the hotel wih nowhere to go (as we wanted to head to Orchard). We waited for close to 2 hours for taxi but none would take us due to the peak after office hours.
Overall, a nice, modern and chic business hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lillianblc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotelSing, Hotel Management at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear lillianblc,

It is heartening to know that you consider the M Hotel Singapore to be a good place for business stay, with its strategic location in the CBD area.

You would be pleased to know that we are in fact just a mere five-minute walk to Tanjong Pagar MRT station, from which you could easily access other parts of Singapore such as Orchard Road. Touristy attractions such as Sentosa, Vivocity, Lau Pat Sat, Chinatown are also within close vicinity for the convenience of leisure travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked 4nights to stay here. It's a convenient location very close to mrt.
The first day breakfast was a little bit ruined our beginning of the trip. We booked a room with breakfast but when we went to restaurant they can't find our name on the list. I feel embarrassing to discuss it in front of other people in the dining room. We had to argue I paid a rate with breakfast buy they keep saying they didn't see anything. They asked us to sign name to bill on our room account. So my husband had to go back room in the half way of breakfast time to get confirmation letter and me had to sort out it with front desk than back to finish our breakfast.
We are still here hopefully every thing will be okay for our rest of trip.
The room general is nice and clean. Just a little bit mouldy in the bathroom sink and shower room.
We left our second key in the room accidentally but Cleaner took it very strange.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShihYuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotelSing, Hotel Management at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear ShihYuan,

We regret there was a lapse in the breakfast charges and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. Rest assure this is not the usual standard we practice and follow up actions will be undertaken to ensure that staff are well-informed of guests’ booking details.

Nonetheless, we are glad that you liked the well-appointed room and convenient location of the M Hotel Singapore. We hope you have a fruitful stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed 5 nights at this hotel and it was a great choice, booked via Booking.com with a very good rate for Singapore standards.

Location - is not excellent in terms of things to do in the evening, but business wise was a perfect spot as in the end of the business area. In Singapore it's easy and safe to use taxi or subway, so you can still stay here if you are planning to go out in the evening.

Room - I had a Club rate and I do recommend to chose this if available and not much more expensive - in my case was actually cheaper as was cancellation free. It included cocktail from 6 to 8 pm, internet, breakfast and 2 pieces of laundry a day. Also the staff at the club lounge is very nice and helpful, quite more personal than the regular reception.

The room was very spacious, with a separate working desk which for me was important considering I had to work a lot in the evening, they have a very comfortable working area, above average.

Room Tip: Chose the Club rate if possible - has many amenities that make up if a bit more expensive. Room are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotelSing, Hotel Management at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear AnitaBrazil,

It is a pleasure reading your Tripadvisor review and knowing that you consider the M Hotel a good choice in Singapore. We are glad you found the Club room, Club Lounge and its accompanying benefits to have met your expectations and served your needs. We look forward to having you back and enjoying the M Hotel hospitality again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Amara Singapore Hotel
#86 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,203 reviews
The Quays
Studio M Hotel
Studio M Hotel
#140 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsett Singapore
#93 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#49 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
Furama City Centre
#55 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Hotel Singapore

Property: M Hotel Singapore
Address: 81 Anson Road M Hotel, Singapore 079908, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#71 Business Hotel in Singapore
#80 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — M Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 412
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your M Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore m Hotel
M Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing